SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Stryper Murder By Pride Frontiers Records
FRCD 422
· Produced By: Michael Sweet & Danny Bernini

· Running Time: 50.00

· Release Date: August 28

· Released:

· Musical Style: Hard Rock

· Links: Frontiers
88%
Songs: 90%
Sound: 85%
Prior to this I only owned two Stryper records. In fact, I also own the two Michael Sweet solo records as I think he is a very engaging vocalist. But Stryper were always a little too over the top for me. It was their Against The Law release that got my attention and their comeback album of 2007 – Reborn – was quite something. I viewed it as one of the few older bands that updated their sound with full credibility in tact.
So now I own three Stryper records and I think I have the best 3 of the lot. I think Murder By Pride is a fine record and sees the band retracing old steps without giving up too many of the steps taken forward on the last release. Once again for me the biggest appeal is the voice of Sweet.
This is a pretty diverse record, but I think it ticks all the right boxes to satisfy long time fans of the band.
The opening track Eclipse Of The Son certainly didn't give me a sense that the band were returning to anthem rock – this punk rocker is a little messy and might have been better suited elsewhere within the album.
4 Leaf Clover and Peace Of Mind are more fitting – the latter being a true to form cover of the Boston track featuring guest Tom Scholtz.
Other highlights include the aggressive and contemporary sound of title track Murder By Pride; the mellower and more melodic duo of Run In You and Love Is Why; Alive and I Believe are both very fine ballads – the latter being heavier and the former being more passionate – but both cool tunes.
The closing track My Love My Life My Flame is a haunting piano ballad with another superb vocal.
Elsewhere it's a little give or take….the production here is rougher and rawer than on the Reborn album and the style a little lost between two worlds.
The Bottom Line
A solid album and I have no doubt a welcomed record from long time fans of the band. A little varied in places, but there's no arguing with the performances or the vocals of Sweet. I prefer the Reborn album for its intensity and production quality, but there is still plenty to enjoy again here.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· The Yellow And Black Attack
· Soldiers Under Command
· To Hell With The Devil
· In God We Trust
· Against The Law
· Reborn
· Murder By Pride

Line Up:
· Michael Sweet: Vocals, Guitar
· Oz Fox: Guitars
· Robert Sweet: Drums
· Tracy Ferrie: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· Stryper
· Christian Hard Rock
Track Listing
· Eclipse Of The Son
· 4 Leaf Clover *
· Peace Of Mind *
· Alive *
· The Plan
· Murder By Pride
· I Believe *
· Run In You
· Love Is Why *
· Mercy Over Blame
· Everything
· My Love (I'll Always Show)
· My Love, My Life, My Flame

--*Best Tracks


10/12/09: Danny - images4words@yahoo.ca
Rating: 35
Sorry Guys but this is a big disapointment the songs are lame and the production is very weak. Was hoping to get Styper from the Glory Days. If you want a great cd check out the new Danger Danger or House of Lords. Now thats a bang for you buck!

04/12/09: DAVID - FROGLEGS100@HOTMAIL.COM
Rating: 79
NOT A GREAT CD, BUT NOT BAD EITHER. GREAT MUSICIANSHIP AND MICHAEL SWEET'S VOCALS ARE AS FLAWLESS AS EVER, BUT THERE IS SOMETHING I WAS LOOKING FOR THAT HASN'T BEEN ON THE LAST TWO CDS, JOY! SOUNDS FUNNY BUT THERE WERE SONGS ON THE OLDER CDS THAT JUST LIFTED ME UP WITH THEIR SKYROCKETING CHORUS. ON ITS OWN, THIS CD PROBABLY GETS A HIGHER RATING, BUT FOR ME, THE PAST IS PART OF HOW I LOOK AT THE PRESENT. HIGHLIGHTS INCLUDE "ECLIPSE OF THE SUN", "MERCY OVER BLAME", AND "FOUR LEAF CLOVER." I DO HAVE TO ADMIT, I LOVE THE RE-IMAGINING OF AN OLD STRYPER SONG ON EACH OF CD!

04/12/09: Roberto - ROBERTOBORGES1972@HOTMAIL.COM
Rating: 90
Another GREAT release. This is the best year for Hard Rock fans in the decade.
My Favourites 2009 releases :
1- Winger
2- Danger Danger
3- Stryper
4- Lynch Mob
5- Enuff Znuff
6- House Of Lords

04/11/09: Nando - luiztremante@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
This is simply STRYPER !! I really cant understand how people could possibily think Reborn could be in any sense better then this one. Production wise only......
This is what a true fan could expect from a band coming back !!A must buy for any Stryper fan!!! wowow!!!!

21/10/09: Rian - edguyrocks@yahoo.com
Rating: 65
I agree that it is better than Reborn...by a lot. But, this album does grow on you a bit. When I first listened to it all the way through, I was disappointed, but further listens upgraded it to average.

15/10/09: leo - paradisecitymusic@gmail.com
Rating: 80
ok. michael's wife just passed and was in the hospital with cancer while recording most of this. so he did what he had to do. definately not as good as reborn, but still a strong effort. god bless them!

13/10/09: Kevin - kbill@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
One of my favorite bands ever. For me this CD is a return to form. Michael Sweet what a talent! Please buy.
Rocking for the One!

16/09/09: Darkelf - sswan1@mts.net
Rating: 95
Nice progression from Reborn. The songs are more memorable and I love the guitar harmonies and of course Michael Sweet's fantastic screams. "Murder by Pride" is the best song on the album and probably the heaviest. The opening track doesn't really sound like Stryper and for some reason the sound on it doesn't compare to the rest of the disc.

27/08/09: Blais-sabbath - boulot-vert@hotmail.com
Rating: 95
The best Stryper since "In god we trust" and one of the best hardrock albums of 2009!!! Stryper is back and really reborn!

25/08/09: Darren - kissgodz@hotmail.com
Rating: 60
Hmm...blows the hell out of REBORN, but still just an avge release to me. NOWHERE near the quality of THWTH or IGWT. Thats the best of Stryper. Some songs are good but its a pretty forgetable cd to me. Pity, coz i wanted to really enjoy it.

22/08/09: Mike Singe - mikesinge@gmail.com
Rating: 94
At first I was excited about the reunion but Reborn was a bit of a disappointment mostly because of the dark and moody songs.
This CD however can easily match with Soldiers and To Hell, my favourite Stryper albums.
Welcome back Stryper!

22/08/09: Mike - klrgitr@hotmail.com
Rating: 98
I can't stand the Reborn album It's horrible. But Murder by Pride is great!!! I especially dig the title track. I have to crank it!! This is a great album!!!! STRYPER IS BACK!!!!

21/08/09: The Carl - kidego71@comcast.net
Rating: 95
Not much else to say except STRYPERS BACK!! This CD has it all...vocals, guitars, lyrics..you name it, its here. Im sure it doesnt exactly break new ground, but thats a GOOD THING (take note Bon Jovi) This is what the fans wanted, and what we got...still the Stryper of old mixed with a modern touch. To me its fits perfectly after ATL. I liked Reborn, but MBP is worlds above it in every way.

21/08/09: Ante - antegrab@hotmail.com
Rating: 7
I liked Reborn but I have already played this CD more than Reborn. I can't get 4 Leaf Clover out of my head. Please tour Australia again Stryper a visit is way overdue. I still prefer To Hell With the Devil Though but respect this as part of Stryper's growing collection. Keep it coming Michael and gang.

21/08/09: Steve - roknroseville@yahoo.com
Rating: 70
decent i don't think i'd listen to it again though...

21/08/09: basel - baselyus1@yahoo.com
Rating: 0
i did not listen to the album yet but i wanna say that reborn was one of stryper worst cds the best stryper cd ever is in god we trust

21/08/09: RockMan - purjfo98@aol.com
Rating: 93
I think Andrews review of this is way to thin and should come from somone a little more familiar with their recordings. It respected many more lines of accolades, IMO. To put a recording together with this many layers of vocals and guitars is extremely time consuming. The songs on this disc are very memorable, catchy and the musicianship is fantastic. Like all good music, it keeps getting better listen after listen. 93/100

21/08/09: Jeramie - jercar2004@msn.com
Rating: 100
hey I disagree I Think this cd is way better than Reborn , in which I did like Reborn its a killer cd as well More like his solo But I like them as well . I think this cd is a mix the best of both forward You still move forward But at the sane Time They are paying a visit to the roots as well and also Moving on as a artist You can only write a song once and rewriting the same thing over and over is boring So all In all this cd hasnt came out of my player yet except to throw in more by Them . So do your self a favor Get this and turn it up
My vote this is the best yet of all their releases

21/08/09: Timmyd - timmy5ton@gmail.com
Rating: 90
What can you say?? Michael Sweet and Co. are in excellent form, a very well thought out and written record musically and lyricly, these guys have kept it fresh and relevant, and this dude can flat out sing.

21/08/09: Adrien - adrien_lacroix@hotmail.com
Rating: 95
Excellent cd by a excellent band.... Bon Jovi should listen to this cd.... By the way if you have the chance buy the cd and go see them on tour....

www.myspace.com/lacroixband

21/08/09: Donald salerno - dsalerno777@yahoo.com
Rating: 95
Styper is finally back! This CD should have been the follow up to To Hell with the Devil, but the band needed a few years of maturity from the ups and downs of life to write such a strong CD. Murder by Pride combines the raw edge of Against The Law with the harmonies they are known for. The writing is truly exeptional with Sweet putting out some of his most thoughtful lyrics to date. Thrown in for good measure are the dueling Fox/Sweet gutiar solos and a Micheal Sweet scream in all the right places. If you listen closely there are many hints of the prior classic Stryper stuff along with some new hooks and harmonies that make this a stand out CD. Reborn was the stepping stone needed to shake off the dust and give themselves the platform to put out this exceptional album. I hope this is not the last we hear from this great band as its evident thier best stuff may be yet to come.

21/08/09: Stephen - farrarsm@yahoo.com
Rating: 87
For me, this Stryper record is very enjoyable; it does rank in my top 5 from their output. It won't gain them a lot of new converts - seriously, if people didn't like Stryper back in the heyday of the 80's, they're not going to like them now - but they garner a lot of respect for the fact that they've still got the chops to pull off great vocals, hot guitar riffs and licks, and solid songwriting. If anyone on the street asked my opinion for this record, I'd recommend it to them in a hearbeat.

20/08/09: Jimmy Beach - canihaveurtots@hotmail.com
Rating: 89
I have been a Stryper fan since the yellow and black attack and I was really looking forward to this CD expecially after reading they were going back to the roots of the twin guitar leads and screaming vocals , so after I put the CD in and the 1st song comes on I'm like what is that ? it was good dont get me wrong, just a lil different. This is a really good CD all the songs are very good but it's not a Soldiers under command or to hell with the devil cd , they are getting older and guess their mellowing a lil. I thought Re born was good too... this CD is worth a purchase , Wal Mart has it for like 9 bucks ...

20/08/09: Damir - dampyrkusitch@yahoo.com
Rating: 88
.....i Think Andrew vote is ok. Very good record but not as good as Reborn but stil worth to buy.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: