SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Newman
Sign Of The Modern Times
Escape Music
ESM090
Produced By: Newman & Pete Coleman

Running Time: 52.54

Release Date: August 18

Released: EU

Musical Style: Melodic Rock / AOR

Links: Escape Music
92%
Songs: 90%
Sound: 94%
Steve Newman returns with his first album for 3 years if you don't include the shelved Butterfly Tattoo album. Joining Steve is Pete Jupp and Mike Brooks, with producer Peter Coleman adding his input.
Pleasingly, despite the 3 year absence, Newman returns, picking up where he left off with some notable improvements.
First of all the songwriting has matured further. There is more emphasis on a memorable hook and stronger choruses. There is also another dimension to the performance.
The album is same pure melodic rock with touches of English AOR that the previous album shave offered, but has added attraction of a tougher and more direct approach as the album as a whole is more guitar driven.
Keyboards are given their usual prominent role in the mix, but the heavier guitar tone and Steve's strong vocals are what drive the record.
The urgency of the opening track Save Me Tonight is evident. A verse-bridge-chorus setup is always popular and the hooks within this track make it one of Newman's best.
Following that is arguably the best track of Newman's career. Last Known Survivors is precisely why fans buy these kinds of records - moody verse, solid guitar riff, a change of pace for the bridge then a big feel-good chorus. Great stuff!
Elsewhere on the album Masquerade is a great moody mid-tempo track, You Should Be Gone and Heart V Desire are both classy examples of the melodic rock genre and the ballad Watching You is a classic slice of British AOR.
The Bottom Line
This is definitely Newman's best album to date and will please fans of British melodic rock and AOR and fans of the more traditional 80's style of melodic music.
Great performances all round are enhanced by a crisp and even production.
The only way I can see Newman getting better is if every chorus was as strong as the opening two tracks then he would be unbeatable.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
Newman
One Step Closer
Dance In The Fire
Sign Of The Modern Times

Line Up
Steve Newman: Vocals, Keyboards, Guitars
Pete Jupp: Drums
Mike Brooke: Bass

Essential for fans of:
Newman - Dance In The Fire
Heartland - Communication Down
Departure - Corporate Wheel
Track Listing
Save Me Tonight*
Last Known Survivors*
Masquerade
Rivers Flow
You Should Be Gone*
Watching You*
Heart V Desire
Don't Keep Me Waiting
What You Do To Me
Sign Of The Modern Times
Worlds Apart
--*Best Tracks


14/08/05: Steve Newman - closer2newman@dsl.pipex.com
Rating: 0
Thanx for all the positive feedback.

It really means a lot, all of your great comments really makes writing and recording albums so worth it !!

all the best .... Steve

31/05/04: Max - metaxlica@hotmail.com
Rating: 98
Listeningto it for the first time, and as with Dance in the Fire, this is fantastic. Hey Touchy, I am sure you got that one already, uh?

11/04/04: Touchy - Touch@intouch.com
Rating: 100
Freddy are you crazy? ....are you people gone mad?

and what's with the review .....92% ?!?!?!?!

This album is 10000000000%.....hahaha RAMOS , gob s#@%t.

Harem scarem?.....dead and buried.

JUST GO BUY THIS ONE and STOP WASTING OUR TIME, I WASTED ALREADY WAY TOO MUCH TYPING THIS...i wanna go back to listen to this album again , again ....already a month passed and it's magic is still here in me.

no album in the world or any band gonna compare to this, perdiod , and before you shoot at me , no , i've never heard NEWMAN before and i've followed AOR since the 1987 so when i tell you this IS IT....this IS IT.! :) GET GET GET.

BYE

16/10/03: Scott Watson - scottw@mfx.net
Rating: 90
Another classic from Newman! Anyone who is tired of all the Journey clones in melodic rock should definetly by this cd. Great vocals, awesome guitars, keyboards, and well produced and mixed. I love all the songs.

30/09/03: Hanuk Baac - temporarily unavailable
Rating: 98
What a great cd. It's a shame that this isn't going double platinum. Not only best Newman album, this album is one of the best album ever in this genre. This is that good. I just can't get enough of playing this cd, I was blown away by the first listen and it still is getting better with every listen.

27/09/03: Franco - frfrfr@stopmail.com
Rating: 100
Hey people, i am shaking and cryin' and laughing , i am so astonished!

gonna die if it goes on like that, this is THE ALBUM!

GOD , this album makes MOOD SWINGS (HS) or other classic in history of Melodic rock seems like pooooo!

there's no need for melodic rock bands, they should all retire because NEWMAN is Melodic Rock incarnated and kick a$$!

the moment i heard WORLD APART i was almost tearful of joy , best song since music has been created by god!

all the other songs are Amazing, Surprising, Emotional etc...

Listen to this album, throw your CD collection from the window, and get on your knees....NEWMAN....I LOVE YOU!!!!!

ALBUM OF THE CENTURY!

thanks for reading!.
--------------------

24/09/03: Geoff - g.a.wols@ponl.com
Rating: 87
As Freddy and Andrew say in one way or another, Newman never dissapoint. One can always rely on Newman to dish out a quality slab of melodic hard rock. They remind me a lot of Frontline in that sense - never likely to dissapoint. And this album is no exception.

'Save Me Tonight' gets the album off to as good a start as any. Where did that riff come from? Holy sh*t, I love it! Excellent start.
While I don't mind 'Last Known Survivors', 'Masquerade, and 'Rivers Flow', these are not my fave Newman tracks at all and sort of put the album in an unexpected lull.
But as I said in my intro, Newman are not hear to dissapoint, so by the time 'You Should Be Gone' gets going you know you're in for some rectifying! This track is excellent melodic bliss.
'Watching You' is another album highlight for me, as is every single track from here on in. The second half of the album is fantastic and from song 5 onwards they're all brilliant and classic Newman.
'Worlds Apart' is a beautiful ballad to finish the album off, worthy of special mention. A real gem this one, and Newman have done it again.

Excellent album and highly recommended to fans of all 3 previous releases and any good melodic rock. Musically very tight too. I like it a lot.

22/08/03: freddy de keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 80
Another good AOR/melodic record ! Newman never disappoint me ! Great classic AOR ! Just like Ramos, the real thing and the prove that some bands still can write a good song, which is not the case with these modern bands !


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: