SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Jorn The Duke AFM Records
· Produced By: Jorn Lande + Jörn Viggo Lofstad

· Running Time:

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Melodic Metal / Hard Rock

· Links: Jorn Lande
91%
Songs: 86%
Sound: 95%
After delivering what I considered to be the two finest albums of 2006, the amazing Jorn Lande fires back with his forth solo album. The Duke is a more straight ahead melodic metal outing than the progressive leaning Out To Every Nation and is more musically aligned with his band of the moment Masterplan.
Featuring a powerhouse metal line up, The Duke features 10 in your face rocking tracks with only a couple of moments where proceedings slow down in any form.
Each of Jorn's solo albums have had different elements of appeal and it is hard to pick any one over another.
This album is on par with Jorn's best and is perhaps his most consistent and cohesive solo album to date, with no deviations from the musical purpose of the record. No experimental moments here – this is pure smoking hard rock n roll!
The Duke best represents what Jorn the singer is. Smoking melodic metal sung with soul and passion and that unmistakable comparison to David Coverdale, only more vibrant and energetic!
The only criticisms I have is the fact the material doesn't explore any new ground for Jorn whatsoever. All in all, the album is fairly predictable and that there are really only 8 new songs here. Starfire is from Jorn's solo debut and Are You Ready is a straight forward cover of the Thin Lizzy classic.
Highlights include the powerful metal anthem We Brought The Angels Down; the very melodic, yet in your face metal of Blacksong; the double kick rum fuelled rocker Stormcrow; and End Of Time, which features a dark mood, but a real swagger and some powerful layered vocals.
Duke Of Love is an unusual track – it is a very commercial slice of hard rock with a catchy chorus, but for some reason I have had trouble warming to it.
One track on from that is Burning Chains, a track which features Jorn's best Coverdale vocal yet.
The Bottom Line
The Duke is another highly enjoyable release from Jorn and is perhaps his most consistent solo record yet. But it is also one that doesn't quite match expectations – which admittedly were very high and personally I still rate Worldchanger as my favourite.
It is a sonically amazing record, with a razor sharp sound and powerful delivery, driven by a solid collection of songs which includes a few truly great numbers. But my favourite Jorn albums remain those featuring the singer at work with others, such as Millenium, Allen/Lande and of course Masterplan.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Starfire
· Worldchanger
· Out To Every Nation
· Allen/Lande
· The Duke

Line Up:
· Jorn Lande: Vocals
· Jorn Viggo Lofstad, Tore Moren: Guitars
· Willy Bendiksen: Drums
· Morty Black: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· Jorn Lande
· Masterplan
· Alen/Lande - The Battle
If you liked this release - also check out:
· Masterplan - Masterplan
Track Listing
· We Brought The Angels Down *
· Blacksong *
· Stormcrow *
· End Of Time *
· Duke Of Love
· Burning Chains *
· After The Dying
· Midnight Madness
· Are You Ready
· Starfire (2005 version)
--*Best Tracks


09/08/07: Roger - roger.swanberg@jacksonville.com
Rating: 98
This is by far Jorn's best album to date ( including his projects) Jorn does his best work when he does the solo gig, his other projects arent has heavy and just not as good. Worldchanger was my favorite Jorn album until this came out, this Blew Me Away !! Incredible !!

12/11/06: Terry - teraider@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
This is a must buy for the man's voice alone. Jorn is one of the greatest rock voices ever. The mix of power and passion is amazing. This is a very strong album. The production is top notch. Minor points - The album is rather short and some of the songs could have been better (I can't put my finger on it, but there is just something missing). That being said, this album will be in my Top 10 of 2006.

05/06/06: Restless One - petermay@adam.com
Rating: 80
JORN LANDE is better when he is working with others eg. ARK Burn the Sun....MASTERPLAN 1ST & 2ND........ALLEN/LANDE The Battle. Andrew is spot on. The Duke is LESS creative it doesn't cover any new ground and is just basic straight ahead no thills heavyRock/Metal...I had HIGHER expectations, BUT you can't deny that brilliant VOICE....So with repeated listens,this disc HAS grown on me. ARK. BURN THE SUN is the best cd Jorn has really sung his heart out and really stretched his vocals on and remains MY favourite.

05/06/06: gegers - schenkerfan_12@hotmail.com
Rating: 60
Quite boring and not really melodic. I liked the previous albums, Like Worldchanger, but this one is just okay, not bad but not good neither...

02/06/06: W87 - w_12335@hotmail.com
Rating: 86
Jorn Lande is in posession of a great voice and an even better taste in music. I personally like the fact that no matter how silly and Nordic the lyric is, he delivers it with such irresistable conviction and power. You really do believe he's a "phantom of the night". Or that he really will "see that distant star, in a flying car"!

The Duke is certainly as good as Worldchanger, if not better - there is less reliance on changing the tempo of the song halfway through (a habit that was also rife on Out To Every Nation). There are a couple of filler tracks which aren't bad, but fall into the dull and forgetable basket, but We Brought the Angels Down, Black Song, Stormcrow, End of Time and After the Dying are truly special. Great guitar and drum work too!

I believe his solo albums require a good deal of maturity to appreciate (as did his work with Ark) and The Duke is no exception, though it is a little more straight forward. Progressive Barbarian Melodic Metal at its finest.

24/05/06: jessekye - halpainjames@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
Well what else can i say, but the man has a set of lungs. Right from the frist track this cd grabed me took me to that place that i have not been in a while,A time when rock was rock where you could here this cd on the radio a time where this cd would sell a million copies,but that time is gone but the music is not. Jorn does a great coverdale on the duke got that sexiness ozing all over 3/4 of this cd its great its wonderful thank you mr lande.

07/05/06: icrequiem - icrequiem@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
Great voice and great album.

02/05/06: LEE F - kiamoon22@yahoo.com
Rating: 98
ANOTHER GREAT ALBUM FROM JORN AND TO THINK I'D NEVER HEARD OF JORN UNTIL I GOT THE BATTLE , THANKS TO MELODIC ROCK I BOUGHT THE BATTLE AND MASTERPLAN .THIS ALBUM IS ANOTHER JEM OF AN ALBUM , ITS MORE OLD SCHOOL ROCK IN STYLE REMINDING ME OF DIO WITH A TOUCH OF COVERDALE. THE FIRST SIX SONGS R AWESOME BUT MY FAV'S R BLACK SONG ,END OF TIME , DUKE OF LOVE AND THE AWESOME BURNING CHAINS BUT WE BROUGHT THE ANGELS DOWN AND STORMCROW ARE'NT FAR BEHIND.I JUST LOVE THE MOODY VOCALS AND HARMONY'S JORN DOES , EVEN WHEN HE SINGS IN HIS LOWER REGISTER YOU CAN STILL FEEL THE EMOTION IN IS VOCALS , SO UNLESS SOME1 COMES UP WITH SOMETHING SPECIAL JORN COULD HAVE MY VOTE 4 ALBUM OF THE YEAR AGAIN

21/04/06: Freddy De Keyzer - freddk100@hotmal.com
Rating: 84
Not as good as Masterplan, but damn close.
Fine classic hardrock is the name of the game here.
I'm glad there are still guys like Jorn, who keep the flame of good, classic hardrock burning !
Nice one !

12/04/06: jari - jari_heikkinen@luukku.com
Rating: 97
first of all,my opinion is that jorn lande is THE best vocalist that lives on earth.i have listened hard rock for allmost 30 years and he is nowadays the king.but that is not enough if you canīt write and produce great songs.good examples (nowadays)queensryche,dio and few others 80īs great names.but jorn lande can.everything he touches turns to gold.masterplan wouldnīt be masterplan if there isnīt lande.finally, this album rocks,it has good songs and itīs well produced.buy the way allen/lande is not overrated,it deserves all that it gotīs.the duke gotīs 97/100.period.

08/04/06: John Elway - megjimp@cableone.net
Rating: 85
Bottom line, if you're a fan of Jorn Lande, you'll like this release. As mentioned, there's no new ground broken here. On top of that, there are a couple of weaker tunes here (album opener, "We Brought the Angels Down"-a seriously non-rocking tune for the album opener and the boring, slow "Burning Chains"). However, there are 7 top notch Jorn tunes that follow his already established catalog, as well as a cool cover of Thin Lizzy's "Are You Ready". As a fan of the guy, I'm happy with the release and will pretty much buy anything he puts out as I feel he's probably has the most fantastic voice in metal/hard rock right now. With that said, I fear the guy might be oversaturating the market a bit. In the last couple years, he' put out the magnificent Masterplan album, the solid yet somewhat overrated (at least by this site) Allen/Lande, and now this solo disc all sounding very similar. I guess that's getting nit-picky considering how awesome this guy, but still a concern.

08/04/06: CUTTER - cutter33_us@yahoo.com
Rating: 9
This is a heavier Jorn than on previous solo efforts. The singing as well as the guitar playing is amazing as is usually the case on Jorns work. I was surprised they opened with the album with "We brought the angels down" as it is kinda dark, but it's still a great tune. The remake of "Starfire" is really growing on me. One thing i have learned from listening to Jorn is he "really" likes to sing about storms, crows, fire, snow, and dying. All things a good viking should know about,lol. When listening to Jorn it's almost like he is telling a "story" to you the listener. The song "The Duke" could be a huge hit in America if there was only a way to get him on the USA radio. The only song on here i just don't feel is "Midnight Madness" that's why i gave it a 9 out of 10. The song "Burning Chains" is very Coverdale/Bad Company sounding, another potential radio hit if it got on US radio. Production is superb as usuall and one can't help but not love this album. This makes the 10th official release by Jorn that i have bought, now when the hell is a DVD of him gonna be made? It's obvious that his fans will snap it up if one is ever made. The rest of the world seems to have fallen in love with Jorn Lande. It's about time America got introduced to the majestic that is Jorn Lande!!!!!!

07/04/06: WardyS3 (Mick Ward) - micktward@ozemail.com.au
Rating: 80
Sure after the initial listen it appears to be less creative than Jorns last couple of efforts, and with the mighty weight of Masterplan forever lurking close behind him, compared to everything prior it was always going to be difficult for Jorn to impress. But once you have the original album in your hands, read the lyrics and enjoy (hopefully the DIGIBOOK!!!!!) the packaging there's more than meets the ear!

Casting aside the two covers (Jorns own Starfire being reworked unsuccessfully IMO), we are left with a number of full blooded tracks that do nothing but shine. The first three tracks are the albums best, We Brought the Angels Down being the albums WorldChanger and Blacksong being one of the finest tunes Jorn has put his name to.

For its lack of surprises the album shows the songwriting remains strong and the delivery immaculate. Lofstad of Pagan's Mind helps craft this into something special and I would quickly recommend this to any fan of Jorn or of good melodic power/rock type thing.

It may take a few spins to fully appreciate the Duke, but persevere and you shall receive!


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: