Track Listing
· Parachute
· I Love You
· Elton John
· You're The One (1)
· How Many Nights
· Let Me Out
· Darkest Hour
· Stuck On You
· Better Off Dead (2)
· Don't Spread Your Lies (1)

(*) Best Tracks

Discography & (Rank)
· Long Way From Home (3)
· Acoustica
· USAcoustica
· Lovemetal (2)
· PP - Big (1)

Buy it if you liked:
Melodica - Lovemetal
Danger Danger - Danger Danger
Bone Machine

Line Up
Promo: Not Listed

POLEY PICHLER
Big
Z Records
· Produced By: Gerhard Pichler & Ted Poley
· Running Time: 47.12 · Genre: AOR
· Release Date: October 14 · Released: EU
· WebLink: Ted Poley · LabelLink: Z Records
93%

Ted Poley and Gerhard Pichler's new album is essentially the third Melodica album.
With each of the first two, the guys got better and with Melodica, the songs were again better than Bone Machine which preceded that.
So as Ted has been working on an upward curve, I am pleased to say that trend continued with Big.
If you have never been a fan of Ted, or his brand of pure AOR, then this is unlikely to reel you in.
But, if you have been a fan at any point and better still, have always been a fan, then this album should rate as one of his best efforts yet and is certainly the best of the three albums with Austrian guitar wiz Gerhard Pichler.
Considering this album was again recorded off the guy's own payroll, without any label backing, it is a wonder it sounds as good as it does.
No, it's not a major label production or anything to rival Def Leppard, but it has heart, it has soul and it has passion. Tons of it!
I have a great deal of affection for Ted and his music. There aren't too many albums of pure melodic AOR about, so it's always good to hear new stuff from Ted, who has spent a career doing this.
Kicking off the album is Parachute, an uptempo rocker with an instantly recognizable hook and extended feel good AOR chorus. Musically the song contains more layers then the guys have previously tried, with acoustic and electric guitars at work and some good harmony vocals adding needed texture.
I Love You is another of those catchy Melodica numbers that sees the lead guitar lick holding much of the songs melodies. Credit needs to go to Gerhard for 'speaking' through his guitar.
The song is uptempo again, but not as much as the opening track and the chorus is another instantly memorable slice of AOR.
The guys try something new with the track Elton John. A tribute to the man himself, the track features another cool guitar break in accompaniment with some tasty piano work – again, in tribute to the man himself. The song is uptempo, but has a love song feel to it, with the lyrics easily adaptable.
You're The One is one of my favorite tracks. It's a mid tempo ballad that features some strong harmony vocals and a pleasant vocal hook and chorus. Almost reminiscent of Seventh One era Toto…almost!
How Many Nights is another solid mid tempo feel good love song. Typical of what the guys have done before and what Ted has always done.
Let Me Out picks up the tempo nicely. Just when you felt like a bop-a-long rocker, this track does the job. It's basically another feel good song with sweet vocals and cleaver lyrics.
Darkest Hour is another good change of pace. This time we have a darker, slow and moody ballad, featuring piano and acoustic guitars and a soft, laid back approach.
Stuck On You continues the mood of the last track, albeit with a slightly faster tempo. Moody and sultry and featuring another good chorus when it eventually comes around.
Better Off Dead is one of the better sounding tracks production wise. A somewhat bulkier sound and layered harmonies helps the song to new heights for the band. The soft ballad features a great chorus that is one of my favorite of the album.
Closing the album is the uptempo rocker Don't Spread Your Lies. Finishing the album on a strong note, this song is a melodic monster. A great chorus and strong production make this track another highlight. I like the tougher sound featured here.
The last two tracks and the opening couple of tracks show clear development with Ted and Gerhard's songwriting and production skills.

The Bottom Line
The guy's best album to date and a perfect example of soft, melodic and romantic American AOR.
The guys have done a great job putting it together. The style isn't for everyone - but for those that dig this sort of thing - you won't find many better.
Sundries - Artwork is ok, running time is perfect. Personally I might have changed the song order, but that's a minor point. I just liked a few of the album's last tracks the best.

Additional Ratings
Songwriting
93%
Attitude
95%
Production
85%
Sundries
90%

AOR Heaven NEH Records Z-Roxx Loud 1 Destiny Hot Tracks Target Wishing Well Loud Metal Perris


02/05/03: freddy de keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 70
Better than expected, this record. Poley has never been a great singer, but here he tries to do the best he can. The tunes are decent, not memorable. I don't know why people give records a 100 rating, that means 'perfect in every way, can't be beaten, classic', but this isn't. I'm following the whole musicscene for more than 38 years now and not one record gets a 100 rating from me, at it highest 95 or so ! Good, decent, but nothing more, and his work with Danger Danger was still a lot better, anyway !

27/03/03: Jim Perry - megjimp@ida.net
Rating: 72
Hmmm. I don't get what the big deal is. This is not in the same class as "Lovemetal." Although there are some good tunes, there are just too many ballads and midtempo numbers. And some of the lyrics are just horrific: "I'm just a toy for you to enjoy"-What is that!? Overall a real dissapointment after they put out one of the best records of 2001.

20/02/03: Big Mike - bigmike@hotmail.com
Rating: 15
Don't be thrown off by alot of the dodgy posts above. How many albums would you give 100% to anyway, and some are very short and unspecific.

Make no mistake "Lovemetal" rocked. This was easily the best album I bought last year. It rocked, most of the songs were excellent, the melody, the hooks. The production came under fire but I thought it was ok.

"BIG", is simply miles way from the "Lovemetal" release for very 2 important reasons. It doesn't rock very hard and the songs quite frankly, suck pretty bad. "Better Off Dead" is probably the best track but the rest definitely flog themselves. The song writing seriously doesn't measure up if you're a fan or hard edged music with melody.

Sorry Ted, would have been better if you stayed with the melodica
style. Should you retire from the game, I wish you the best in anycase and thank you for your great stuff you did with bone machine, danger danger and melodica.

30/12/02: Nicki - Nickodalex@aol.com
Rating: 100
Melodic Master!

29/12/02: Federico T - teme@guest.net
Rating: 85
My favorite album from Ted and Gerard was for sure Lovemetal. It was more electric than this, there were amazing uptempo like Crazy,Shake,What number are you and Lovemetal. Big is a good aor cd too, but too many mid-tempos for my taste. Andrew(the owner of the site) is right these two guys have great class, Ted's voice still full of emotion and I stiil like Gerard melodic solos.

16/12/02: Don Hosler - donhosler@losch.net
Rating: 95
What exactly is "kjoking" ?

05/12/02: JV - jsouza@mail.pt
Rating: 0
people here must be kjoking, Ted seems not to tune in the songs, his voice tune goes side many times, ... he is singing badly, this CD is one of anothers that he will make jsut to get some bucks more...
sorry people, but this SUCKS.

29/11/02: PJ - AbbaLaine@aol.com
Rating: 98
There is a reason Danger Danger was an kick ass band and Ted is that reason. BIG is BIG!

18/11/02: Don Hosler - donhosler@losch.net
Rating: 95
Not only was I impressed with this CD, but I had the pleasure of catching Ted's new band (along with brand new guitarist Steve Massa) in Berwick, Pennsylvania and man did those boys rock. They did an awesome job with the Danger Danger stuff and you'd swear Steve was possessed by the ghost of Mr. Andy Timmons...this guy shreds ! They did plenty of well-executed new songs from the BIG CD, although I would have loved to hear Don't Spread Your Lies...that song was MADE to be performed live.
I can't compare this CD to LoveMetal because they are two completely different animals...LoveMetal is a summertime, anthemic pull-the-top-down-and-dream kinda record and this one is a little more laid back and a lot more personal. Definitely shows diversity.
Now we need more live shows...hey , wouldn't it be grat if Ted did a show with WESTWORLD and Tony joined them onstage for CRAZY ?That would rule !

14/11/02: Aimee - none@none.com
Rating: 0
Sorry but this cd does nothing for me. The only good stuff Ted has done was with Danger Danger. None of the songs impress me.

11/11/02: Gray,Mark, Carl,Danny & Co. - WVUSTUDIOS@aol.com
Rating: 100
Ted succeeds in creating another remarkable and unique CD. Exceptional Work Ted!
Thanks For The Music!

10/11/02: robert towers - bobounlimited@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
Ted's passion for music just shines through with "BIG". Ted keeps it real and close to the heart, that's what he does best
, don't ever quit , you have a lot of followers with your fans.
" Let the Fog Begin"

10/11/02: Beth ( a tedhead) - dangerdangerkid@webtv.net
Rating: 100
Quite simply B1G is amazing. It's the kind of Cd you don't want to stop playing. Ted's unforgettable voice...this is his best work to date better than anything he did to make danger danger what they were.
Things can only get better. Ted is an inspiration.

10/11/02: Pop's Warren - Atedheadpop@nocontac.com
Rating: 100
A truly gifted song writer...brilliant. This Cd will surely be haield as one of his best.There's nothing ordinary about Ted Poleys voice. Thoroughly enjoyable. This kid as it all.
Dr. V. Logan Warren

09/11/02: Connie / CJ - slowpoketed93@ao.com
Rating: 100
Wow, I love every song on this CD!

09/11/02: Judd - whiskey4judd@aol.com
Rating: 100
Ted Poley Is Meldic Rock! Every track on this B1G CD rocks!
Thanks Ted!

09/11/02: Gyn - Head4ted97@aol.com
Rating: 100
Theres a reason Ted is the best and it's B1G!

09/11/02: Jennifer - tedpoleyfan4life@aol.com
Rating: 100
The Best...

09/11/02: Tim MacAfee - macafeetim@aol.com
Rating: 100
Ted Poley is Melodic rock! Awesome CD. His very best and they have all been amazing.
Keep Rockin' Ted!

09/11/02: Donna - bitchnbabe247@webtv.net
Rating: 100
As a Ted Poley fan of 13 years I could not ask for more. This is his best work to date.
www.tedpoley.com

04/11/02: P77 - PhantasmGang1@activemail.co.uk
Rating: 99
This cd for me, is definitely Ted at his best as a songwriter. The cd is filled with Testimonies of love, as well as thank you as well. The song "Let me out" is unique in it's cleverness. I am sorry that I missed Ted at the Rocktober fest. I am in agreement with Steve as far as the complaints made about ted in the past and present. I think however, that TT said it all and I couldn't say it any better. This cd is Pop rock at it's best........If you remember that, you may look at the BIG cd from another angle. Once more though, the Gang say's TOP NOTCH TED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A bunch of Phantasmic images-P77

03/11/02: TT - Toxicshocker29@aol.com
Rating: 100
Well Well ,
Hey Friends of Melodic rock and roll,
I have got a treat for you , I just got my copy of Poley /Pichler Big .
Mark it on the calenders a day in , rock and roll history ,thats right Holloween Oct31 was when I got it:)
The other cool part was I had my Melodica Lovemetal shirt on the day it came soooo its all good Luck :)
This killer cd starts off with the very Melodic and very Energetic Parachute and really takes you on a rock and roll ride off to new Heights into Melodic Rock .
One track chocked full of Powerful Vocals and a very emotional roller coaster ride to make this cut really set the cd off to be Big :)
Ted goes all out on the vocals on this unbelievable track ,
really rips -showing he can really rock :)
The ripping Guitars from Gehard are a force to be recond with as well -on this monster ..
The rest of the band Joe Slattery on Bass ,Laura Diamond Keyboards and Marty Brasington drums, are all a tight Rythm section backing up the Fantastic music behind this .
Very well crafted Lyrics and very Solid music make this one a high energy cut , and makes ya wanna go out and move and let your emotions go and sore into the wind like a Parachute .
Showing Teds very Diversified musical style he really goes all out to create a vareity and emotional musical Journey that is unreal ,he really gets creative here with the very moody and quite ,emotional musical ride of Stuck On You .
This ones a very moody bluesier number and one you shall really enjoy and stand out track cause of style here -very solid track and one to set the emotional mood of Teds Vocals that make this a favorite of Mine :)
Well when Ted wants to pick it up and rock Ted will pick it up and rock and that he does with Let Me Out .
This ones a High energy rocker that will get your toes tapping feet clapping and head Bobbing and its a Burner baby.
Again the powerful engergy of the band really makes you hear how tight they are and one kick ass rythm section.
Shredding solo from Gehard will make you hear his killer guitar playing hear him really rockin and how much he shines on this.
Once again Teds vocal style has grown and you can hear his musical abilities to make you not dought this hard workin musicl genius as far im concerned.
One last track Id like to Mention is another clear standout cut to talk about is the very killer moody Ballad In My Darkest Hr about all the trials and tribultions and musical emotional rollcoaster that Ted has gone through .
But he still stands today to continue his ever growing musical Journey to create music not only he enjoys is music we enjoy as well.
So in my Darkest Hr ,is one helluva track no matter what if your down and out get yourself back up and continue as long as you keep believing its what gets you through .
So theres many other emotional roller coasters that this cd climbs, you will just have to get this cd yourself if you havent allready by Going to http://wwww.TedPoley.com .
Enjoy the music as much I do.
Thankyou Ted for continued music that matters Melodic rock is not dead its alive with Big thats what this cd will be .Big baby .
Support this and other Teds products he just keeps growing as a musician and continues to prove hes earned his way to the top of the musical universe we continue to fight for.
-Lets all enjoy music for what it is an Emotional Journey to feel good as Teds music continues to do.
Most of all Rock Us all the way to the Bigtime..
Thankyou Ted and all the killer people with Taste In music that owns Big .Rock and Roll TT=:)

02/11/02: JOHNNY + BONNIE - gunn2oo2@aol.com
Rating: 100
THIS CD WAS VERY MUCH WORTH THE WAIT! TED ALWAYS PUTS HIS HEART AND SOUL INTO ALL HIS MUSIC AND GEHARD IS JUST AS DEVOTED. BETTER OFF DEAD MORE THEN HOLDS ITS OWN WITH ANY, I REPEAT ANYTHING HEARD ON THE RADIO TODAY. IT DOESNT STOP THERE THO , I HAVE PLAYED IT 4 TIMES OVER THIS MORNING AND CANT FIND A WEAK LINK ON IT!!!!! AGAIN THANK YOU TED AND GEHARD FOR UPBEAT MUSIC GIVING US A REASON TO SMILE, GOD KNOWS WE COULD ALL USE IT!!!! LOVE YOU GUYS, JOHNNY + BONNIE

01/11/02: Christina - SweetAuburn42979@aol.com
Rating: 100
B1G Is Ted's best work ever...This CD is Superfantastic...Ted is as always Amazing. I am so very happy for Ted...He is a wonderful guy...I take great pride in being a Ted Poley fan.
Thanks Ted!
Christina

30/10/02: stuart brown - stuart783@aol.com
Rating: 85
just been to see ted live in maxines in wigan england and bought the c.d from the show,which was amazing by the way.All i can say is every song is well crafted and put togeather well.My fav is elton john which is ted singing about his hero.. top song.Hopefully with the change in attitude to this type of Ted will 1 day be back doing what he does best at the top

25/10/02: ANDY COATES - andrew.coates3@ntlworld.co.uk
Rating: 0
WHAT A GOOD CD THIS LITTLE AOR MONSTER IS 10 TRACKS OF QUALITY MELODIC MUSIC(WELL 9 I DIDN'T LIKE ELTON JOHN VERY MUCH)TED SEEMS TO GET BETTER WITH EVERY RELEASE SO I CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE.TED YOUR MUSIC ALWAYS CHEERS ME AND MY MATES UP KEEP ROCKING DUDE I KNOW WHAT NUMBER YOU ARE!TO COIN A PHRASE

22/10/02: Steve Norander - snorander@Fantasyent.com
Rating: 95
With out a doubt Ted's best song writing to date!!! As a song writer he is really coming into his own. Great lyrics, solid hooks...I found myself singing along right away. Hightlights for me on the CD are Parachute, I love you (this song has a great vibe...and I just love it!!), Elton John...no better way to thank someone who has inspired you than to write a great song about them!!, You're the one..Another great, great AOR tune, Let me out...Very cleaver lyrics..this should be put on the Toy Story 3 soundtrack...anybody have a connection at Disney?? Darkest Hour...Wow what a great Ballad!!! Ted at his best....Stuck on you...this song has a "Black velvet" feel to it and has a great Bluesy vibe to it, Better off Dead...By far my favorite track on the CD!!!! Just an all around great Ballad...what can I say I'm a sucker for a great ballad...and this one is very special to me!! And it all ends with Don't spread your lies....Again Ted letting the naysayers know how he feels about them, and This is a great sounding track as well another one of my favorite songs on the cd's and a great rocking song!!! Any fan of AOR should love this CD for what it is, just a great blend of AOR songs!!! They put a lot into this CD and it Shows. In closing a lot of people have said a lot of things about this CD and previous Melodica CD's....All I ask is that You do not allow yourself to be swayed by peoples comments (Well except mine!!) Make up your own mind, don't jump on someone else's band wagaon..buy the CD, give it a fair un-baised listen and draw your own conclusion. I also think one of those record labels out there needs to step up to the plate and see to it that the Next CD is even more of a monster...and besides I am sick and tired of listening to so many people complain about production.....A great song is a great song...no matter what and this CD is full of them!! Rock on! Ted
-Steve

19/10/02: nick snowdon - j.snorton@ntlworld.com
Rating: 20
OH TED WHAT HAVE YOU DONE, AS LIFE LONG FAN OF THE MAIN MAN I HAVE TO SAY THAT AFTER READING ALL THE REVIEWS FOR BIG I JUST COULD NOT WAIT TO HEAR IT, NOW I WISH I WAITRD A LOT LONGER TO GET THIS ONE ITS GOT NOTHING AT ALL GOING FOR IT TO SAY ITS JUST BORING WOULD BE DOING IT A FAVOUR
NOTE TO TED YOU ARE AN ALL TIME GREAT WHO HAS GIVEN ME HOURS AF PLEASURE (EVEN MORE THAN THE WIFE) BUT LETS GET BACK TO SOMETHING A LITTLE MORE UPTEMPO AND SLEEZY
SORRY BIG FELLA BUT THIS JUST DIDNT DO IT FOR ME


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: