SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Sammy Hagar Hallelujah (Live) Sanctuary
Produced By: Sammy Hagar

Running Time: 78.50

Release Date: May 20

Released: US

Musical Style: Hard Rock

Links: Sammy Hagar
80%
Songs: 90%
Sound: 65%
Much like Sammy's last studio album Not For Sale, this greatest hits live package, recorded on the Sam & Dave show, is as raw as dogs balls.
The last album contained some great songs, but was pretty raw and this live recording is a perfect companion to it. The recording is totally devoid of overdubs (something I always appreciate), but does sound like it was recorded on a budget.
Sonically I've heard better - even some bootlegs I've got are better recorded - the problem here being that this just sounds too loud in places and a little distorted. The sound may be rough, but at least it's in your face and clear enough.
But those small issues aside, this album rocks! The track listing is first rate, covering the best of recent and classic Sammy, plus adding the very excellent benefits of guest appearances from Michael Anthony and Gary Cherone.
It's great to hear Anthony and Hagar together again, the VH bass players high pitch backing vocals unmistakable.
Another factor in this album's favor is although it's record in several venues, the album still flows pretty well.
The Bottom Line
Good performances, good vibes and great songs. Pretty much all that is required, with only a sonic annoyances getting in the way of a classic live album. Definitely for fans, possibly for others too.
Recent Discography / Previously Reviewed
Marching To Mars
Red Voodoo
Ten 13
Not For Sale
Hallelujah

Line Up
Sammy Hagar: Vocals
Victor Johnson: Guitar
David Lauser: Drums
Mona, Michael Anthony: Bass
Jesse Harms: Keyboards

Essential for fans of:
Sammy Hagar
Van Hagar
Track Listing
Shaka Doobie
3 Lock Box
One Way To Rock *
Give To Live
Top Of The World
Deeper Kind Of Love
Why Can't This Be Love *
Eagles Fly *
Little White Lie
Rock Candy
I Can't Drive 55
Mas Tequila
Heavy Metal
When It's Love *
Right Now
Dreams *
Hallelujah
--*Best Tracks


19/04/07: Jeff - darthmaher@gmail.com
Rating: 95
A slight departure from the usual sound of the Red Rocker, but this album seems to be his most personal. I would have preferred more rockers, but this strikes me more like a concept album so I'm not disappointed too much.

29/11/06: gravy - harleyfxd03@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
My rating says it all.

21/11/06: Arney - daveandmel@kooee.com.au
Rating: 92
Love this release by Sammy. Sure its not the heaviest thing his done but it does contain well written catchy as hell songs that make you want to sing along. Talk about a feel good album.

10/11/06: Nicodim - reverendnicorim@gmail.com
Rating: 90
Another great work from Sammy! He as great as he must be. He's never stop and always go forward. But his music still full of magic and his voice is full of emotions. It's a great positive CD and the atmosphere of the album makes me feel much better when I listenin' 2 it. Just like the troubles go away - it's a party time, so let's have fun! ))

10/11/06: Laurent - jazzhard@hotmai.com
Rating: 90
Sammy is the only reason I ever got into Van Halen. He's a songwriter and they badly needed it in my humble opinion. The guy is an amazing rock singer and I like his attitude. This record is slightly different as it includes some nice country influences. This is a great "put a huge smile on your face" type of records. It is more varied than his previous solo stuff - except Marching To Mars which to me is his musical masterpiece - and just by looking at the artwork you know what you're gonna get. And the guy is one of the best live rock singer I've ever heard. Great album.

25/10/03: Adam Champ - assdc62@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
LOVE SAMMY LIVE. SEE HIM IN CABO! GREAT STUFF. However, the only complaint I have on this is I wish groups would put a non-cut concert on CD. No Breaks. The Crowd is a big part of a live CD. The best one lately is Iron Maiden in Rio....It is like you are there in the crowd. I was hoping Sammy's live CD would be the same. Oh well!

12/09/03: Adam - cabotime@netzero.net
Rating: 90
This is a CD for the HAGAR collector. If you saw him live or if you live in St. Louis this is a GREAT souvenier. If you wanna buy a Sammy CD, pick up his last one NOT FOR SALE. That was an AMAZING CD!!

12/06/03: Rob - robert.armson@bt.com
Rating: 95
I agree with future villian. There are a few older tracks I would have liked to hear but as Sammy states in the sleeve notes he hopes to release an extended version possibly a three-cd set. This will hopefully happen and satisfy everyones favourite choices.

12/06/03: FutureVillian - FUTUREVILLIAN2002@YAHOO.COM
Rating: 95
This album rocks!!! I've seen Sammy may times pre, during and post Van Halen and this live album captures the energy of a Sammy show. The mix may not be perfect but that the way Sammy wanted it. if you close your eyes while listening to this cd you feel like you are on behind the stage riser with Sammy and the Wabo's. The only thing missing to get the true feel is the waitress pouring you a Waborita during "Mas Tequila" The only draw back is that it is heavy on Van Hagar tunes. Sammy has such a large catalog of solo material there were many live Gems that were not included such as "I'll Fall in Love Again".


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: