Mike Tramp Rock N Roll Alive Ulftone Records
· Produced By: Mike Tramp

· Running Time: 110mins

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released: EU

· Musical Style: Melodic Rock

· Links: Mike Tramp Ulftone
Songs: 92%
Sound: 88%
Mike Tramp is rounding off the most recent chapter in his career with this double live release which was recorded in Denmark recently.
His latest tour has been in support of his solo album More To Life Than This and this live set reflects that, with several tunes included from that album. Also included is some memories from recent times and the past – tracks are gathered from both other solo albums and from Freak Of Nature and White Lion.
I hate polished live albums, I love them raw, dirty and truly live…but at the same time, I hate albums that sound badly mixed or don't represent the artists true live sound. Thankfully this album straddles the fine line between those two opposing sides and represents what every good live album should sound like.
This is a perfectly captured club gig – at Copenhagen's legendary Pumphouse Club - with an enthusiastic crowd in attendance and well oiled band on the stage.
The recording is obviously quite stripped back and unpolished and missing the studio tricks of the original versions, but replacing that is a raw energy that brings the songs to life in a fresh new way.
Tramp fans will already be familiar with the tracks. They are performed in a pretty stripped, loose fashion, with a few bits and pieces changed as the songs are delivered.
In particular, I think the most inspired performances are evident on If It Ain't Gonna Rock, Falling Down, Mr. Death, I Won't Let Go, Better Off and the White Lion tracks Wait, Little Fighter and Broken Heart. Also included is an extended cover of Rocking In The Free World which features a cool tribute to some other classic rockers and a good solo version of the White Lion ballad When The Children Cry.
In my own personal opinion I would have liked to have seen another couple of tracks from the Recovering The Wasted Years album included, as that is definitely the best album of Mike's career. Otherwise, the track listing is pretty flawless.
I do have to say something about the CD cover. After two really good packages from Mike, this cover is a little underdone!
The Bottom Line
There's nothing I like more than hearing one gig from start to finish and that's what's on offer here. I really hate live albums that are pieced together from 15 different shows, just to make sure there aren't any fuck ups. Surely the whole point of a live recording is to hear honest renditions of the tracks in question. That's what Mike delivers here – warts and all. Essential for all Mike Tramp fans and those that are partial to a great live rock n roll album.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Capricorn
· Recovering The Wasted Years
· More To Life Than This
· Rock N Roll Alive

Line Up
Promo: Not Listed
Essential for fans of:
· Mike Tramp
· White Lion
Track Listing
· Live For Today
· If It Ain't Gonna Rock*
· Living On The Edge
· Lay Down My Life For You
· Mr. Death*
· Better Off
· Broken Heart*
· Follow Your Dreams
· Wait
· Falling Down*
· Little Fighter*
· Living A Lie
· What Am I
· Nothing At All
· I Won't Let Go
· More To Life Than This
· When The Children Cry
· Rocking In The Free World
--*Best Tracks

04/08/04: Steve Turner -
Rating: 55
I agree totally with the first review and think the sound and vocals especially are poor. Mike talks rather than sings. I only managed to give the cd 2 spins and think it will gather dust along with the poor live cd from Giant.

30/03/04: tin00can -
Rating: 60
I was extremely disappointed in the CD! I was stoked to get it, after really enjoying his last two solo discs. This set killed me, though. I found his vocals to be completely annoying; it sounds like he is trying to channel Eddie Vedder. I love his vocals on the studio CDs, but here they kill me. To top it off, the band just seems to be missing that spark that makes live bands great. I've listened to it three times, and just can't make myself like it.

30/01/04: charles trapp -
Rating: 100
i want tramps baby. his music goes right through my main vein. keep rockin mike and i'll see you in copenhagen

04/12/03: mc hammer* - .
Rating: 99
for those who missed the tramp-tour it comes into your living room. a package full of best rock'n roll from the early days from white lion, freak of nature to the newest tramp-solo-songs. absolutely awesome!

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)