SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Rick Springfield
Shock Denial Anger Acceptance
Gomer Records
gomer99999
· Produced By: Rick Springfield

· Running Time: 48.41

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released: US

· Musical Style: Modern Melodic Rock

· Links: Rick Springfield SDAA Site
93%
Songs: 96%
Sound: 88%
Rick Springfield returns with a brand new studio recording that sees him in new territory, both as a performer and an artist. The ten year break between Rock Of Life and Karma has been halved, but this time Rick is on his own, facing the challenges of releasing an album independently and having to deal with everything that entails.
On Shock Denial Anger Acceptance - as he has done on previous outings - Rick again invites the listener to ride along with him through an emotional roller coaster ride, on this occasion more often than not touching on the Anger portion of the album's title.
As the title suggests, the album deals with four different emotions and it remains up to the listener what exactly they take from this 48 minute journey.
And it's a wild ride. I think the album has been put together in an interesting fashion. There are no gaps at all between many of the songs – instead relying on short segway's into the following tracks. It makes for an interesting listen and like I said - a wild ride.
There's no other way to put it – this album rocks hard and packs an emotional punch.
But that should be no surprise to fans. Rick is no stranger to emotional, confrontational and introspective lyric writing. Rick's key appeal is his ability to involve the listener in his own angst, with his music at times written and recorded for himself as much as those that buy the records.
Even in his most early days during the 70's, his lyrics defied the expected boundaries placed upon pop artists. There were some lighter moments that would find their way onto albums, but there has always been a dark streak to his music.
That dark streak and the emotional impact of his songs has gained him a lot of respect and half the enjoyment of albums like Living In Oz, Tao, Rock Of Life and Karma has been the analyzing of lyrics.
That's something that is slightly missing on SDAA. The directness of the lyrics and the forthright nature of their delivery haven't left anything to the imagination.
Previously Rick has woven his angst in and around his music, this time he throws it right in the listeners face and it can be a little off-putting at times. The emotional impact is still there – but the searching and lasting depth is not.
Still, few artists are capable of what has been placed on record here. Few artists can nail such charged emotions and channel it into their music and no one comes close to the lyrical depth penned by Springfield.
This is a great album – but it's not quite a classic.
A few points to make – I don't think the album flows as well as it could have, given a different running order of the songs. I also don't think it's a totally cohesive body of work, with variances in sound and production quality throughout.
Karma's only downside (besides some saying it didn't rock enough), was the changing styles within, being that the tracks were written/sourced over that massive 10 year gap between records.
s/d/a/a is much the same – but shouldn't have been. The sonic changes between tracks doesn't not assist the flow of the overall album.
There are a few tracks here that I would rate as some of Rick's very best ever – some truly amazing songs. But there are also a few tracks I could live without and ones that might have better been saved for the Limited Edition version. The album itself seems to be in two parts – simple and hard rocking to open, a mid album break that some could possibly live without, and the second half that's clearly more experimental and rewards long time fans with some very intelligent songwriting.
Read through the track by track comments for further detail on these issues.
The other issue I have with the album is the length of the songs. A good song is not necessarily one of length, but all too often while listening to the new tracks I feel that they are over before they had run their course. It is almost as if there was still more that could be said. The album takes listeners through 15 tracks (+2 short fillers), yet it is over in just 48 minutes.
A couple of tracks run just two and a half minutes, which is a clear rebellion - but against what I am not sure. Rick has never been famous for long songs, but at 2.5 minutes, there's at least 1 minute and a good chorus or two missing from several tracks.
Track By Track:
Perfect is the right word for this opening track, it sets the tone of the album with a simple guitar riff and a pounding beat. The vocals are unmistakably Rick and the angst is expressed through some frustrated lyrics. The music is somewhat loose and very raw compared to the Rick of past, but the song still contains a couple of neat production effects and tricks.
I'll Make You Happy is a cover of Aussie 60's icons The Easybeats. They remain one of the most important bands of this countries musical heritage and a huge influence over Rick's early career. Sadly I am not a big fan of this song, although it's really given a thorough workout here. Rick modernizes it with some fuzz-tone guitars, a sonic wall of energy and some screaming vocals. But with so many tracks on offer on s/d/a/a, why a cover tune as the second track? I would have left this for the very end of the album or even relegate it to the Limited Edition version. I don't think the song fits the flow or style of the album.
Will I? is a melodic rock gem. This will be one of the select tracks in the running for song of the year. It's Rick, but it's updated and it contains some fantastic heartfelt lyrics and one of the best guitar driven chorus hook's to bless my ears in a long time.
After a short interlude another hard edged rocker kicks in. God Gave You To Everyone features a tough, hard rocking riff and another raw and direct lead vocal.
More introspective and in your face lyrics flow into a chorus which isn't one of my favourites – it's a little simple. And at 2.5 minutes it feel incomplete.
One of Rick's most straight forward and hardest rock tunes ever is Idontwantanythingfromyou. This is an infectious live, in your face rocker with a guitar riff you'll never forget. More spiteful lyrics flow – in fact they are some of the most direct lyrics presented by Rick and the way the song gathers pace in quick time before launching into a keyboard bridge is perfect accompaniment to the direct and over the top chorus. Synth fills beneath the surface add texture to the song, but it's Rick's raw, energetic vocal that rules the song.
Then it's straight into another segway, a curious little ditty that launches into one of the most sonically heavy tracks of the album - Jesus Saves. I have a love hate thing going with this track. I love the intro and I love the intricate verse and the layers of synth/programming that makes the song so lush with instrumentation, but I'm not as sold on the chorus.
I don't know about everyone else, but I don't really need to hear Rick singing about white trash and his obsession with trailer parks runs through several tracks on the album!
I love the lyrics in general and the raw emotional way they are delivered, but the chorus doesn't knock me out and I'm not sure the whole tuned down guitar thing suits Rick's naturally poppy style.
With barely time to catch your breath, Beautiful You kicks in. This is another interesting track. It lightens up the tone of the album a little and is more in keeping with the nature of Karma, but is presented in a more contemporary modern pop setting. Something new for Rick that actually works pretty well, especially with the memorable chorus.
Wasted reverts back to the raw, live in the studio production feel. The guitars come through thick and loud, but the pace is a little more laid back. The lyrics are nothing short of fantastic and highlight Rick at his best – storytelling. And the vibe of the track is that of Rick of old, but with that updated hard edged feel of the album in general.
Most importantly, it's one of the most natural Rick vocals on the album. It's only on a few tracks we here the unfiltered, unforced natural voice control the song and that's the very case here.
Shoot Your Guru is where the album loses it's way a little. It marks a significant point in the album, as it marks a half way mark where the songs before it don't necessarily mark those that come after it. The track itself is only a 1 minute acoustic instrumental and would have been better shortened and remained as a segway rather than a separate track.
Alien Virus continues the mid-album break. This is a two and a bit minute blues number that sounds like it was recorded in one take. It's actually very cool in it's own way, Rick's vocal is really raw and was obviously recorded without the aid of overdubs. But the song doesn't really fit on the album and together with the slow acoustic ballad Angels Of The Disappeared really does break the momentum in the album. I love Angels..., but paired with two other short acoustic tracks doesn't appear to be well placed.
Eden marks the start of the second half of the album. In all honestly I think I prefer the second half of the album as it's a more natural Rick in play. Eden is a really cool, high-tech slow to mid-tempo pop song with plenty of synth, programming and drum loops driving it. The guitar plays a supplementary role in this case. Eden could easily have fitting on Rock Of Life or Karma. I'd be interested to learn when it was actually written.
The Invisible Girl kicks things into high gear again, being a feel good pop rocker with plenty of acoustic and electric guitars jangling along. The chorus is pure Rick Springfield, taking in the best attributes of Karma and his general knack for writing catchy pop songs.
My Depression – wow where do I start? Basically I had this song pegged as song of the year, as I have had the demo since the release of Karma and have rated it as one of Rick's best ever songs. But I am disappointed with the way it has been presented here and feel as if it has lost some of its charm.
The song itself remains one of Rick's best and most personal lyrics ever. In fact, it's one of the best lyrics ever, period. Chronicling the story of his life so far, the song starts as he was growing up and runs through to present day. In between is a monster chorus that questions it all. Wonderful stuff. In its current form the song remains one of the most original of Rick's career, but a little magic from the original demo is gone.
What was a feel good pop rocker with a fair pace is now a mid-tempo track with an overbearing modern rock riff and some of the lyrics buried in unnecessary vocal effects and supported by a guitar rhythm that is more calypso than rock. And why was a killer guitar solo cut short and buried beneath a heavily detuned, overbearing riff? Never mind, it remains a classic, but not song of the year.
From that small disappointment to Your Psychopathic Mother – a song I can't speak highly enough of. This is pure songwriting genius and is another highly original moment for Rick. The chorus is sparse, featuring subtle guitars that build up the tempo and a lead vocal that is honest, raw and emotional. Then the chorus – this came from nowhere and is seriously one of the best anthems of Rick's career. Filled with a hard rock guitar riff that doesn't dominate and another lead riff that lies beneath, the song has true depth. The vocal hook sends it right over the top. But I am somewhat disappointed again. At 2.5 minutes the song finishes suddenly and blesses us with only 2 choruses. It would have been no extra paid to add another chorus or two and a bridge between them. Minor point – it's still a classic.
And proving that the most original and experimental tracks are featured on the second half of the album Every Night I Wake Up Screaming comes along to blow long time fans away. This track starts with a simple piano sound, a drum loop and a light weight guitar riff that is in standing with change of direction over the last few tracks of the album.
Kick to another raw and emotional vocal and a heavier guitar riff while the song builds tension. Then a big riff, a heavy synth vocal and that chorus – the angst ridden modern rock monster. This is possibly the most intense and modern rock influenced track of the album that is rich with production effects and reminds me of the programming effects of Tao, expect with a seriously modernized sound.
For metal heads it reminds me of the approach to sound employed by Kee Marcello on his latest album Melon Demon Divine. All in all a wonderful addition to the catalogue of Rick songs and a great way to end the album – almost.
Open My Eyes in fact ends the album. This is another reminder of the Tao influence as it runs only just over 1 minute as a soulful and introspective way to close the album. It's almost like Rick is winding down the listener with this simple track – giving you something to think about after the roller coaster comes to an end.
The Bottom Line
And that folks is the ride completed. Like many I'll start the ride over again, as it's just over too quickly. Some parts I love, some I enjoy because I can see where they are leading and some I wish were a little different.
But all said and done, it's another great album from Rick that sees him repaying fans waiting to hear him rock again. Personally I felt that Karma is still a better record, being that there's a little more depth to it. s/d/a/a is in your face and is a good alternative if you want to crank things up.
I believe a lot of fans will love this purely because of the hard rocking factor, but some may be disappointed in the updated style or the loose, raw production style employed on several tracks. The album might have been improved further by dropping 2 or 3 tracks and revising the running order.
Minor points, it will still be one of my favourites from 2004.

The Limited Edition
For fans that must have it all there is also the opportunity to purchase a Limited Edition version of the album.
I think this is a great idea and I applaud the concept and suggest other bands take a look at similar options. However, I have several problems with this particular Limited Edition and a couple of other things that have been done.
The LE version retails at US$90. Being a die-hard fan I paid for this and therefore think as a consumer as well as a critic I am qualified to comment.
The extra's set features 2 bonus discs – one audio and one DVD.
The audio bonus CD contains rare and unreleased tracks. It really depends on your outlook as to what value these extra's hold. But personally I think $90 is overpriced. A price tag of around $50 might have been more fitting and more respectful to the fans.
Audio CD:
Love Screws Me Up is one of three unreleased tracks from the Karma sessions, which for me is the main value of this package. Unreleased tracks are the true gold that long time fans strike to collect.
And this one is a beauty. It doesn't really fit the persona of the Karma album – it's a high-tech, feel-good pop rocker that's more along the lines of Sahara Snow, yet it does feature the same guitar tone as featured on several tracks from Karma.
Revolution Day is another unreleased Karma gem. This is a stripped back, acoustic driven pop rocker you should all know already. Yep, listen carefully - this song is a prototype of what would become Beautiful Prize. This track, with completely different lyrics is equally uplifting and features a great sing-along chorus. This demo is in the same musical style that the original Karma demos were recorded in.
Rhythm of Love is an unreleased track from 1988. Its one track I already had, but for others, it's another cool addition and is a very smooth and sultry pop rocker. It's something a little different for Rick and that's why I think it's a cool addition.
Her Body Makes Vows is a third unreleased track from the Karma sessions. Another gem of course. This is another high-tech Sahara Snow style track with a moody heart and a mellow tone. Not as sonically clear sound wise as the first two Karma off-cuts, which is disappointing, but still cool.
Next up is the track that was promised to be a special feature of the Alive DVD only. Yes, it's a different version, with all new musical accompaniments, but it's no longer the promised exclusive from that DVD is it? And for the record, I believe the DVD version is better.
When You Dream, Rhythm of the Beat and Forever are all tracks from Rick's EFX Alive show. Nice tracks, very cool – especially for fans of the show. Not essential for the fans of the harder edge Rick as these are very much Broadway/show style tunes, but cool nevertheless.
However – should there be a full CD release of the EFX show at a later date – these tracks will be no added bonus.
Next up are some of Rick's original demos. Following the Alive Greatest Hits LE idea of including bonus demos, Rick has included the original home demos of Rock of Life (from 1986), Affair Of The Heart and Souls (from 1982) and Don't Talk to Strangers (from 1981). Again, cool for some, and an always interesting insight into the foundation of what would come. Rock Of Life is of particular interest – hearing it helps bridge the gap between Tao and Rock Of Life the album.
Personally, I would have found greater value in more unreleased tracks. There are still plenty hidden away that could have been featured here.
Poison Pen is billed as an unreleased demo from Success Hasn't Spoilt Me Yet. Now we're talking! It's a track with a cool concept too, but wait…the track is only 1 minute long!! Major disappointment folks.
Next up is the track American Girls – recorded for the unreleased 1974 Springfield album. This version is recorded live from LA's Troubadour club in '74. Ok version that includes a little dialogue from a very Australian sounding Rick, a nice archive track.
Following that is two tracks from that unreleased Springfield album - Fire Brigade and Sweet Teaser. Ok for die hard fans – especially as this album is a very good example of mature 70's pop with a noticeable dash of angst.
An alternative mix of the s/d/a/a single Will I? rounds out the disc. This is a more acoustic driven version that is designed to have less impact to appeal to the old folk in radio. I prefer the original.
Overall, this is an interesting collection of songs, and is fairly good value, but given the fact there are more unreleased tracks in the vaults, it could have been even better.
And if other archive or Internet releases follow in the future, the price paid for this set could definitely fall in value.
Still unreleased tracks that I am aware of include Religion Of The Heart (alternative lyrics), Edge Of The World (a classic now covered by two other artists), Haven't I Been Good, Hey Eileen, Monkey (another Sahara Snow outtake) and not to mention that killer original demo of My Depression.
Included as a bonus to the actual s/d/a/a album is another version of the excellent EFX Alive ballad Forever. It's a great track that might have given the regular version of the album a little more balance. Nice to have it included here.
The DVD:
This includes a Making of SDAA Interview, which is interesting in itself –always great to hear Rick talk. Also included is a rather pointless High Tide trailer.
The very special surprise is video clips of three tracks from the EFX Alive show. But once again the value of this bonus will be quickly eroded, as news of a full DVD release of the show scrolls across the screen at the end.
The booklet contains all the much wanted lyrics for s/d/a/a. But this is another area of contention, as lyrics were promised to be placed online when the regular version of the album was released. But the rules were changed and now they are only available in full via this method, which I don't view as fair.

The LE must be approached with caution and the cost must quickly be forgotten as more enjoyment will come from the set if that isn't considered.
For the price I would have liked to have seen more offered, with the three unreleased Karma tracks the only songs that will remain on high rotation once the rest of the set has been delved into.

90% for the LE version - one point for every dollar spent.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Beginnings
· Comic Book Heroes
· Springfield
· Mission Magic
· Wait For Night
· Beautiful Feelings
· Working Class Dog
· Sucess hasn't Spoilt Me Yet
· Living In Oz
· Hard To Hold
· Tao
· Rock Of Life
· Sahara Snow
· Karma
· Alive - The Greatest Hits
· Shock Denial Anger Acceptance

Line Up
· Rick Springfield: Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Backing Vocals, Drum Loops
· Roger Carter: Drums, Acoustic Drum Loops
· Matt Bissonette: Bass, Backing Vocals
· Derek Hilland: Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Essential for fans of:
· Rick Springfield
Track Listing
· Perfect*
· I'll Make You Happy
· Will I?*
· God Gave You To Everyone
· Idontwantanythingfromyou*
· Jesus Saves
· Beautiful You
· Wasted*
· Shoot Your Guru
· Alien Virus
· Angels Of The Disappeared
· Eden
· The Invisible Girl*
· My Depression*
· Your Psychopathic Mother*
· Every Night I wake Up Screaming*
· Open My Eyes

--*Best Tracks


26/06/05: Shaykespeeer - Shaykespeeer@hotmail.com
Rating: 92
This is an excellent disc! I don't know why some people get stuck on comparing an artists latest release to their previous efforts. These days there are many ways to preview some or all of the tracks off a new album before purchasing so there should be no major surprises the first time you throw a CD on. It is what it is and it isn't always the same as the last. How long can an artist keep interested in doing the same thing over and over? I'd rather hear something new every time, not to say that I want to hear Rick sing Johnny Cash tunes, but I like how he's spread his wings on this album.

By the way, if you're looking for some unique and interesting hard rock, check out "Freak Kitchen". Unusual name, original rock!

30/08/04: Lindy - rickwiched@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
This cd rocks! First time through I was not impressed...not because it isn't a great cd, just because it was so different from what I expected. 2nd time through hooked me. Absolutely love: Will I, Invisible Girl, Wasted, Perfect, I'll Make You Happy and I Don't Want Anything from You. OH, and Jesus Saves is awesome LIVE! Rick has proven himself again. Too bad the rest of the world doesn't notice!

20/07/04: Alistair - alistairc_2000@yahoo.co.uk
Rating: 100
This is superb and very much a return to form from the master. If you do not like it play it a couple of times and you will just really get into it. It is always a special time when RS releases something and this is not excpetion. What are you waiting for go and buy this album.

19/06/04: JS - firehockey15@aol.com
Rating: 95
AWESOME! GREAT EMOTION, YOU CAN FEEL IT FROM START OT FINISH. THIS IS THE ALBUM HE SHOULD'VE DONE YEARS AGO. CRUNCHING GUITARS, HAMMERING DRUMS. GREAT SONGWRITING, HOOKS AND RHYTHM. GOOD SOUND IN TODAYS ROCK WORLD. TOO BAD RADIO/VIDEO STATIONS WONT EMBRASE IT. IT'S NOT THE R.S. OF OLD IT'S THE R.S. OF TODAY. "JESSIE GIRL" IS A GOOD SONG BUT WOULDN'T CUT IT TODAY, THESE SONGS DO. FOR THOSE OF YOU THAT DONT LIKE THIS ALBUM THERE IS HOPE FOR YOU...BARRY MANILOW, ENYA, CELINE DION, OZZY...OH THAT LAST ONE IS FOR THOSE WHO LIKE TO ROCK. THIS ALBUM ROCKS!

26/05/04: chewsmoka - chewsmoka@yahoo.com
Rating: 20
So bad it makes "Karma" look like a masterpiece, and the only reason I didn't give it a 0 is the only good song on here "Beautiful You", and that sounds like it's right off "Karma" too! Rick, I have always loved your work but trying to sound like a lost link between Blink 182 and every other cookie cutter power punk band isn't you, get over your mid-life crisis please or retire

19/05/04: Niall - niall.davidson@ntlworld.com
Rating: 99
This is just a great album which contains a variety of styles, each of which Rick excels at. I personally like every track but my favourites are Perfect, I don't want anythinf from you & Everynight I wake up screaming. Buy this album and you will not be disappointed. Rick is back big time. *********

09/05/04: Floppy - none@rightnow.com
Rating: 95
The best album ever made for me is NEWMAN - Signs of times, not a single past or present album will top that ..but guess i just gotta wait and see.

RICK SPRINGFIELD album , i download it completely off an FTP, 17 songs...14 are awesome / 3 are below-average.

1 - Perfect = 9/10
2 - ill make you happy = 8/10 (refrain sticks in head!!)
3 - Will I = 9/10
4 - God Gave You to everyone = 8/10
5 - I don't want anything from you = 7/10
6 - Jesus Saves = 5/10
7 = Beautiful You = 9/10
8 = Wasted = 9/10 (very def-leppardish)
9 - Shoot Your Guru = no score (but cool)
10 - Alien Virus = 2/10
11 - Angels Of The Desappear = 7/10 (an OK ballad)
12 - Eden = 7/10 (reminds me of THE VERVE)
13 - Invisible Girl = 8/10
14 - My Depression = 5/10
15 - Your Psychopathic Mother = 200 /10 !!!!! THE BEST!!
16 - Every night I wake Up = 100 /10 !!!! The BEST II
17 - Open My Eyes = Closed my eyes ...0/0......HAHAHA...really.

after that i went and bought the album, overall i give 95% score to this album and when i love an album i buy it to support artists that deserves...nough' said. :)

i'd buy all CD's of NEWMAN - SIGNS OF MODERN TIMES in every shop around the world to support them.

RICK SPRINGFIELD NEW ALBUM DESERVES YOU MONEY and THE TRACKS ARE GREAT, a little gem if you exclude ALIEN VIRUS + OPEN MY EYES songs.

so go buy it now , you'll love it..and you're girlfriend will hate you *GRIN*
----------------


04/05/04: Mike Bruce - michael@bruce69.fsnet.co.uk
Rating: 9
LOVE this album....not a fan of Rick Springfield until this album.... Will I and Every Night I wake Up Screaming stand out for me. Great sounds and production make this the perferct CD to put in your car and turn it up to 10 !!! A favourite of mine already. Thanks Rick... Can we have some more soon....

02/05/04: Andy Hawes - andy.sixstring@ntlworld.com
Rating: 90
Interesting album, this!! One for open-minded ROCK MUSIC fans as opposed to just AOR/Melodic Rock fans, I guess.
Comparisons with previous work? Well, I actually really liked the songs on Karma. They were well written, had interesting melodies and production. I just thought that they were spoiled by the (not very well played) country-blues slide guitar parts everywhere!! Fortunately, there's none of that on SDAA!! This ROCKS!!!
I can understand why some folk don't like this album. Some of it is just so loud, heavy and angry...not anything like 'Living In Oz', etc....but then it's MEANT to be. You can't write about emotions like shock or anger and fit them into a pretty major key AOR soundscape. It doesn't work!! 'My Depression' is a case in point. In Andrew's review, he mentions the original demo being 'feel-good pop-rock'. Well, the lyrics aren't really very 'feel-good', so the darker production is obviously part of the deal. I really rate that track, by the way...Very powerful! Having said that, I still mainly prefer the less angry sounding songs. At the moment, 'Invisible Girl' and 'Will I' are buzzing round my head and won't let go... Of the louder, heavier tracks, 'IDon'tWantAnythingFromYou' is my current fave. Weakest track? 'Alien Virus' without a doubt.
So, to wrap this up. It is as Andrew implied, an album of two halves. Yes, some tracks are too short, some sound very 'modern' and heavy. Some tracks have irresistable hooks and more 'classic' rock structure. At the end of the day, it's just an excellent release that shows Rick's class as a songwriter and producer. I just wish we could get to see these songs played live, cos I get the feeling that'll be where they truly shine. Unfortunately, I live in the UK, so no chance!! If you live in the States and get to see some shows, drop me an email and let me know how they sound!
Oh, one more thing... The Limited Edition version? Not worth the money really. The DVD interview is great, but the sound quality on some of the demos is poor (I actually have to play the entire album on my PC as the overall sound level is too much for my rather ancient stereo...)

02/05/04: jon fletcher - musicnut71@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
I really dig this album. And for a number of reasons. REASON #1: The songs are very personal and seem to be directed at a cheating spouse (I went through that myself); REASON #2: These are some of the best hard and heavy riffs I've heard Rick do, nice aggression; REASON #3: The pop songs here, are without a doubt, great! My favorite tracks are: My Depression, Will I?, God Gave You To Everyone, Idon'twantanythingfromyou, Angels Of The Disappeared (beautiful ballad!), Invisible Girl, and Jesus Saves. This album has variety, and that I love.

21/04/04: frostywills - jroyland@maine.rr.com
Rating: 85
Oh, I did forget one other a bit better. It's mastered really hot (loud), almost to the point of overly distorting the songs in some places. Normally, I wouldn't consider this a problem - but I've actually had to reduce the volume level on the tracks I've used form this album on mix CD's I've made recently, to even them out with the other music.

21/04/04: frostywills - jroyland@maine.rr.com
Rating: 85
While I do very much like this album, I, unlike a lot of people here, also liked KARMA quite a bit, perhaps even more.
I also have to agree with many of Andrew's points in his review - mainly in that most of these songs are too short(and could have been lengthened a bit), and in the uneveness of the tracks, and off putting musical interludes. For these reasons, the album only gets an 85 percent from me. I also think the album could have benefited form a better song running order - in much the same way that I prefer the '99 U.S. release (on Platinum Entertainment) of KARMA over the original '98 Japanese (Victor) version.
My favorite tracks are definetly "Will I?", "Beautiful You", "Wasted" and "Angels Of The Disappeared" - some of the best I think Rick's ever done. I even like "Alien Virus", too, but do think it feels out of place here.
I'm kind of on the fence about "Jesus Saves", except in the fact the the synths on it, and on "Eden" sink both songs for me.
My only point of contention with Andrew's review, would be about the song "I'll Make You Happy". Andrew refer's to it as a cover, but it's really more of a re-workinging (if anything) of the Easybeats' "Happy" - in that it borrows enough elements of the origianl song (a hook here and there)that Rick had to give them a writer's credit, but is otherwise not the same as the original. That aside, I like it, too.
Overall, pleased that Rick is not afraid to grow with his new material, and try out new things. While I would not consider this his "best" work, it certainly still ranks in the top of his releases. Lastly, while I'd very much like to hear the stuff on the "limited edtion", and I do consider myself a big fan - there is no way I would ever pay the ridculous amount of $$'s that is being asked for it. Maybe half, but even that would be pushing it.

06/04/04: Tim Robertson - Tim.J.Robertson@GSK.Com
Rating: 95
I actually really liked the 'Karma' album, and don't really find the overall sound and style very different to here. The two opening tracks suggest a powerful modern rock album, but then "Will I?" bounds through the speakers with keys/guitars duelling and it's melodic rock all the way. There may be more variety than on any previous Springfield album, and some de-tuned guitars on some of the earlier tracks, but this is still the same style and awesome song-writing that we know and love. And surely "Angels of the Disappeared" has to be song of the year (along with Final Frontier's "Runaway" and TNT's "Lonely Nights")? Agree with previous reviews about the 'filler' tracks which are very annoying and cost the album full marks, and the limited edition pack is not really worth the high price, but this is still a great CD.

05/04/04: Bobby Carter - getawaymachine@cs.com
Rating: 100
This Cd completely Rocks,with bitterness, about the Darker sides of Love, Rick just sees things the way they are. How many other 55 year olds, other than Sammy Hagar could make a Record that stays in your head forever. The album has more attitude than most people breathing.I loved Karma, Its a different album different time, SDAA shows Rick is living in the minute. Sorry! For those who dont get it.

04/04/04: Chad - cdw@lifeworks.org
Rating: 95
When I first started to listen to this cd I really didnt know what to think. The three songs that first caught my ear were Will I, Idontwantanythingfromyou, and Angels of the disappeared. But then the second time I listened Perfect, Wasted, Invisible Girl, Beautiful You, God gave you, Psychopathic mother, and Every night started to ring in my head. I don't really care for My depression, Alein Virus, Open my eyes, Shoot your guru. I think this is an excellent album and should be heard by everyone. There is something about Rick's voice and those catchy songs about women that keep me a big fan. Keep playing Rick!! I agree with the previous reviewer that "Lust" should been released some time.

03/04/04: David - nazz_nomad@hotmail.com
Rating: 99
The best full album of songs the man has ever produced, the range is staggering. Please take some time out and listen to this album.

01/04/04: Dave - stiknside@hotmail.com
Rating: 92
Simply put I think it is Rick's best effort since Rock of Life. I was put off by Karma as it wasn't what I expect from Rick but I do understand why people would like it, as it was intelligent, but just not what I like in Rick's music. With this new CD Rick has once again thrown my a tad bit but this time in the right direction. If he wasn't going to make an album that sounded like his 80's heyday then he defintely needed to rock the music up, and that he did. Some will not like the nu direction of some of the songs, and some critics may look at it as Rick trying to fit in, I personally think it is a good fit and sounds natural to me. For the 1st time since Rock of Life and basically since the 80's, I can actually turn up the volume and drop the top on the car and jam this music. Well done Rick, hope to finally catch you play live sometime this coming summer...and I definetly want to hear some of these gems played live!

Not his best but not his worst, and I rate it higher due to the # of uptempo tracks...there are a few tracks that sound too much like Karma for me or what have you, but I now have a new RS cd to put the memory of Karma to rest.

Dave

31/03/04: Selena - tigershavespots@yahoo.co.uk
Rating: 90
Finally someone to kick Evanescence off the cd player! Thank god s/d/a/a is not a "techno" album! This guy rocks and the rest of us can only hope to have that amount of energy by the time we get to his age! The songs at the start of the album are definitely too short and not standard "Springfield" however, they definitely "grow" on subsequent listenings. He could do with dropping the "fillers" and the bells and whistles though. Rick appears to have saved the best for last - "My depression", "Psychopathic Mother" and "Every night..." are some of the best I've heard him do. Unfortunately we'll never get to hear him on the radio here in the UK.

31/03/04: Bernd - dummy@freenet.de
Rating: 97
This is one the best CDs Rick has ever made! If you - as I do - like the harder sound and were dissappointed listening to Karma - then you will love this one. IMHO Karma was slow, boring and didn't stand the test of time. The melodies were strange, the songs and the instruments sounded kind of artificial to me. SDAA has lots of great and different melodies and a much better sound. For me there could have been ever more guitars and less keyboards, 'cause I think that sometimes they still sound like back in the 80s. Congratulations, Rick! Great songs, great album! Welcome to the 21st century.

