Track Listing
· Razor Eater (2)
· Rise Up (1)
· Valley Of Kings
· Ship Of Fools
· Attack!!
· Baroque & Roll
· Stronghold
· Mad Dog
· In The Name Of God
· Freedom Isn't Free
· Majestic Blue
· Valhalla
· Touch The Sky
· Iron Clad
· Air
· Nobody's Fool (Bonus Track) (3)

(*) Best Tracks

Recent Discography
· Alchemy
· War To End All Wars
· Attack!

Buy it if you liked:
Yngwie - Rising Force
Yngwie - Odyssey
Cornerstone - Human Stain
YNGWIE MALMSTEEN
Attack!
Pony Canyon / SPV
· Produced By: Yngwie / Mixed By: Tom Fletcher
· Running Time: 72.59 · Genre: Melodic Metal
· Release Date: Out Now · Released: EU JP
· WebLink: Yngwie · LabelLink: SPV
87%

Contrary to popular belief, I am a Yngwie fan. I just don't dig every release.
There is no doubt the man is a stellar guitarist and helps bring the almost lost art of shredding to a commercial fan base.
True, I have given the maestro a bit of stick over the last 12 months, but that's about to change.
My last Yngwie review battled for points. The self-produced War To End All Wars was met with universally consistent bad reviews.
But credit where credit is due. The catalyst for my change of heart is the new album Attack! Quick simply, the name describes the album's approach perfectly.
Yngwie has again decided to produce this album himself – a mistake I first thought. But true to his word after War, in comes a new face – Tom Fletcher, who has engineered and mixed this album.
Together they have made a record that is sonically fantastic – a world away from the muddy mess that was War.
Attack! is one of the best produced Yngwie albums in years and sounds amazing. The rhythm section pounds purposely away and the vocals and guitar (solos and riffs) are blended perfectly into the mix.
Attack is a sonic blast to the senses from the first note. Over the 15 tracks, only three slow the double kick drum pace. Two are classy instrumentals and one (Valley Of The Kings) is a dark heavy rocker.
On vocals this time around is Doogie White. Doogie is a great singer with his own projects Cornerstone and Rainbow, and once again on Attack proves his worth.
Doogie sings with a passion throughout and matches the album's vibe.
This album should only serve to increase his fan base.
Now I have covered the sound quality, the other important aspect of a good album is songs. And Yngwie sets up to the plate here also. These are some of his best songs of recent memory. Great solos, big riffs and lots of chances for the rest of the band to shine.
The only thing I would like to see is a couple of slower tracks to break the bombardment of the fast tempo'd album. I would also like to have seen the Japanese bonus track on all versions of the album. Nobody's Fool is a great hard riffing track that Yngwie should do more of.

The Bottom Line
Attack really sounds like a band record, so it would be good to think that the next album will feature the same line up.
This album goes a long way to restoring my faith in the great axeman and almost wipes the memory of War To End All Wars away.
I just hope the feedback from the last album won't stop fans from checking this one out, as this is what Yngwie really is about.
Eye catching artwork and good song running order, however I might have shaved one or two tracks off for a shorter running time.

Line Up
· Doogie White: Vocals
· Yngwie: Guitar + Everything else!
· Derek Sherinian: Keyboards
· Patrick Johansson: Drums

Additional Ratings
Songwriting
90%
Attitude
95%
Production
93%
Sundries
85%

AOR Heaven NEH Records Z-Roxx Loud 1 Destiny Hot Tracks Target Wishing Well Loud Metal Perris


09/05/05: anggie - anggie_hammett@yahoo.com
Rating: 99
i like baroque n roll,sounds great,waaaaaaaaaaww!!!
like the song...ohjhhhhhhhh,i can't say by writing!!!i like it very much!!!!
i ever try the song in my guitar,but my fingers didn't want to play that!!they say "we can't play this sounds""its a magic sounds"hahaha.when i have any problems,n then i hear the song, i feel i don't have problems anymore!!!

07/04/05: vala - vala_un4given@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
I am a Guitar musican .and I want to try the hard songs to play
It is a wish

11/03/05: Phil - dog@cat.com
Rating: 4
Yngwie is a great player but is very repetitive. I am sick to death of hearing those 10 - 12 - 8 - 12 - 7 -12 counter point or pedal tone licks. It seems his chops are very limited even though he has great technique. Perhaps he should listen to Tony MacApline or Vinnie Moore a little more.

25/09/04: WardyS3 - micktward@ozemail.com.au
Rating: 60
Only dig this because of the wonderful vocals of Dougie, but there's a couple of classic songs here, my favourite being Ship of Fools which I think stands way above the rest. I'm not an expert of Malmsteen so don't take my review to heart, it's just that to me a lot of this gets a little silly with Malmsteen going for filling every space he can rather than letting his guitar breath!? Good album but more suited for the real fans (or not if some of the above comments can be believed?)

14/08/04: mat luck - mat.tjk_kasala@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
i love him play the instrument of majestic blue

18/01/04: Phil Tower - phil.tower@tiscali.co.uk
Rating: 70
Better than some of his recent releases but not up to the standards of his 80s work.

Some reviewers have commented that the solos, although still very fast and technically precise, are not as good as his earlier work. I think the earlier solos (especially albums like Trilogy) come out as being stronger compositionally, although they were also improvised.

I think Yngwie had a great gift for making improvised solos sound as if they were composed. Another great guitarist who had that ability was Django Reinhardt (whom Yngwie has said he greatly admires) - a different musical genre, of course, but the same passion!

11/08/03: Tom - tom.timmermans@flexsys.com
Rating: 80
I'll allow that "Yngwie - the songwriter/composer" hasn't been that fantastic as of late, but "Yngwie - the guitarist" was, is and will always be one of the most gifted fellas to ever pick up our beloved six-stringed instrument!

Just play "Far Beyond The Sun" on your stereo and turn up the volume. If this piece of music doesn't move you at all, there's something wrong with you. I guarantee within 30 seconds your heart will be beating faster and you'll be playing some bitchin' air guitar.

That's what Yngwie does. He's still the ultimate shredder. He'll never change. He's one of the few things in the universe that is constant.

God bless Yngwie. May he whittle his way through many more harmonic minor scales...

04/07/03: MAKS - bigmak49@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
HEY I AM BACK AGAIN, I SIMPLY LOVE THIS ALBUM, I CANT STOP LISTENING TO IT ALTHOUGH I STILL HOLD ON TO MY COMMENTS, BUT I AM LOVING IT MORE AND MORE, ACTUALLY WHAT I EXPRESSED IN MY FIRST CRITIQUE, WHICH EXACTLY WAS " YNGWIE SHOULD EITHER TRY SOMETHING NEW OR TRY TO BRING BACK HIS EARLIER STUFF BUT WITH A HARDER AND MORE MELODIC VIBE TO IT" , HE HAS ACTUALLY ACCOMPLISHED IN THIS ALBUM. I THK ITS A GR8 COMEBACK AND MORE YNGWIE HAS DONE SOME AMAZING RIFF WORKS IN THIS ALBUM. I CAN NEVER SAY TOO MUCH, THIS MAN IS A MUSICAL GENIUS, PERIOD; BUT I STILL THK HE CAN USE OTHER WRITERS AND SOME SLOWER TEMPO SONGS, WHICH I THK MIGHT BRING OUT ONCE AGAIN THE GR8 SOLOS THAT YNGWIE MADE US LOVE ALL THESE YEARS. THX AGAIN. KEEP ROCKIN'.

P.S: ALSO YNGWIS HAS COME UP WITH A DECENT INSTRUMENTAL SINCE A LONG TIME AND THAT IS " MAJESTIC BLUE", SO I WITHDRAW WHAT I SAID BEFORE.

03/07/03: MAKS - bigmak49@hotmail.com
Rating: 80
ITS ME AGAIN. I WANNA SAY THAT I WITHDRAW WHAT I SAID BEFORE ABOUT ATTACK SOUNDING LIKE ALCHEMY AND WTEAW, IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THEM, IT'S A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT SOUND AND A NICE ONE INDEED. THANKS AGAIN.

03/07/03: MAKS - bigmak49@hotmail.com
Rating: 80
I TOOK MY PREVIOUS RATING FROM 75 TO 80,CUS I LIKE IT EVEN MORE NOW. IT IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN ALCHEMY AND WTEAW BUT STILL THE SOLOS NEED MORE WORK. AND I WANT TO APOLOGISE TO WHAT I SAID BEFORE, RAZOR EATER AND RISE UP DO NOT SUCK AT ALL, ACTUALLY THEY ARE ACTUALLY GOOD SONGS, I LIKE RISE UP MORE, BUT MY OPINION WAS INFLUENCED BY THE FACT THAT I DID NOT LIKE THEIR SOLOS MUCH. DOOGIE IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN MARK BOALS AND THE SINGING WITH EACH SONG IS "NORMAL" AGAIN IN COMPARISON WITH ALCHEMY AND WTEAW. KEEP ROCKING YNGWIE!!!!

03/07/03: MAKS - bigmak49@hotmail.com
Rating: 75
I HEARD ATTACK THREE TIMES TIL NOW, AND I THK I AM LIKING IT MORE AND MORE EACH TIME, BUT STILL HERE ARE MY COMMENTS, POSITIVELY AND NEGATIVELY: POSITIVELY, THE TUNES ARE MUCH NICER THAN THE ONES ON ALCHEMY AND WTEAW, A LOT OF THE SONGS REMIND ME OF RISING FORCE AND ODYSSEY, SHIP OF FOOLS AND MAD DOG STAND OUT AS NEW STYLES YNGWIE HAS APPROACHED AND I THK HE SHOULD HAVE WRITTEN MORE SONGS LIKE THAT, SONGS WITH MORE AND CLEARER RIFFS. HE IS PLAYING FASTER THAN EVER BEFORE, BUT THATS NOT ENOUGH, SO NEGATIVELY SPEAKING THE SONGS DO NOT OFFER ME AS AN YMGWIE FAN ANYTHING REALLY NEW OR AT LEAST SOMETHING I HAVE NOT HEARD BEFORE, BUT EVERYTIME SINCE ALCHEMY I SAY TO MYSELF WHY HAS NOT YNGWIE MADE ANOTHER ALBUM LIKE FACING THE ANIMAL WHICH IS HIS BEST WORK BY FAR, LYRICALLY AND MUSICALLY, I HATE MARK BOALS, BUT I STILL THK HIS VOICE WAS APPROPRIATE FOR ALCHEMY, WTEAW,AND DOUGIE WHITE DOES NOT SOUND MUCH DIFFERENT ON ATTACK. I THK RAZOR EATOR AND RISE UP SIMPLY SUCK, THE SOLOS ARE QUITE THE SAME, CANT ANYBODY "HEAR" THAT?????!!!????? THE PROBLEM IS YNGWIE IS PLAYING TOO SPONTANEAOUSLY AND IMPROVISINGLY ON EACH TRACK, AND I BELIEVE HIS SOLOS ARE THE LAST THING TO BE RECORDED ON EACH TRACK. THE SOLOS ARE NOT REALLY BEING SERIOUSLY THOUGHT OUT AND NOT DERIVED FROM THE SPECIFIC TUNE OF EACH SONG, AS IF HIS SOLOS ARE JUST GLUED TOWARDS THE END OF EACH SONG. IN HIS RECENT ALBUMS, YNGWIE IS HARDLY PAYING ANY ATTENTION TO HIS SOLOS,HE IS SIMPLY PLAYING FAST, WE AS FANS GET THAT POINT, YNGWIE WE KNOW U CAN PLAY FAST, AND THEN?????????? I MISS THE EMOTIONS OF HOLD ON, HEAVEN TONITE, U DONT REMEMBER I'LL NEVER FORGET, BEDROOM EYES, SACRIFICE, MY RESURRECTION, AND HOW COME HE HAS NOT COME UP WITH A SINGLE DECENT INSTRUMENTAL SINCE FAR BEYOND THE SUN AND BLACK STAR, BAROQUE AND ROLL SUCKS, WHAT YNGWIE NEEDS TO UNDERSTAND IS WE AS FANS CANT HELP COMPARE HIS STUFF TO HIS EARLIER WORKS BECAUSE WE ALWAYS EXPECT HIM TO DO BETTER BUT I THK YNGWIE REACHED HIS BEST IN FACING THE ANIMAL AND IS DESCENDING EVER SINCE. I THK 3 ALBUMS (ALCHEMY, WTEAW, AND ATTACK) WHICH SOUND THE SAME GENERALLY, IS ENOUGH, HE SHOULD EITHER TRY SOMETHING NEW OR TRY TO BRING BACK HIS EARLIER STUFF BUT WITH A HARDER AND MORE MELODIC VIBE TO IT.
AND ALSO TOUCH THE SKY SOUNDS LIKE " U DONT REMEMBER I WILL NEVER FORGET", AND IRON CLAD SOUNDS ALMOST EXACTLY LIKE " MOTHERLESS CHILD".

IN CONCLUSION, I ALWAYS HEARD AND READ FROM YNGWIE HATERS THAT HE SIMPLY PLAYS FAST WITH NO EMOTION, AND I ALWAYS SAID NO, AND REFUSED TO EVEN CONSIDER THAT THEORY, BUT HONESTLY AFTER LISTENING TO ATTACK I FOUND MYSELF SAYING EXCATLY THOSE WORDS.

THANKS MAKS.

02/07/03: J.K - nope
Rating: 100
We know it: He is the best, period. Great cd, although I personally like more of his earlier work than the recent. Anyway good!!!

31/03/03: Micael - micael.illusion@telia.com
Rating: 99
Attack is a great album!! As many others I am not very pleased with WTEAW and Alchemy production-wise but, the songs are great on those albums!! ATTACH thou´, kicks ass. When I first put the ATTACK into my CDplayer I was completely stunned and tears of joy started to run down my chin!!! DON´T LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS ´CAUSE "ATTACK IS ONE OF MR. MALMSTEENS 5 BEST ALBUMS!! B U Y I T !!!

21/02/03: JERRY - VLAD_ALUCARD_GC@HOTMAIL.COM
Rating: 100
FROM THE VERY FIRST TRACK TO THE LAST, I WAS AMAZED ON HOW HIS SKILL HAS IMPROVED BY 100 PERCENT. THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO DID NOT LIKE WAR TO END ALL WARS BECAUSE OF THE PRODUCTION. YNGWIE KNOWS WHAT HE WANTS AND WHAT HE WANTS HIS MUSIC TO SOUND LIKE. IN HIS RECENT ALBUM ATTACK YNGWIE SINGS FREEDOM ISNT FREE, ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS THAT HE IS #1. TEAMING UP WITH DOUGIE WHITE ON VOCALS, THE KICK ASS DRUM PLAYING OF PATRIK JOHANSSON, AND EX-DREAM THEATER'S DEREK SHERINIAN ON KEYBOARDS IS A GREAT COMBINATION. ON MAY 17, 2002 HE PERFORMED IN RENO, NEVADA FOR THE KING OF THE CAGE PLAYING THE NATIONAL ANTHEM AND A COUPLE OF SONGS. LIKE MY FRIEND RICARDO ZAVALA SAID THERE WAS ONLY ONE KING OF THE CAGE THAT NIGHT AND THAT WAS YNGWIE. AND YOU KNOW WHAT HE WILL ALWAYS BE THE KING OF THE FENDER GUITAR.(ASIDE FROM OTHER LEGENDS LIKE JIMI HENDRIX)

08/02/03: John DeWald - fuel0707@vzavenue.net
Rating: 92
I think this is Yngwie's strongest album in a long time. WTEAW suffered from sloppy production, so-so songwriting and a general lack of energy. With that in mind, I hunted down an import version (I live in the USA) of "Attack!" with the bonus track and I'm really pleased with it. Yngwie is simply Yngwie and you either dig him or you don't. I'm a sort of re-born Yngwie fan and I think this album represents the best of his abilities since perhaps the early Rising Force days. Doogie White is a great choice as vocalist and he seems to continue Yngwie's tradition of using Ritchie Blackmore's ex-singers. I don't know what else to say other than that if you miss Yngwie playing his classic style, you'll be pleased with this disc.

16/01/03: r setiawan - bellicose8@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
Im very hard to please but this album please me soo much ^_^
the first good albums after seventh sign (with eclipse, magnum opus, alchemy, wteaw are good only and fire nice suck)....so I wonder why so many poor comments/bad review in other magz

what I expect from yng is album like this, 80% of the song is good!! I wont mind about the 16 song, perhaps next time Yng should make double albums tee hee

A little critics : yng should start to reduce his overinflated ego, atleast add every band member photo in casette cover and give ppl likes derek sherinian (and previously Mark Boals) a chance to make 1 or 2 song for his album... other wise every best talent he can get wont last more than 2 or 3 albums :(

23/12/02: Ingwi - jr_rca@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
hope he'll ATTACK philippines now! still not available here grrr...WTEAW is not that bad for me bcoz im after the arrangements, compositions stuff not the production. to me its intended to be raw but yes, poor EQ on vocals.

12/12/02: karna - karna_666@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
From what I heard the album is good. I think the thing you guys with "yngwie sucks" syndrome overlook is that yngwie has style. this is his style. if you don't like it, that's fine, but that doesn't mean he's not an original artist. you don't seriously expect eric clapton to stop playing blues licks do you? jimmy page has a stock of phrases that he has used in virtually every solo. within his style, yjm continues to make great music, he's sticking to his guns and if you're a guitar player you'll know that his playing HAS progressed quite a bit. "Braveheart" for example, was a different take on things. "Blue" was different at the time. so he does come up with different stuff while still being himself. And look at all those guitar players who just go limp. Have you seen or heard G3 live? It put me to sleep. No spark whatsoever. I couldnt believe how boring they were. I almost hit Joe Satriani with my beer can. If Vai wants to play bugle themes with feedback he can do it on his own time. I'd rather hear a guitar player whos exciting and keeps the audience awake. I'd rather hear an album called "Attack!"

10/12/02: RUBEN - rubentamayo2003
Rating: 100
it`s always been great man!!!!!!!

09/12/02: bad ass - hzaf@hotmail.com
Rating: 60
its ok you are all overating this.
THIS IS the answer after listening to Dio and Malmsteen collaboration for the cover of Dream on I believe these two could put together a very killer album Malmsteen could take dios vocals to where they have never been and where they should be and visa-versa.

06/12/02: David - transposer@chek.com
Rating: 80
Yes, Y has some boring themes that somehow sneaks into every album... But why not listen to the good stuff!? Nowadays all artists have 15-16 tracks on a cd so you have to pick the diamonds from the rough yourself, so to speak. Bottom line: Good songs, good vocals and some boring tracks you have to skip!

26/11/02: WCG philly pa - WCGX3@AOL.COM
Rating: 50
When is he ever gonna get a good strong clear singer with range, who can sing in more than one key,,,,i'm tired of these coverdale and stryper rejects,,,,,, He should just recruit a known singer from a good metal band,,,such as James Labrie,(Dream Theater),,Tony Harnell,(TNT),,,Sabastian Bach,,,Ray Alder (Fates Warning),,,John Sykes,,(Blue Murder),,who by the way should sue him for ripping off his Blue Murder's valley of the kings which is ten times better,,

24/11/02: FretFire - fretfire@yahoo.com
Rating: 97
How anyone can think that VALLEY OF KINGS, IN THE NAME OF GOD, SHIP OF FOOLS, MAD DOG, MAJESTIC BLUE, RAZOR EATER and RISE UP sound anything alike is beyond me. They're all completely different and great songs. And those are only some of the songs on Attack!! Yngwie has written so many DIFFERENT songs throughout his career, it's unbelievable! You have to be deaf to think they all sound the same.

It's ok for AC/DC to do the same shit over and over (let's face it, when it comes down to it, they kinda suck...so it's "ok" for them to suck?), but it's not ok for Yngwie to merely keep building on a solid foundation while still continuing to write new and different songs? Actually, it could be that some of you don't hear progress in Yngwie because you can't even hear all of what he's doing in the first place. I hear people saying that all he does is harmonic minor, which means they didn't hear all the major, minor, major and minor pentatonic and various other scales, arpeggios and devices he uses in songs or solos. But how seriously can I take the opinion of someone who apparently doesn't even hear half of what's played?

Besides, the "shred/prog people" seem too hung up on content, like all guitarists have to play the "latest licks", otherwise they somehow "suck". It's not WHAT's being played, it's HOW it's played. I don't care how many "tricky licks" you've practiced, if you're on the stage playing before Yngwie, you'd better have great tone, a wide, lush vibrato, total conviction of delivery and a great sense of drama. Otherwise, you are going to look really bad and everyone will think you SUCK!
~ J ~

24/11/02: JJ - dkakho@enigmacorp.com
Rating: 0
Sorry Aaron, that doesn't point out anything. ACDC can get a way with writing the same songs not Yngwie. There's no excuse for it.I agree with your rating.

23/11/02: Aaron - info@opticrocks.comI
Rating: 0
I believe that everyone who is writing a review of Yngwie(regardless of there opinion) is a guitar lover. The most common negative remarks include: same riffs, same licks, same songs, same melodies, same soloing, same ,same,same,same!
Just to put into perspective how pointless your bitching sounds, I will create a metaphoric and sarcastic conversation for you all...enjoy!
Brad- Hey Tony, did you here the new AC/DC?
Tony- Yeah, It kicks fucking ass! Brian Johnson's vocals are amazing. I just don't understand how he sustains all those high notes without rasping his throat.
Brad- Tell me about it. The songwriting is other-worldly. I'm glad they wait a good eight years or so between albums. That's how they get every song to sound totally different. I mean every melody, riff and guitar solo are like no other.
Tony- I know...Angus is a genius. His patented pentatonic scale is sheer brilliance. When I first heard his solo on the poetic "Hard as a rock", I broke down in tears. He plays with such emotion.
Brad- Speaking of emotion--I just love the new music coming out on MTV lately. I mean we're talking guitar gallore! It just seems like every time I turn that channel on, guitar riffs seem to bleed from the television. Korn, Limp Bizkit, Godsmack, Alien Ant Farm, Static X, Slipknot, The Vines, The White Stripes, The Hives, The Donnas, Disturbed, Papa Roach, Staind and pretty much everything at Ozzfest totally rules! Not to mention all the "Mud" bands. I'm so glad most modern bands detune their guitars. I mean that really brings out their soloing techniques. Every new song I hear on the radio is filled with guitar solos.
Tony- No shit! I just love the way Monkey from Korn solos. His patented M-flat scale can create the most riveting improvising in Korn's songs.
Brad- And he never repeats himself. I love watching him fly across the guitar neck.
Tony- Speaking of flying. I can't believe how the dude from Godsmack can put so many chord changes in each song, not to mention all those different types of chords. Every song blows me away with diversity. I love the singer's range and emotional lyrics. "Get back...Go away...Get up and go away", Shakespeare would be proud.
Brad- Don't forget the timeless "UUUWaah,aah,aah,aah", Disturbed kicks ass! The songwriting even outshines the guitar solos in that band. Don't get me wrong, Disturbed's guitarist is a god at soloing, but "Stupify" as a song is pure beauty. I love the singers tone. He must train for hours a day in order to hit all those high notes.
Tony- I heard he studied with Pavarotti.
Brad- Really?
Tony- Yeah...I saw a special on "Behind the Music". Anyways, I just have to say that modern guitar trends, singing and songwriting are at the peak of ability. Bands like Staind, Disturbed, Godsmack and Korn, really take the guitar to the limits. I just know that fifteen years from now, all these bands will still be flying away on their guitars, creating totally fresh guitar riffs and solos every single album. And don't forget about melodies--Those singers will always create the best and different melody for each song. They are all genius.

BACK TO REALITY PEOPLE!!!!!!!

I hope I have made my point-- In the MTV music world of today--Yngwie IS genius...Yngwie IS unique...And thank God he doesn't follow trends, otherwise all those "samey" things you're bitching about wouldn't even exist!!

Thank you for your time.

21/11/02: Kula - kulius69@hotmail.com
Rating: 5
Pure crap! Yngwie is the best guitarplayer on this planet... we know that by now! But it takes more to make a good album. He hasn't made any good songs since "eclipse" and that was som time ago. This is just boring and the songs sound all the same. Get a grip yngwie!

20/11/02: ddregs - ddregs@email.it
Rating: 60
My problem with Yngwie is I listened too many times to Odyssey and Trilogy. The last two records sound very very similar and close to the forementioned ones.
This is good, Yngwie maintained his integrity as a musician. Tha bad is there is no sign of progress in his records. His technique has always been immense, I feel it hasn't improved at all since his first record with Alcatrazz (nor it has diminished). The compositions are really the same as his past records. There are two songs on this record very very similar to some older tracks.
About the song structures, it's not correct to define Yngwie's or Holdsworth's (why Holdsworth? he never played a neoclassical track, he plays fusion and fusion has no schema or whatsoever) or Bach's with any schema.
I'd say it's more correct to define Yngwie's way of soloing, his own trademark minor diminished scale he puts in every song. Great scale. But... something else?
The low point in Yngwie's career is , IMO, he always had GREAT musicians. But they can never play one different note than he thought. No place to shine, or simply to elevate from the mediocre. The arrangements in every song are flat to make guitar above everything. That's where I complain most.

12/11/02: freddy de keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 75
At least one artist that has the guts to be his own !! Compliments for that. Yngwie has his own style and he will never change that. Of course we've heard it all before, but it's at least better than to try to be modern. Not his best, but worth a listen !

08/11/02: FretFire - fretfire@yahoo.com
Rating: 97
Yngwie just "technically a very fast guitar player"? Then what is Michelangelo? That describes him perfectly. Yngwie is much more.

If you "love the way" us "hardcore fans think Yngwie's shit doesn't stink and that he can't release a bad album", then I have to say that I love the way people like you think your word is the final one and that every pronouncement you make is gospel. By your reasoning Mozart had already done a lot of what Beethoven did, so that means Beethoven was not a genius. In fact, they all stole from each other, pal. You just feel safe in praising them as geniuses because they're safely dead and gone. I also have news for you...there were a milion "clones" of each of the great composers...they just didn't get remembered becuse they weren't the original, just as Yngwie's clones won't be remembered either because of their unoriginality, lack of true depth and inferior vibratos. I suggest a much closer listen to the Concerto Suite and Preludium from WTEAW....try listening to all the orchestral voices and the wonderful arrangements this time, instead of only the guitar.

Yngwie "can't write a GOOD song to save his life"? Another infallible pronouncement, I see. Sorry, but I beg to differ - just a few of the GREAT, not merely "GOOD" rock songs from the past 10 (well, maybe 12) years: Motherless Child, Devil In Disguise, Faultline, How Many Miles To Babylon, C'est LaVie, Never Die, Meant To Be, Brothers, Seventh Sign, I Can't Wait, Vengeance, Voodoo, Time Will Tell, Enemy, Sacrifice, Another Time, Only The Strong, Leonardo, Playing With Fire, Hangar 18, Area 51, Crucify, Masquerade, The Wizard, Rise Up, Valley Of Kings, Ship Of Fools, In The Name Of God, Valhalla, Majestic Blue.....by no means, a complete list.

As far as your "YJM" formula, anything could be trivialized and generalized to a supposed formula. Some examples:

Allan Holdsworth formula:
A bunch of weird chords.
A bunch of weird legato playing.
A bunch of weird free-form drumming.

Dream Theater formula:
A bunch of odd-meter.
Some acoustic strumming.
Some Yngwie, Morse, and Vai guitar licks.
A bunch of high singing.

J.S.Bach formula:
A bunch of counterpoint.
More conterpoint.
A lot of repeating of the same phrases, in counterpoint with other phrases.
Melodies.

Of course, those are woefully inadequate descriptions of these great artists, as is your description of Yngwie's "formula".
~ J ~

07/11/02: Erick Sihol - ericksihol@yngwie.com
Rating: 0
This is the attention for Yngwie to apply in order to kill the thirst of his (especially die-hard )fans in Indonesia of not hearing his new masterpiece.
Cause ya know all fans around the world must be served equally,OK!!!
For you whoever you are that get connected or are near or meet Yngwie (especially the management of this website and yng's too ), please tell him to distribute the new album in Indonesia as soon as posible,ok !!!
And for you, Yngwie, please promise to try attack being in Indonesia stores, promise us, Than You !!!

07/11/02: George Kirk - gkirk2000@yahoo.com
Rating: 70
Just to comment again (see my review below) -

I love these hard-core fans who think Yngwie's shit doesn't stink and that he can't release a bad album.

First of all, Yngwie is NOT a musical genius. Technically, he is a very fast guitar player - but most of what he plays are licks that were written 300 years ago.

The genius was in Bach, Mozart, Paganini, etc. Yngwie hasn't created anything really new since his first album, and even that was only new because most people in hard-rock and metal were playing cheezy pentatonic licks.

I love Yngwie - but I don't confuse him with true, timeless musical talent. There never will be another Bach or another Mozart, but there are tons of Yngwie clones.

Songwriting? The guy can't write a song to save his life. How many GOOD songs have been released in the last 10 years by Yngwie? As a percentage of his output, very few.

Here's the YJM formula:

ominous opening
fast licks with pedal tones
singing
fast solo with pedal tones and plenty of counterpoint
singing
solo
singing
end

WOw...original!

06/11/02: Johnny - johnny@spede.com
Rating: 67
I think that Yngwie is not what he use to be... The songs are too similar to each other and the solo work sucks. He's playing those same scales up and down without any feeling. If I compare the the solos of Attack to oldies but goldies like Black Star, 7th Sign, Trilogy, Facing the Animal I find them really booring. Yngwie songs used to be more melodic and not so heavy, but the leads were more aggressive. Nowadays the songs try to be aggressive and the solos are just improvised shit. And I'm really disapointed that there is no keyboard solos, why? In the good old days it was the best part when Yng and Jens had a little solo competition. I think that was the think that made Yngwie play awesome solos like in Krakatau and Trilogy. About the production: it is much better than WTEAW, but I think he needs a producer. On the other hand I don't think that is a good idea to change the line-up all the time. The best band Yng ever had was with Johansson brothers! Nowadays Jens is doing great work with Stratovarius. It is my dream to hear the awesome Jens sound with Yng. I don't mean that there is something wrong with Derek, but can't even hear him, thanks to Yng production. I think Derek is very disapointed because his talent wasn't used at all. In addition the key solos make the songs more interesting because I've already heard all those Yng licks he is using in this record. Yngwie hire a producer and give room to other talented musicians!

06/11/02: Erick Sihol - ericksihol@yngwie.com
Rating: 0
Hey guy, when will it be pruduced in Indonesia ?
So long I've been waiting for it to have and enjoy .
I hope it won't be long, OK! So many guys can't wait, you know!
Tell Yng to release Attack as soon as possible.
Promise me Yng, don' you guy ?
See ya...............

05/11/02: Widayat Agung Wibowo - wid_boy2001@yahoo.com
Rating: 1
I'll waing for the "Attack" album in Indonesia!!!!

04/11/02: Borislav Bojic - bl-vule@blic.net
Rating: 85
I've been Yngwie fan for almost twenty years so it's very difficult to me write a real review but let me try.
Production is much better then on WTEAW(I like raw guitar sound but vocal was terrible incorporated in songs without any balance).
Guitar work is good as always but I think it would be more structured,not free for all, especially in vocal songs.
I must be honest ,i expected more from Doogie(he sounds better in Rainbow)becouse he is really good singer ..but... he is too dark on this record I think(like he's trying to emulate Marc Boals-or supposed to sing like him).
So definitely Number 1 from Yngwie's lineups vocal is Joe Lynn Turner and 2nd place is reserved for Marc Boals.All the others are good but one step behind.
Album Attack has dark age vibe and agressive songs and it's logical direction after previous two....
All in all it is good but not excellent it's classic Malmsteen style album.
Odyssey,Trilogu and Rising Force are unrepeatable albums and who knows why?Maybe these are some other times or ve've changed ourselves a lot ...but dont get me wrong Yngwie is one of the greatest guitar players and composers of this planet and my favourite ....FOREVER.

03/11/02: Ignacio - jigutierrez1@yahoo.com
Rating: 30
I agree with Graham...such a talented guitar player needs a good singer...
Odyssey & No parole from R'n'R. 2 CLASSICK masterpieces... I still listen to them

29/10/02: yjm - me@everywhere.com
Rating: 0
are they going to release it in the philippines? i hope so, im looking forward in listening to Yngwie's latest CD.

29/10/02: vagelis - stargazer1979_2001@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
GREAT.JUST GREAT.

28/10/02: Demon Driver - menthol_X@r67.net
Rating: 100
Whatever comments there may be out there....how you fucking idiotic CONSUMERS complain and diss abt artists like as if it's the easiest god damn thing in the world, Yngwie has made his mark, as a legend, and as a guitar revolutionist. In fact, i'm gona be brutally honest. Whatever album Yngwie comes up with, whether it's way worse or even RIFF DUPLICATED, my respect and admiration and the impact which his playing hit me from day one would never ever fucking change, so I'm just gona buy every album he releases, support him any way possible.

Only qualms i have is his CD cover designs, especially ATTACK!!
That he should really at least pay more attention to, geez!

25/10/02: Omar Jacobo - o_yngwi@hotmaoi.com
Rating: 100
Great songs, great singer, great drummer, great keyboard player, and of course Yngwie!!!
I love Valhalla, Majestic Blue (fuck, you have to hear how Yngwie sincronizes bass and guitar on this one!) Touch the Sky it's an 80´s kind of song, remind mi a little bit "You Don't Remember..." or "The Final Countdown".
The sound its awesome, i think is the best soundind record Yngwie has done. Doogie sound like Dio sometimes, Derek's keyboards sounds are original and cristal clear.
Everybody should buy it!!!.

23/10/02: J.H - club0@luukku.com
Rating: 95
One of the best Yngwie albums. Really cool stuff.. my brother and I really dig this one.

22/10/02: Graham - gw.k2@virgin.net
Rating: 40
Ok, what in Godsname is he doing? One thing that I agree with is "it sounds like a band" but like albums after the amazing Facing the Animal something seems to have drastically wrong, in my opinion of course.
Is it my ears playing up, or does the riff for "Iron Clad" sound like "Spotlight Kid"? I have been a Yng fan since the days of Steeler, and I saw him in the Marquee club in London when only about 70 people stayed for the show.
To me this ablum actually represents EVERYthing that people in the past has said about Malmsteen. In my opinion, he needs to bring back a lyricist and a band to bring back a little stability to his writing.
Bring back Alcatrazz!

20/10/02: Chris - pardishar@msn.com
Rating: 1
Its probly gonna suck ass... Im gonna be hugely disapointed when i get it, i'll listen to the vocal tracks twice and cringe thinking its whitesnake im listening to. The instrumentals are gonna kick ass like normal and they will end up being the only songs i pay attention to. In the end i will keep on hoping that he'll get his head out of his damn ass and start making pure instrumental cd's. A repeat of Concerto Suite would be the best!

20/10/02: FretFire - fretfire@yahoo.com
Rating: 97
Regarding the "recycled" comments, one point I have made again and again that no one ever addresses is that Bach and Vivaldi, etc had longer "careers" than Yngwie, and they didn't change much either. I've NEVER heard anyone slag these composers for "recycling". I say Yngwie still puts 200% emotion into what he's doing, so if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

~ J ~

20/10/02: sxot - scottcat14@aol.com
Rating: 100
Yngwie will always be the #1 guitarist in the world as far as I'm concern...now where is the AMERICAN release?.....

19/10/02: George Kirk - gkirk2000@yahoo.com
Rating: 70
I'm only giving this album a 70 because the production is so good compared to some of his previous blunders.

Otherwise, this album is 70+ minutes of the same re-hashed licks (can someone re-hash their own licks??) and derivative neo-classical Bach'n'roll that he's been putting out since 1984.

Don't get me wrong - I've been an Yngwie fan since 1986 (I was 12 years old at the time), and I still buy every album. Now though, I'm beginning to wonder "why?".

Listening to this album makes me realize that if the only Yngwie albums anyone ever had were "Rising Force" and "Marching Out", they would hear all they'd need to hear.

Bottom line: This album is more of the same. Love it or hate it, it's your call. I find it kind of boring. But then again, what should I expect? He's been putting out the same album for the last 15 years or so.

Cheers,

George

18/10/02: Yigit - yigity41@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
Good Album. Why 90? Because this guy has albums like Rising Force and Concerto Suite. Personally, only those can get a 100 from me. Perfect albums. Then comes these good ones. Attack, Alchemy, Facing the Animal, War to End All Wars, Fire and Ice, etc. Then comes the others. Eclipse and such. In my opinion most of his albums are very good. You can find a bunch of very good songs in every one of them except one or two albums. Even in his worst album you will find a killer song which will make up for every musical crap on earth. I could pay 50 bucks for a song like Far Beyond the Sun, Trilogy Suite, Instrumental Institution, Asylum I, Perpetual. They are amazing. If you like half of the songs in an album that is a great thing. This does not happen with other musicians. They usually sell a cd full of crap and one or two so so ones. With Yngwie you have more satisfaction per album. He is one of the greatest guitar players.

God Bless.

18/10/02: Richard - manitoba@netmail.nl
Rating: 60
The criticism on Yngwie’s last album “War to End All Wars” was not exactly mild. Mister Malmsteen had chosen to cut production costs and results showed. Bad reviews and disappointing sales. The tour wasn’t a success either. In South America it became evident that Yngwie just like Schwarzenegger feels more American than European and likes to show off his sentiment. In Brazil he was thrown off stage as he “patriotically” played the Stars & Stripes. Add his declining popularity and decreasing sales and you have the most important developments in Yngwie’s recent history. Frustrations galore!
These frustrations show on “Attack”, his 13th studio album and 17th in all. “Attack” is hard en maybe Yngwie’s hardest CD ever. Hard is however not synonymous with good.
The production is excellent and the guitar solo spots are as usual fantastic, but the lack of subtlety and inspiration are horrifying. The carousel of musicians was spinning its rounds last year; singer Dougie White is now behind the microphone and does his job adequately and more aggressive than during his time with Rainbow. Keyboard player Derek Sherinian is a side character with no space to show his talent and drummer Johansson lacks the word variation is his vocabulary. “Attack” is mainly the Yngwie one-man show. Unfortunately!
Yngwie fans have heard all 15 songs including the three instrumental tracks before. Sure, song titles and lyrics are different, but melodies, intros and song structures are pure revision exercises. The “godfather” of neo-classical hard rock is trapped in structures he imposed on himself. After three songs the CD becomes predictable and therefore boring.
Releasing seventeen albums in 18 years is quite an achievement, but the trick (same music, different musicians) has finished. Nowadays the line “all songs written by Yngwie” is a warning in stead of a recommendation. That’s sad, because talent is one thing Yngwie definitely has. He is in urgent need of new inspiration. Maybe he should take an acoustic guitar and a tape recorder and sail the oceans for a few months, or wander through the jungles of Peru and Ecuador or climb the Himalayas and do some serious soul searching. And leave his albums of Bach en Paganini at home!
I fear however that Yngwie’s ego makes every form of criticism impossible. Reviewers have been complaining for years, but Yngwie ignores all criticism. Are we so smart or is he ….?
While listening to “Attack” one question jumps to mind: Does Yngwie ever listen to his old albums?
“Repeat” would be a more appropriate title. Fans better wait for “Genesis”, a CD full of material of the early days due later this year.

16/10/02: grég - poupsy3@wanadoo.fr
Rating: 90
Excellent !!! welcome chez les français... Enfin le retour du maître de la guitare, Yngwie semble au plus fort de sa forme, "magistralement". Album bien mixé, très bonne créativité et de formidables prestations à la guitare. MAJESTIC BLUE est la plus belle musique instrumentale d'Yngwie, félicitations pour FREEDOM ISN'T FREE, VALHALLA, STRONGHOLD. Merci pour cette musique toujours si envoutante !!!
Encore & encore...

16/10/02: Max - eeoresumes@aol.com
Rating: 0
what the hell is this...seems everyone has this friggin record...and im like the friggin biggest fan..and i dont have shit!...ah well...but hey im poor what can i say...and hmmm at least im at the top of the list to get his custom made amp yahooooo..BLACK STAR...and remember folks... I AM A VIKINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!..and of course use wisdom and never draw your sword!!!...Marching Out Fooooooooorreverrrrrrrr!!

15/10/02: Fabian J Lelo - purplehead@xtra.co.nz
Rating: 98
ATTACK has to be his finest album since Facing The Animal. Alchemy was ok but War To End All Wars was just as bad. Well if only the production were better it would have been a decent album too.

Anyway onto ATTACK. Well it seems like Yngwie has returned to his roots in a way. I'm glad the production is of a better standard this time compared to WTEAW. Doogie White is a fine vocalist and I feel that he did a fine job. Newcomer Patrick Johanssen is also a fine drummer. He too did a great job and former Dream Theater/Planet X keyboardist Derek Sherinian too did a spectacular job but I just wished that Yngwie could have utilised Derek's skills a lot more being the great keyboard player he is.

Onto the songs then. Standout tracks for me include Valhalla (this seems unanimous by many), Valley Of Kings, Ship Of Fools, Stronghold, Touch The Sky and the bonus track Nobody's Fool. Yngwie's singing on the track Freedom Isn't Free gets a brave mention too. This track always brings a smile to my face the way Yngwie tries to sing like Hendrix. Good stuff. And as always like Yngwie's previous albums the instrumentals shine with Baroque And Roll being my favourite instrumental on the album. Bach's Air is nicely redone and Majestic Blue is also a nice instrumental.

Overall this album is fastly becoming one of my favourite albums ever released by the Swedish Guitar Legend. I was losing respect for Yngwie with not so great albums like Alchemy and WTEAW (maybe it was Boals) but this album has me regaining my respect for the guy (no matter how fat he gets haha). May his next album continue the same way it did with this album if not better.

FVD.

15/10/02: C.C. - risingforce72@yahoo.com
Rating: 99
Simply a fantastic album. This is Yngwie's strongest album since Facing The Animal. The only reason I only give it a 99 out of 100 is because I had to get the Japanese version to get "Nobody's Fool"...and for some reason it will be left off the album in other countries. I don't understand why...because this is probably the best song on the album. But if that's the only complaint...that means it's one heck of a record. GO BUY IT!!!

13/10/02: Jimmy - moore.vanhalen@verizon.net
Rating: 95
As a guitarist who holds Yngwie in very high regard, it's my pleasure to say that Yngwie J. Malmsteen is in fine form on his latest release "Attack!" Along with Eddie Van Halen and Randy Rhoads, his playing has shaped the way i play the instrument and i'm not the only one who's been so effected(whether they'll admit to it or not). With this cd he shows a direction leaning towards stronger songs than in recent outings, and as usual, his playing is superb. Doogie has a cool voice.....i think the best has yet to be heard from him. Hopefully he'll be around for the next YJM album, and if so, hopefully he'll be able to do what maybe nobody other than Joe Lyn Turner has done......actually collaborate in the writing process. If there's one flaw i'd point out with this cd it's that. Still, it IS Yngwie's name...his music...his everything. Nobody can ever say he's went with trends or failed to stick to his guns as far as what he wants to do musically. The production is fine...we've heard that alot about this cd. Everyone plays their roles very well. Standout tracks for me were :"Valhalla" (an Yngwie anthem if there ever was one...forget I Am A Viking!), "Nobody's Fool" (think an updated Rainbow),"Air" (Beauty in it's simplicity....barely a fast lick on it...yet it's as effective as if there were a million of 'em), and "Touch The Sky" (It's got that riff and keyboard vibe from the Trilogy era, without sounding retreaded). Oh, and for the record..."Baroque And Roll" is far from a "poor Far Beyond The Sun". It's in that vein, but it's got different things to say. Anyway, sorry so long...but, like the cd, there's alot to talk about....maybe Yngwie will never be a hit on Mtv ( Would we want him to?), but he's a true guitar legend that deserves respect as an innovator, in the class of Jimi and Eddie.With "Attack!" he gives the fans a pure dose of what he's about...and then some......long live the Viking! Later.

13/10/02: Clark in CT - Calculus2001@aol.com
Rating: 100
Yngwie continues to up the ante, in what is certainly his most powerful album to date. Great songs, killer vocals, and Yngwie's tremendous power and passion. No wimpy ballads here- ATTACK has a classic, British Steel-era Judas Priest type feel, with glorious Baroque stylings and frantic double-kick-drum riffing in the grand Malmsteen tradition. Five thumbs up.

12/10/02: Todd - kisspsycho@hotmail.com
Rating: 65
So Mr.Malmsteen returns with his new album Attack and it's good to see that the production is finally top notch with all instruments and vocals mixed well together.(It's good to be able to hear the lead vocals).
15 songs (I don't have the copy with Nobody's Fool), make this album a little long though and 3 instrumentals might be one too many.Valhalla is THE SONG that stands out for me and one of the best I think Yngwie has written in his career, as it's a song that lyrically fits his style of writing.The other songs in general are ok but suffer from "Where's The Chorus" Syndrome.This is what makes Valhalla stand out so much from the rest ...the chorus kicks major ass.Ship Of Fools, Mad Dog & Touch The Sky all lack somewhat from rather weak choruses, with the latter being saved by a brilliant keyboard riff.Doogie White's vocals are fine but I would have preferred him to sing a little lower like on his effort on the "Snakebite Tribute To Whitesnake" cd.I think he is trying to sing a little too high ala Mark Boals.( Maybe he was told to sing that high I don't know), but the end of Mad Dog is a good indication of the level I am referring to.Overall this is not a classic Malmsteen album but leaves Alchemy and War To End All Wars in the dust.(Wouldn't be hard though).Best songs: Valhalla, (worth the album alone), Stronghold & Touch The Sky.

12/10/02: maximiliano sottile - luisjmask@hotmail.com
Rating: 70
............need more risk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12/10/02: FretFire - fretfire@yahoo.com
Rating: 97
A few points off for a few places that Doogie sounds strained....other than that, I felt a lot of conviction in his delivery and came to like his performance much more with each listen. As far as Yngwie repeating phrases, yes he undoubtably does. In the context of his whole trademark style, this would be the natural approach, after all....Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, etc, etc, used the same phrases over, and variations thereof and didn't change much throughout their careers either. But they got better and better without changing their basic styles.....just what Yngwie has done. Personally, I think that his improvised solos make perfect sense....he plays fast an awful lot, but it's all precise and with deadly intent and purpose. Yngwie thinks very fast, so I'd rather hear him improvise even if he does repeat himself.....it's more spontaneous and besides, there are always variations! There are also always composed guitar parts in each song, so I suppose I get enough of that from those. The tunes mostly sound fresh to me, even when I hear familiar phrases, there's still always a little twist to keep my interest. Much, MUCH better sound than WTEAW as well!! It's refreshing to see Melodic Rock givng Yngwie a fair review this time, last time was a cheap slag-off....I mean, calling him "Egosteen" was a bit much...also, I felt you didn't give the songs and playing enough credit, while rightly criticizing the bad production. But this time, the review was very fair and criticized a bit without going overboard. Great job!!
~ J ~

12/10/02: Micael Andersson - micaels.illusion@swipnet.se
Rating: 95
"Attack" has everything I want from Yngwie Malmsteen!! This album has a GREAT PRODUCTION, GREAT MUSICIANS and GREAT SONGS! There are lots of variations between the songs. Dougie Whites voice fits Yngwie´s music perfect. I think that the songs on WTEAW was good, but unfortunable the production sucked!! But, "Attack" is definietly one of the best albums Yngwie´s ever recorded. Yngwie plays very melodic and clean on this album and I have to say that I think that the solos seems more planned on this record. My favs on "Attack" is; "Ship of fools", "Valley of kings", "Valhalla", "Nobody´s fool (Japanese bonus track)", "Razor eater", "Majestic blue (one of Yngwies best instrumental songs by the way)", "In the name of God", "Stronghold", "Freedom isn´t free" and "Attack"! Well, I almost mentioned all songs there. But, as you see, Attack is a great album, both for old Yngwie fans and new fans to come up if they get there hands on "Attack"!! BUY IT!!!!

12/10/02: Travis - DethGeetar@aol.com
Rating: 1
I haven't even heard Malmsteens new album yet.. lol I've been an admirer (a true one) since i was a young kid. People moan and complain about WTEAW's production, sound etc etc. Honestly, It didn't bother me at all. The bass was a bit high but other then that i loved it as always. He's got something that no other guitarist has. They copy and copy but you can never be the original.

12/10/02: Oscar - musico79@msn.com
Rating: 100
probably one of my definite favorites.........it was well produced and mixed.......even so, i wouldn't say it was better than War, because War was INTENDED to sound like that-RAW!! it definitely adds new texture..........i do disagree with Clint and Dr Nick though.........Yngwie does not need to change the type of licks and solos that he does, because he is playing what he loves!! if he changes, people say he's lost his edge, and if he doesn't he gets accused of unoriginal material.....give Yngwie a break!!! Yngwie knows people will always see it that way, but i, for one, love his style to death........Baroque & Roll has to be one of the best reditions of Paganini-like pyrotechnic madness i have ever heard from Yngwie!!! "poor version of far beyond the sun"......i don't think so......i bet Paganini is turning over in his grave more than ever because of that song!! Malmsteen is Paganini re-incarnated! that song defines Neo-classical.......Michael Angelo's "No Boundaries" also has a good rendition of Paganini's work on the title track......just thought i'd let y'all know

12/10/02: Carloz - carloz@hoga.pl
Rating: 95
What can I say... It's another great Yngwie's album after a couple of shitty recordings. It kicks your ass first with "razor eater", which main melody is impossible to play for a mortal. My favourite songs are Valley of Kings and ass kicking Valhalla. And solo in Mad Dog is one of the best in his career (I can put it after My Resurrection's one).

12/10/02: Jeffrey Bond - the_mr007@hotmail.com
Rating: 85
Overall, this was a kick ass album. I enjoyed the second half of the album more than the first half with the exception to Valley of Kings. The production was awesome. As always, Yngwie's solos were amazing. As far as repeating his solos from previous albums... His style is what it is. Nobody bitches about Angus, Eddie, Hendrix or Clapton repeating themselves. I would like to see Yngwie try new topics/subject matter for his lyrics, instead of the dungeon & dragons theme most of the time. In addition, maybe focus on slower, but simple rhythm tracks with shorter solos. Lastly, try some down-tempo or chilled out jazz or bluesy kinds of songs. I know there is nothing Yngwie cannot do and I would love to see Yngwie's interpretation of different styles of music. Do not get me wrong. I love what Yngwie (style) does and will always think of him as one of the best guitarists/performers of all time.

Jeff

11/10/02: dani - guitardani@hotmail.com
Rating: 99
just great !!

11/10/02: whynot! - peterjameskim1@attbi.com
Rating: 60
You have to admit, Yngwie's classical/baroque songwriting approach vs. the blues/rock thing is probably one of the biggest reasons for his loyal following, although he throws in a few bluesy tracks in his albums from time to time. Being an Yngwie fan myself, I must say this. The only thing that drew me to Yngwie was his unbelievable guitar playing & his classical/baroque based composition skills. Unfortunately, his songs have to go. They sound like cheesy 80's has-been metal band tunes revisited. Yngwie should seriously think about doing only instrumentals like Satriani, Johnson, Vai, & Hoey. He'll blow them away with his classical/baroque thing.

11/10/02: eddie kempster - eddiekempster@hotmail.com
Rating: 89
this is ridiculous get back mike vescera and the real yngwie appears ,hes just jumping the gun after wteaws throwing out new players grapsing at straws on this cd he can make songs all day long but make hits like the seventh sign and youve got awinner again.sounds like hes giving this new wanna be singer(not a legend like vescera)a chance to make a name for himself athough the songs are red hot yngwie they lack the real hard core yngwie fan real music hes throwing us a new tour bone trying to catch up with the big fight he had with jorn and arks new cd thats coming out .tying to make others seem lamehe falls by the wayside with a damn weak release .i mean give me a break how long will it be before yngwie has a breakdown and fire doogie derek .and patrick? get james labrie or mike vescera ,deen castronova patrick rondat and you got a kick major ass band that people will be blowed away by (damn thats a super group) believe you wont have to travel to japan to go platnum but its just my opinion signed a long time and 4 ever yngwie ed

11/10/02: Clint - guitarnation2000@hotmail.com
Rating: 8
Yngwie's new album Attack!is a big improvement over his last album. I have all of Yngwie's cd's and think he's one of the greatest guitarist's ever. However, as a long time fan I sometimes wish he would not keep repeating similar types of solo's and riffs he has used in songs in his previous albums. I think Yngwie has the talent to do whatever he wants on the guitar and it would be nice to hear something fresh and new. Attack has some good songs and if you're an Yngwie fan I'd definitely recommend it. Also check out Yngwie's Concerto Suite Live in Japan on dvd, you won't be disapointed.

11/10/02: Derek - derekmill69@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
This album is very good ! Great vocals ! Great Guitar(always a good guitar ! its malmsteen);-) !
This album is great ! One of my favortite of malmsteen albums.
Just waiting to know if it will have a show in Canada Quebec ! It will be awesome !

10/10/02: Dr Nick - ncsamaniego@compuserve.com
Rating: 85
I agree with the main review - Attack is a significant improvement on WTEAW, and brings to mind the style of "Alchemy":heavy and in your face. No ballads, mostly fast rockers apart from a couple of mid-tempo stompers. The production is excellent, the guitar as flawless and mind-boggling as we've come to expect from Yngwie.

Doogie is a superb vocalist, and managed to fit into Yngwie's style very well, although personally I think some of the higher notes stretch him a bit too far (Mark Boals would have had no problems), but on the other hand the lower notes benefit from his growl and inflections (Mad Dawg!).

Baroque & Roll does let the side down a bit, sort of a poor version of Far Beyond The Sun, and Freedom Isn't Free is an attempt to do a "Hendrix" (Yngwie sings) which doesn't come off, but overall a release that might just bring a few new fans in Mr Malmsteen's direction.

I'm just a little worried about the title. The song is called Attack!. The album, however, is Attack!!, going from one ! to two !!'s. Now, I don't want to worry people, but increasing numbers of !'s, to my mind, may indicate an unstable personality!!!

And what was he thinking of during the back cover photo? His wife, perhaps? or did he have cramp?
LOL;)

10/10/02: Scott - sslb75@aol.com
Rating: 90
One of Yngwie's best. Great production. Awesome vibe. Doogie White sounds better than all previous Yngwie vocalists. I hope this partnership stays intact for more than a couple albums.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: