AOR Heaven NEH Hang Loose Schmankerl Records Music Buy Mail

Theocracy Theocracy Ulterium Records 2013 – ULTCD022

Track Listing
· Prelude
· Ichthus
· The Serpent's Kiss
· Mountain
· Theocracy
· The Healing Hand
· Sinner
· New Jerusalem
· The Victory Dance
· Twist of Fate

Album Details
· Produced By: Matt Smith
· Running Time:
· Release Date: Out Now
· Released: EU
· Genre: Melodic Metal
· LabelLink:
· ArtistLink:
Artist Bio
Theocracy is a metal band from Athens, Ga., whose melodic style has more in common with their European contemporaries than with most of their U.S. counterparts. Characterized by huge choruses, epic arrangements and progressive elements, Theocracy's music is both immediate and deep, managing to be instantly catchy and memorable, yet revealing new levels of intricacy and depth with each subsequent listen.

The self-titled Theocracy debut album was released at the end of 2003 on MetalAges Records to fantastic reviews and worldwide acclaim within the metal community. After its release, the band began playing shows (including the prestigious ProgPower USA) and started working on new material. After years of hard work, Theocracy signed with Ulterium Records and released their second album "Mirror of Souls" in 2008.

"Mirror of Souls" was a huge breakthrough for Theocracy, and received fantastic reviews from press around the world. The album was released in Europe, North America and Japan, and Theocracy's European live debut took place at the Elements of Rock festival in Switzerland in 2009 in front of 500 crazy fans.

Aside from playing shows in the U.S. opening for bands like Sonata Arctica, Blind Guardian and Circle to Circle, Theocracy also embarked upon their first European headlining tour in the fall of 2009.

In 2011, Theocracy released their third magnum opus, entitled "As the World Bleeds. The album was mastered by Mika Jussila [Nightwish, Stratovarius, Children of Bodom] and featured artwork by Felipe Machado Franco [Blind Guardian, Rhapsody of Fire, Iced Earth]. “As the World Bleeds” hit the Billboard Heatseeker Chart at #40 in the U.S. and received a fantastic response all around the world. In the fall of 2011, Theocracy returned to Europe for a second headlining tour, followed by more shows in the U.S., a festival appearance in Finland, and the bands first show in Costa Rica.

The self-titled debut album from Theocracy has been out of print for several years, and fans have constantly asked for a re-issue. In order to improve upon the drum machine and amateur production of the original release without losing the charm of the recordings, Theocracy drummer Shawn Benson recorded drums on all tracks, while nothing else was re-recorded. Matt completely re-mixed the album, with the mastering handled by Mika Jussila.

The result is mind-blowing. The classic tracks and the great feeling from the debut album are still there, but with a production and sound that is so dramatically improved that it feels like a completely new album.

Whether you're a fan of Theocracy or not, don't miss out on this essential album full of high-quality progressive power metal!

Theocracy line-up on “Theocracy”:
Matt Smith: Lead and choir vocals, rhythm, lead, acoustic and bass guitars, keys and orchestration
Shawn Benson: Drums

Theocracy discography:

2013: Theocracy [re-issue - Ulterium Records]
2011: As the World Bleeds [Ulterium Records]
2008: Mirror of Souls [Ulterium Records]
2003: Theocracy [MetalAges]

Engineered, produced and mixed by: Matt Smith [Theocracy, Soulspell]
Mastered by: Mika Jussila [Nightwish, Stratovarius, Children of Bodom] at Finnvox
Artwork by: Mattias Norén [Kamelot, Circus Maximus, Evergrey]