a l b u m r e v i e w s


CMC International
Produced by: Sykes & Gorham

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Closest Relative: Thin Lizzy!
GENRE: Hard Rock

  1. Jailbreak
  2. Waiting For An Alibi
  3. Don't Believe A Word
  4. Cold Sweat
  5. The Sun Goes Down
  6. Are You Ready
  7. Bad Reputation
  8. Suicide
  9. Still In Love With You
  10. Cowboy Song
  11. The Boys Are Back In Town
  12. Rosalie
  13. Black Rose

Thin Lizzy have been reforming without the late, great founding member Phil Lynott for a few years now and seem to be making a regular thing out of summer tours.
Lizzy members Scott Gorham, John Sykes and Darren Wharton were joined on this tour by drummer Tommy Aldridge and bass player Marco Mendoza.
We all know Sykes can sing and he doe an admirable job on One Night Only. Whether or not his album is 100% live or not (it does sound a little too polished), the whole package sounds a million bucks.
The song selection is superb (as if it could be anything but!) and the production and mix are both sharp and comprehensive.
Tracks like Don't Believe A Word, Cold Sweat, Bad Reputation, The Boys Are Back In Town and Rosalie are all played with passion, breathing new life into some old classics.
BOTTOM LINE: Primarily a fan release, One Night Only has the ability to introduce some classic songs to a new audience. If you know someone that hasn't been converted to a Thin Lizzy fan, play them this.
ESSENTIAL FOR: All Thin Lizzy and John Sykes fans.

b a c k t o i n d e x