31/03/04: Aaron Johnston - aaronbradley@excite.com
Rating: 100
I find these reviews great in the diversity! One thing I wiould point out, no two bodies of work from Rick have ever been more than slightly similar. From "Begininngs" to "Comic book heroes" AS an example, very different. I would have loved to hear more from the '74 "Springfield" as that too sounds far removed from the year earlier former album. My long winded point is this. S/D/A/A IS ENTIRELY IT'S OWN! thank God! Rick is my favorite artist and I love all his work to varying degree's, but even with faith, I was unsure of his ability to sound "all new" I should have known better. This cd rock's! So far I have "suprised" three separate acquaintance's (not many, but a true number) "Rick Springfield? damn! etc. One turned into a sale. Anyway, my only "complaint"is 6 years. Please Rick, no more than 3 LOL. Seriously, thank you Rick. Come back to Reno Nv.

31/03/04: David - daw@netacs.net
Rating: 92
Nothing stays the same!! If it did, everyone would be complaining that he was just retreading!! He took the right turn. It's good to see he's evolving, changing with the times, instead of becoming an oldies act. Should of trimmed it to 12 solid songs but hey!! now a days we have remote control so we can pass the filler easier than the old days.

31/03/04: Dan Friml - dan@haremscarem.net
Rating: 95
You can't do the same things in your whole life. This album is a change in the best way he could make. Great stuff!

30/03/04: Lance Rushing - lrushing007@mac.com
Rating: 97
Rick has returned finally capturing the energy & excitement of his live shows. "Will I" is a great choice for the first single as it is the catchiest of the bunch followed closely by the awesome anthem "Idontwantanythingfromyou" which live audiences found themselves instantly singing along on the 2003 SDAA tour. This disc is not that radical of a departure from what Rick usually produces it just represents the harder side of Rick which we have seen before ("I've done everything for you", "Carry me away", "Livin' in Oz") but in somewhat smaller doses. As for the uncompromising lyrical approach regarding themes of betrayal, it's good to hear it shot straight from the hip as any listener who has been burned "in the game of love" will appreciate. "Perfect", "Jesus saves", "Wasted" & "God gave you to everyone" are other personal favorites. By no means does this sound anything like Blink 182 or Offspring!!!! Rick has been doing hard driving power pop for decades now and it is great to finally hear it with the rockin' edge that it so rightfully deserves. **** As for a trevious reviewer stating that Andrew had to listen to this a few times before "he got it" (supposedly via a state of denial), I recall myself not caring for Duran Duran's "Wild Boys" the first few times I heard it only for it to become one of my all time favorites as well as other classics including Queensryche's "Operation Mindcrime", Lillian Axe's "Love & War", Bride's "Snakes In the Playground", Harem Scarem's "Voice of reason" & Rick's very own "Rock of Life".

30/03/04: Neil Tudor - neil.tudor1@ntlworld.com
Rating: 0
Oh dear.....oh dear..Rick, what were you thinking of? One of my all time greats has fallen off his throne I'm afraid !! The complete change of direction sees him floundering in no man's land...prob not cool enough (or young enough) to attract the nu-pop/metal crowd, and alienating his tech/pop/roch/AOR crowd.
I dont know where he goes from here..I really dont.
I will have to endlessly loop, my recently required "Beat Of The Live Drum" DVD to console myself..as cheesy as his guitar-miming antics and shape throwing cliches were..we knew where we stood..knew what to expect.
I should imagine that Andrew(mein host) feels rather like I did when Dan Reed released "The Heat" album...totally floored by how such a genius could produce such a "dog" of an album, after such previous great releases. The next stage of denial, is to listen to it time after time, trying desperately to convince yourself that there is something good in there somewhere..but you know what? most times your first view is the one that is correct..For lesser mortals this cd would be kinda average...but for Springfield it is akin to Napalming his career.
Hope you have the guts to print this neg review Andrew.
Regards
Neil T

30/03/04: Jon - jgillettejukebox@yahoo.com
Rating: 93
First off, I think the songs are amazing. The sound may be different than your used to but the killer songwriting is there. I love the fact that he rocked it out. I think it shows he now just wants to have some fun. If it's too loud your too old. For me, I rate it right after working class dog and success. I hope he keeps it up.

30/03/04: looksthatkill - rockstarparking@hotmail.com
Rating: 75
I like it and it grows but the sound is a little off it needed a big studio sound to make this really great.
Give this to Michael Wagener, Bob Rock or Terry Thomas and it would have rocked big time!

First single should have been "The invisible girl" then "every night i wake up..."

Over all it rocks and lets hope radio picks it up...

30/03/04: Javier Quinones - maya2112@coqui.net
Rating: 90
THIS NEW ALBUM IS MODERN HARD ROCK MELODIC, IS VERY GOOD ALBUM.
THE KARMA IS BAD ALBUM, NEW ALBUM IS EXCELLENT.

PUERTO RICO.

30/03/04: Javier Quinones - maya2112@coqui.net
Rating: 90
This album is very strong rock music, and melodic sound of 80's.
good album, the karma is bad album, this new album is rockkkkkk.

PUERTO RICO.

30/03/04: Andrew Pate - ampate@comcast.net
Rating: 100
I have been a Rick Springfield fan for over 20 years and I have to say this album is incredible. I was a little disappointed with "Karma" and hoping Rick would go in a different direction and boy, did he ever! This album is a 50 minute emotion filled angst-fest that takes you by the throat and does not let go! I am no fan of so called "modern" music but don't compare this album with what's played on the radio because it's better than that. Shock/Denial/Anger/Acceptance is the definition of ROCK N'ROLL from a guy that's been doing it longer than Blink 18whatever, Matchbox 20, or Sum4whocares have been alive.
I can't wait to hear these songs in concert; I hope Rick plays a majority of them because they will fit nicely into his energetic shows.

I purchased the Limited Edition, and I agree with you Andrew, the price tag was little high for what you got. That being said, I enjoyed the interview with Rick and really like the "Rythym of Love" and "Her Body Makes Vows" unreleased tracks.

Do me a favor. Put this album in your portable CD player or download it to your IPOD and go out for a 6 mile run. You'll be running on air! I'll be listening to it a couple of times over when I run the Boston Marathon in a couple of weeks!

30/03/04: Stephen Farrar - farrarsm@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
I haven't heard a lot of Springfield's previous work, so I don't have anything to compare this record to. I've only listened to this a couple of times, but I like what I hear. Hopefully, the record will continue to grow on me.

30/03/04: David - deflep7@aol.com
Rating: 95
Kinda shocked at the bad reviews so for....this is Rick springfield all the way...sounds like rick...yea a little harder..probably his hardest rocking cd since Living in Oz...it has a slight modern sound..but still rocking still melodic..still Rick..i just cant understand the negative attitudes...

I do agree with andrew on the filler songs..and middle of the cd....those should have been taken out.....i will disagree with the lyric issues..like the White trash comment...doesnt bother me at all..sick of polictical correctness anyways..

Also as far as sales...you cant really compare this to Karma...karma did get press...it was ricks first cd in m any years..he was on shows like the Today show and everything......this cd has gotten NO press at all...alot of people dont even know its out....

Karma was ok..but way too slow...and for me..it got boring and didnt stand the test of time for me......the new cd will...

one more thing i have to give rick credit for..he promised a hard rocking cd..and he delieverd..to many bands say there going to rock..and then dont....(def lep, queensrcyhe, dokken, to name a few..)

bottom line..any fan of rick's harder edge will love this cd..
david

30/03/04: andre - andre4415@hotmail.com
Rating: 96
Well.....I will try to keep it shor tand simple since andrew said almost every word that I wanted to say. I have to say that I was really pleased with the way Rick approached this cd. I always prefered his hard rock style even though I enjoy all his albums. This is a great Rick Springfield cd. It includes all of Rick`s styles and make s for a great listen throughout. I would have liked a couple of songs to be longer though. Wasted and Psychopatic mother should have been made longer. Good point Andrew on these ones!!!!
I really like the whole vibe of the cd but I really prefer the second half of the cd. There are a couple of songs I have a hard time listening to and they are OPEN MY EYES, ALIEN VIRUS (should have been kept for the limited edition) and I dont want anything from you. I know that last one seems to be a favourite but ..i don`t always listen to it.
I also love Rick`s voice on the cd even though on some songs it is a little strained.
My favourite track is My depression. I prefer the chorus in this version than on the demo. The verses were better in the demo i think but it is one of rick`s best. Ohter excellent songs are Will i?, wasted, God gave you to everyone and You psychopathic mother.

That`s it folks. Probably one of rick`s finest work to date. I would have like to find Lust on the cd too. This is another gem that whousl have been reworked for this release.
andrι

30/03/04: shawn - shawn.r.key@comcast.net
Rating: 60
I'm definitely a Rick Springfield fan and wish him the best. I knew this wouldn't be a "classic" RS album, but I was disappointed. I'm not here to bash; rather, I hope Rick takes note of fans' comments and writes the album we want to hear...more melodic, less "radio friendly" by industry standard songs. I did my part so I hope the record sales pick up so he can have another chance to record a future record!

29/03/04: Stefan Grimbs - grimbsel@aol.com
Rating: 30
I'm highly dissapointed from this release.
That is not the Rick Springfield i known for years.
By the first half of the cd i was shocekd, then it's getting a little better.
If you don't have it, don't buy it. It's not worth listening in my opinion.

29/03/04: freddy de keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 40
Hmm . . . , how difficult ! You can't compare this to Ricks previous work. That for a starter.
If you didn't know this was mr. Springfield, I tell you, you wouldn't guess it !
What Rick offers here is a completely different : it's kind of nu-breed mixed with a lot of punk influences and the result is very alternative and modern ! A bit like Sum 41, Blink 182 or even The Offspring, but with a 'bit' better songs (although not strong enough, knowing what he is capable of).
You all know that I'm not a lover of that kind of 'modern' music, so you understand my rating. Maybe other people will love this more : I only can hope it for Rick.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: