Motley Records / Beyond
Produced by: Mike Clink

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Closest Relative: Warrant, Bulletboys
GENRE: Hard Rock

  1. Hell On High Heels
  2. Treat Me Like The Dog I Am
  3. New Tattoo
  4. Dragstrip Superstar
  5. 1st Band On The Moon
  6. She Needs To Rock N Roll
  7. Punched In The Teeth By Love
  8. Hollywood Ending
  9. Fake
  10. Porno Star
  11. White Punks On Dope
  12. Unlisted Track
  13. 1st Band On The Moon (Demo)

The new Motley album has been with us all a little while now, so I have had suitable time to write a review for this album and re-write it a few times. This is what I finished up with.
This is the debut of the new line up of the band, with Tommy Lee off to pursue whatever it is he wants these days, and Randy Castillo coming in his place.
The album sees the band throw off any of their most recent sound - gone is the punky modern edge of Generation Swine and gone is the grunge influenced semi-industrial nature of the John Corabi lead Motley Crue album.
Back is the band's trademark party rock anthems and disposable tongue in cheek lyrics.
Vince Neil is back in control and in full flight. The theme of the album is typical Crue, just read the song titles!
The production of the album is handled by Mike Clink (of Guns N Roses, Sammy Hagar fame).
The songs sound great and it certainly has a party rock feel. Fast, furious and good fun, the album has received a pretty good response from fans so far.
But the thing for me is, I quite like the last two albums and was looking forward to a record taking up where Generation Swine left off. I already have the band's classic albums, so this album to me is a little surplus.
On top of that, I personally have moved on and to go back to some of the dumbest lyrics in history is a little disappointing. I like the album, but don't think it's a classic and think that overall the impact is a little flat.
Without the punch of Dr Feelgood and without the attitude of Generation Swine, I was a little disappointed. But I know plenty were more than happy with this album, so it really lies in what you wanted from the band.
BOTTOM LINE: A good album, with plenty to like for die hard Motley fans, but overall a little flat and nothing really outstanding on offer to bring back old fans that might have lost interest in the band. Still, it's better than many other releases out there and will no doubt keep plenty of Crue fans happy until the next development.
ESSENTIAL FOR: All long time Crue fans.