CIRCA - Valley Of The Windmill (Review)

information persons: 
Produced By: 
Release Date: 
Musical Style: 
Progressive Rock
Friday, July 8, 2016
I’m not a fan of Yes. Never have been. Well maybe parts of 90125 and Big Generator, but otherwise no. Just not my thing. However, you cannot fault the musicianship or the song writing credibility of a band that has delivered for fans for over 40 years.
Circa is formed by current Yes member Alan White (drums), former Yes member Tony Kaye (Hammond, keyboards), current Yes member Billy Sherwood (bass, vocals), and guitarist Jimmy Haun, who played on the Yes album Union.
So match that information with the fact the album features just 4 songs and you should know exactly what you’re getting here.
Some quite brilliant instrumentation and some very Yes friendly higher pitch vocals layered over heavily progressive and innovative rock music.
The shortest track is 7 minutes and the longest is 18.
Ok, so it’s not my thing and it clearly is an album that will only appeal to progressive rock fans and Yes devotees, so my opinion isn’t going to mean much in the scheme of things.
What I can say is that it’s recorded nicely. Production is solid and the album is mixed with a nice balance of vocals and instrumentation with a musical bed that’s pretty light, certainly not a hard rock affair.

This review is more or less to advise the curious as to what’s on offer here and keep AOR and hard rock fans away from it. Yes alumni – you guys should eat this up if you have the time to devote to getting to know the inner workings of the songs.

CIRCA Return With 'Valley Of The Windmill' July 8

Friday, July 8, 2016
Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the release of the new album from progressive rockers CIRCA: “Valley of the Windmill”, which will be released on July 8th. The album is available for pre-order from both Amazon.com and iTunes:
CIRCA: is a progressive rock band formed by veteran musicians Tony Kaye (original Yes (official) keyboard and organ player) and Billy Sherwood (who took Chris Squire’s place in YES after his untimely passing in 2015 and who also previously served time in the progressive rock legends) and also features Ricky Tierney on bass and Scott Connor on drums.
CIRCA: was originally formed in 2007 by Tony Kaye and Billy Sherwood. The band’s self-titled debut features YES drummer Alan White and Jimmy Haun on guitar. The follow-up, "CIRCA: Live" a special DVD set, archived the band's first ever live performance.
In 2009, “CIRCA: HQ" was released with Jay Schellen on drums, followed by the release of “CIRCA: Overflow" a collection of bonus material from the first and second recording sessions, available only as a digital download.
"Valley of the Windmill" the new album, includes several extended length songs, and can be described as "super proggy" with influences ranging from classic Yes and Gentle Giant - Band, to Porcupine Tree and latter-day Marillion. An absolute must for all Prog Rock fans!
“It's very exciting to know there's a new CIRCA record coming out… We've been working long and hard on it and now we look forward to share it with everyone else,” says Billy Sherwood of “Valley of the Windmill”.
Sherwood’s latest solo record, entitled “Citizen”, was released in November of 2015 via Frontiers Music Srl. The album features several past and present YES members, including the last ever recorded performance from Chris Squire, as well as Steve MorseJordan Rudess,Alan ParsonsSteve Hackett and more.
“Valley of the Windmill” Track Listing:
1. Silent Resolve
2. Empire Over
3. Valley Of The Windmill
4. Our Place Under The Sun
Billy Sherwood: Vocals and Guitars 
Tony Kaye: Keyboards and Hammond
Scott Connor: Drums and Percussion
Rick Tierney: Bass
Subscribe to Circa