REVIEWS LINK: [A] [B] [C] [D] [E] [F] [G] [H] [I] [J] [K] [L] [M] [N] [O] [P] [Q] [R] [S] [T] [U] [V] [W] [X] [Y] [Z]


MTM Music
Produced by: Loud & Clear

Released: OUT NOW
Closest Relative: Nelson, Bon Jovi

  1. Tell Me Why
  2. Ain't Talkin' Bout Nothin'
  3. Fly Away
  4. Disc-Connected
  5. When Feel Like That
  6. Time To Let Go
  7. Dangerous Imagination
  8. Lovers In The Night
  9. If It Takes All Night
  10. Take Another Look
  11. I Can't Wait
  12. You Take Me Higher
  13. You Gotta Dance

This is better stuff! In fact, this is one of MTM's best releases in a long time. It's certainly been in development for what seems like years, but now vocalist Jess Harnell is back again with a great collection of feel good melodic rock & AOR anthems.
Funnily enough, I find this album also comparable to that of classic melodic rockers Nelson, but closer to the style of that band's debut album.
The band features Jess on vocals, Chuck Duran on guitars and bass and Alex Track on drums and percussion.
The album features lots of crunchy, but melodic guitars, lots of high spirited anthems and songs to sing along to.
None more so than the opening track Tell Me Why, the Def Leppard like When I Feel Like That and the huge anthem Time To Let Go.
Comparisons in style can be made with Nelson, Def Leppard, early Bon Jovi and singer/songwriter artists like Jimmy Harnen, Jimmy Martin and even Jeff Paris.
The production quality varies through the album, from clear and crisp to slightly muddy in places, but the song quality is undeniable.
BOTTOM LINE: What I feel many have been look for in the marketplace for some time - a pure AOR release filled with happy to lucky songs, an easy going nature and strong melodic hooks and choruses, with a fairly consistent production to match.
It's also a welcomed come back to cult AOR figue Jess Harnell.
ESSENTIAL FOR: All fans of simple and catchy AOR and all fans of Jess Harnell.
DISCOGRAPHY:Loud N Clear . Disc-Connected; Jess Harnell - The Sound Of Your Voice

Back To site Frontpage