SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
STYX
STYXWORLD

Snactuary / CMC
Produced by: Young, Loizzo & Gowan

Released: OUT / Website
Closest Relative: Themselves
GENRE: Rock
OVERALL: 75%

  1. Rockin' The Paradise
  2. High Enough
  3. Lorelei
  4. A Criminal Mind
  5. Love Is The Ritual
  6. Boat On The River
  7. Half-Penny
  8. Sing For The Day
  9. Snowblind
  10. Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough
  11. Crystal Ball
  12. Miss America
  13. Come Sail Away

Styx are back with their third live album in 5 years. They have delivered only the one studio album in the same time. Not to mention 2 other hits compilations.
Their last live album, only last year, in conjunction with REO Speedwagon - Arch Allies - was an interesting enough idea, but failed to deliver on concept and expectations.
Why then, would the band expect fans to warm to this release, after the cool response to the last one? Probably because the band thought this one would be a better release. It certainly is, but it still lacks some vital ingredients.
This album is a collection of 'live rarities' from their band's last tour, with the line up including the simply fabulous Lawrence Gowan and Glen Burtnick.
So it isn't really your typical live album, compiling some of the band's more eclectic numbers.
The downside is that once again, this does sound like a compilation, rather than a continuous live recordings. And my pet hate of fading the crowd in and out with track is in action again.
This gives the album no chance to gain any momentum or continuation needed for a free flowing live release.
Being a live rarities release, it shouldn't have to. But after the disappointment of the last live release, you can't help but wish it did.
But that's where my complaints stop. For the track listing and the performances included on this release are far more enjoyable. It is a somewhat more laid back selection of tracks.
It is great to see the new boys getting their chance to shine.
Styxworld contains a great version of Gowan's solo hit A Criminal Mind and also sees Burtnick fronting a solo version of the #1 hit he wrote, Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough. For that track (what there is of it) Burtnick and Shaw share a memorable lead. It just isn't long enough though!
Burtnick also sings lead on the track he did on his last stint with the band in 1990 - Love Is The Ritual. Good track, but I was expecting a little more oomph in that track in particular.
Another small complaint - gee, I know, picky....but High Enough and Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough are only half versions obviously as they were performed, but not full play through of the track.
And that leads me back to my point of a consistent flowing live show. Taking these two tracks out of the context of the full live show has left them sounding a little out of place.
I have to say that listening to Gowan sing Come Sail Away, you have to wonder if they haven't picked the best possible replacement for the irreplaceable Dennis DeYoung. Gowan is awesome and the track goes off as expected!
BOTTOM LINE: So another live album in the can. This one has an interesting selection of songs and is worthy of purchasing just to hear the rarer songs and the new boys get a run.
Styx in their current form have a formidable line up that are clearly putting on great live shows, but in the context of what we have heard on these past 2 live releases, we are yet to get the perfect live record. A double CD set of their live show is the only way to go, but I fear that after 3 live albums in recent times, it may now be too late to ever see that happen.
PRODUCTION: 85% SONGS: 90% VIBE: 60%ATTITUDE: 65%
ESSENTIAL FOR: Long time Styx fans and fans of Gowan and Burtnick.
RECENT DISCOGRAPHY:Paradise Theater . Brave New World . Arch Allies . Styxworld


04/11/04: Pauliewoggers - fozzie@starpower.net
Rating: 72
The hilites of this CD are Love is the Ritual and Half Penny-Two Penny. I agree with the one of the previous reviews in that Everything is Cool should have been included. Rockin the Paradise is just painful listening too because of how Larry Gowen butchered it. It would have been nice to have a full version of High Enough but I might still be disappointed because I don't believe STYX could pull it off better than Tommys old band. What is the deal with Lorelei,.. it was bad on Live at the Rivers Edge as well. They need to stop playing that one and Snowblind. If they do another live collection and you know they will,.. Lets hope they include Borrowed Time with the medley!

18/04/02: Chris - obc150@aol.com
Rating: 90
This new line-up rocks. How can you complain about this album, obviously Styx is just trying to satisfy the fans. If you new Deyoung left the group and you could not accept the new Styx why would you buy the album in the first place and then give it a rating of 10? I miss Dennis two but I do kinda like Gowans more Brian Johnson type voice. So Don't analyze the damn thing to death!

17/10/01: Mike - mikeybear68@hotmail.com
Rating: 70
While the idea of having a Styx live release with the new lineup was a good idea, they needed to leave it as a Styx album to pull it off. As someone who has seem Styx live 3 times in the 2 years, I definately think this release is problematic. The first is that "High Enough" & "Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough" aren't Styx songs & shouldn't be included in this CD. Lawrence Gowan's "A Criminal Mind" is fine only because Styx has already publicy stated they will cover it on their next studio release. Another problem is that there isn't anything from Brave New World on here. Most notably, "Everything is Cool," which I regard as the best track on that CD & the song that Styx started all 3 concerts with. Also, the fact the Styx has released 3 live albums in the last few years with only 1 studio album in between is a problem in itself. So, while they addressed some of the problems from the Arch Allies project with REO Speedwagon, they have created other concerns here. The songs they chose, especially "Half-Penny, Two Penny" & "Snowblind," sounds good & are good choices. They just needed to address the other issues listed above.

03/10/01: koogles - progrocknerd@aol.com
Rating: 60
Strictly optional or for the handicapped component of the Styx fanbase who can't make it out to the live shows. Also for those who are rich/have too much time on their hands. Also for those who really don't like Dennis DeYoung. Or for Gowan fans.

21/08/01: Tim - tryan@precisionfitnessinc.com
Rating: 10
If you want to hear Styx don't get this album -- it's not Styx but rather a band that has a couple of ex-Styx members and plays Styx songs. The production value and sound quality of this live recording is pretty good. But, with the exception of Crystal Ball -- which sounds great -- the rest of the songs are pretty well butchered by this pseudo Styx, especially the ones sung by Gowan. Rockin' the Paradise sounds totally awful! Gowan sounds like a drunk kareoke singer. I keep hearing how great Gowan is but I don't get it. Everything I've heard him sing sounds terrible -- his voice sucks! His voice is either cracking, or he's screaming the words out. He does however sound good on his own song -- Criminal Mind. But he certainly can't sing Styx songs too well. I'd say he's just not well suited to sing the songs he's supposed to be singing in this band, and that's a problem.

13/08/01: Daz - dpreece@tinyworld.co.uk
Rating: 90
Wooooooohooooo the man behind Styx not touring outside America has gone ...yes by that I mean the control freak Dennis'my way or the highway and we chose the highway' Deyoung. Having witnessed my first Styx shows for 20 years in Germany last October this cd prooves that Styx are now a rock band again and not a Deyoung controlled broadway circus....is Deyoung related to Barnum ?..must be or he would not of got ROCK musicians acting out stupid roles in panto like Kilroy Was here....yes folks Styx the rock band are back and I applaud Tommy Jy and Chuck for finally saying to Deyoung ....we dont want to just tour America we want to go round the world...We dont want to be actors we want to rock.....we dont want to play anymore oh baby at home I love you sugarballads....I mean this tour has lasted 2 years now 18 months longer than it would of done if Captain Control was still in Styx........Tommy your god.......Dennis your....well not worthy of a comment other than to say your slippers are by the fire and your pipe is lit....go and enjoy them.

07/08/01: Brian Burgess - brianburgess1
Rating: 25
Nothing like beating a dead horse. Remember when Tommy Shaw whined about his role in Styx when "Paradise Theatre" was released? You can't hear him whining now as it is replaced with the sound of his luxery car rolling off to the bank...Sadly, the once mighty Styx is turning into a lounge act...See you at a casino near you soon.

