Acacia Avenue


ACACIA AVENUE - Cold (Review)

information persons: 
section name: 


Produced By: 
Torben Enevoldsen
Running Time: 
Release Date: 
Musical Style: 
Melodic Rock
AOR Heaven
Friday, August 8, 2014
This is a solid melodic rock release indeed. The idea for Acacia Avenue began back in 2008, the brain child of guitarist Torben Enevoldsen (Fate, Fatal Force, Section A).
This is his second album and again sees Torben delivering some melodic rock tunes instead of his normally more metal-themed music. To handle vocals, Torben has gathered a number of guest vocalists to fill frontman duties.
These kinds of albums can appear very disjointed, but the quality of the production here is such that it all flows pretty seamlessly.
Torben takes care of all the bass, keyboards and guitars, as well as singing background vocals on a few songs. New drummer, Dennis Hansen (Fatal Force) appears on drums. Good man for hiring an actual drummer, not a machine!
Song wise there are many highlights.
Time (feat. Steve Newman) is a first rate hard rocker, with Newman again getting heavier and sounding very comfortable doing it.
Love Will Survive (feat. Rob Moratti) is typically Moratti styled AOR with a very high vocal (of course) and a great chorus.
It's Over (feat. Albin Ljungqvist) is a wonderful little keyboard driven AOR number with a high pitch vocal and a highly memorable chorus.
Out Of The Business (feat. Mikael Roup) is another very catchy track that sounds more like Uriah Heep/Y&T. A little out of place here in the scheme of things, but catchy!
Signs Of Love (feat. Rob Moratti) is a melodic rock style track but doesn’t match the quality of his earlier track.
Cold (feat. Torben Lysholm) is about the same – ok, but not a highlight.
Angelina (feat. Steve Newman) is moody, but guitar driven and another great Steve Newman vocal.
You And I (feat. Mikael Roup) and Calling Out (feat. Nicklas Sonne) are skippers I’m afraid. They lack the hooks of previous songs.
How Many Nights (feat. Torben Lysholm) is better, but again is part of a group of songs that don’t match the quality of the first half of the record.
Freedom From Doubt (feat. Peter Sundell) features a strong bluesy vocal from Sundell and finishes the album with a different kind of song than anywhere else on the record.
A great first half of the album and an ok second half that requires a bit more attention to draw out the melodies. A solid record overall, which will stand comfortably alongside the debut. The best tracks are really special and worth the price of admission.
Very good production/mix quality lifts the results.

ACACIA AVENUE - Cold (Showcase)

information persons: 
Saturday, June 28, 2014
Produced By: 
Torben Enevoldsen
Running Time: 
Release Date: 
June 28
Hard Rock

Rob Moratti - Vocals
Steve Newman - Vocals
Albin Ljungqvist - Vocals
Mikael Roupé - Vocals
Torben Lysholm - Vocals
Peter Sundell - Vocals
Nicklas Sonne - Vocals

Torben Enevoldsen - Guitars, bass, keyboards., vocals
Lars Frandsen-Melau - piano on "Cold"
Dennis Hansen - Drums

The idea for Acacia Avenue began back in 2008. Founding member, Torben Enevoldsen (Fate, Fatal Force, Section A), spent most of that year writing new material.

Some of this new material came to be very melodic hard rock/AOR, and the idea of doing a full album in this style quickly emerged. In order to spice things up however, Enevoldsen decided to ask a few good friends of his to participate, both as singers, but also as co-writers.

The debut album featured Tony Mills (Ex-TNT, Shy), Geir Rönning (Radioactive), Torben Lysholm (Pangea, Mysterell) and Lars Säfsund (Work Of Art) on vocals. Torben did the bass, keyboards and guitars, as well as both lead and backing vocals on a few songs himself, and Thomas Heintzelmann (Decoy) did the drums. The self-entitled debut album was released on Lion Music in January 2010. Enevoldsen continued doing various projects, but at the end of 2010, Torben was asked to join the Danish hard rock band Fate.

He agreed and joined the band in January 2011. Although busy with Fate, Enevoldsen never stopped working on new material of his own. So the idea of doing another Acacia Avenue album was never far away. Torben grew up listening to bands like Boston, Journey, Toto and Survivor, so he thoroughly enjoyed writing in this very melodic and somewhat softer style. New songs were written and the first singer to get involved was Rob Moratti (Ex-Saga, Final Frontier).

Torben and Rob had met each other on MySpace, years before Rob joined Saga, and had discussed the possibility of working together. Acacia Avenue turned out to be the perfect vehicle to pursue this desire. Apart from Rob, the new album features vocal performances by Steve Newman (Newman), Torben Lysholm (Pangea, Mysterell), Albin Ljungqvist, Mikael Roupé (Bamboo Brothers), Peter Sundell (Grand Illusion, Decoy) and Nicklas Sonne (Defecto).

Once again, Torben was in charge for all the bass, keyboards and guitars, as well as singing background vocals on a few songs. New drummer, Dennis Hansen (Fatal Force) did the drums, and like last time, the majority of the recordings took place at Funny Farm Studios in Denmark, which is Torben's own studio. The new album, entitled "Cold", was mixed and mastered at Funny Farm Studios by Torben Enevoldsen. Enevoldsen also produced the album.  

Subscribe to Acacia Avenue