03/08/01: James Ekart - ek88@alltel.net
Rating: 90
This is a terrific CD, and a must for anyone who has seen the new lineup in concert. If you haven't done so yet, it will be a
little harder to appreciate this latest release. I, like many Styx fans, miss Dennis DeYoung to death, but the facts are: he's
not coming back anytime soon and the new incarnation really tears it up in concert. I would have liked to see more songs
on the CD that hadn't been released before, like Borrowed Time or Lights. And where is Everything Is Cool? What a great
song that opened many a recent show, yet doesn't make an appearance on Styxworld or on Arch Allies. Those are my only
complaints, and minor ones at that. All Styx fans should listen to this CD with an open mind, and if you just can't accept the
post-Dennis version of Styx, go see them in concert, it'll totally change your perspective.

30/07/01: Jason - jsleznek@hotmail.com
Rating: 20
Dennis DeYoung, where are you? Anyone (including the band members) who can claim Styx can go on without Dennis DeYoung just needs to listen to this CD to know the truth. Dennis DeYoung IS Styx. Lawrence Gowan, at his best, sounds like Carole King trying to sound like Dennis DeYoung. At his worst, well...listen to the CD. It should be illegal for him to sing Dennis' songs. While I'm sure Lawrence is a fine keyboardist, he shouldn't try to replace Dennis' keyboarding. Dennis is the best keyboardest I've ever heard. Lawrence can't come close to sounding the same.

As a die-hard Styx fan -- the way it should be -- I've added this to my collection, and it is good to hear some of the older songs (half of "High Enough"???), but if I want to hear Styx, I'll listen to one with Dennis. If you want live Styx, buy "Return to Paradise" instead and enjoy!

25/07/01: Steve - belexes@ticon.net
Rating: 85
A much improved release from the Styx/REO Arch Allies release given the great selection of seldom heard songs along with a few classics thrown in for good measure. Although I had wished they would have thrown on a new studio song from the current lineup. Dennis is Styx history and the band should now use this release as a stepping stone to a new studio CD. Does anyone REALLY miss hearing "Babe" and "Show me the Way" in concert?? The best Styx to me were always the Shaw and Young tunes.

25/07/01: Tim Ash - tlash1@peoplepc.com
Rating: 85
I love this cd! It could have been better with full versions of High Enough and Sometimes Love. I don't mind hearing some of the same songs live again. No, they don't sound the same without Dennis.....they sound better....they rock now! No more wimpy ballads. Gowan is incredible. To appreciate his talent, you need to see him live. I'm looking forward to a studio cd from this version of Styx. Let Dennis sit and pout. He forgot what rock and roll was all about.

20/07/01: TWaz - MrRoboto83@aol.com
Rating: 79
Yes, there are some rare songs on here, but why do we need yet another live recording of Crystal Ball and Miss America, these songs are getting to be played, they sound the same as return to paradise. The new form of STYX is nice, but no where as great as when Dennis DeYoung was with the band, his voice is golden, and you can tell big time if you play "Lady" with Gowan singing, then follow with DeYoung, Dennis takes the cake. COME BACK DENNIS

18/07/01: Elliot Hass - melech7@juno.com
Rating: 10
Pseudo-styx aught to give up using the name Styx. They can form another group and do what they want. I would support that. A few good rarities here but even the rarities do not sound like the Styx I know. I hope we are done with the live albums and that they never record a studio album.

17/07/01: Ed - nuno1996@aol.com
Rating: 80
Yes, STYX HAS ANOTHER LIVE CD OUT. TAKEN FROM SHOWS ALL AROUND THE WORLD, THIS CD IS LIKE THE INSIDE OF A TWINKIE. FILLER, BUT GOOD TASTING FILLER.THE SOLO SONGS ARE A NICE TOUCH FOR DIE HARD STYX FANS. THIS CD ALSO GOES TO SHOW SCEPTICS THAT DENNIS IS GONE AND LAWERENCE IS HERE TO STAY. "STYXWORLD" LIKE "ARCH ALLIES" HAD MUCH MORE ENERGY THAN ANY OTHER STYX LIVE RECORDING. THE PRODUCTION IS RAW, BUT SLICK.

BOTTOM LINE: GREAT FOR DIE HARD FANS, OR FANS NEW TO THE BAND AND WHAT TO HEAR WHAT THEY WILL GET LIVE.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100 please)

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: