SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
JOHN NORUM
SLIPPED INTO TOMORROW

Toshiba-EMI Japan TOCP-65325
Produced by: John Norum

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Closest Relative: Yngwie, MSG, Racer X
GENRE: Hard Rock / Melodic Metal
OVERALL: 86%

  1. Blackscape
  2. Waiting On You
  3. Still In The Game
  4. Freedom Is My Truth
  5. Tico's Life
  6. Nobody Answers
  7. Losing My Mind
  8. Veda
  9. Sons Of Yesterday
  10. Killer Without A Cause
  11. Center Of Balance
Just as I am celebrating the return of good melodic metal and giving the Americans credit for it, here comes John Norum, straight out of Sweden with his album that sees him rocking as hard as ever and truly shredding like never before.
This is John's heaviest album to date and easily his best since Face The Truth - an album that featured Glenn Hughes on vocals.
The title says it all. John has created a new and more modern sound, one that should and could appeal to a new generation of axe slingers, but has also retained and somewhat returned to the sound that suits him best. That is a hard hitting and powerful hard rock sound, with that unmistakable rhythm section and guitar sound that rivals John Sykes for sheer power. And that big fat riff sound is back. It was a little absent on the last 2 albums.
This record is basically a heavier and more modern version of Face The Truth.
Cool also, is that John doesn't depend on any outside vocalists to fit his sound. He sings everything himself and sounds even better off for it.
Slipped Into Tomorrow is back to the vocals of the debut, with the power of Face The Truth.
Just listen to the awesome Waiting On You and Still In The Game.
BOTTOM LINE: Maybe the first artist to return to his roots by going forward. Very cool album and John's best since Face The Truth.
Another essential release for fans of the heavier side of hard rock. Heavier than past releases, and of better quality also.
PRODUCTION: 92%SONGS: 85%VIBE: 85%ATTITUDE: 88%
ESSENTIAL FOR: All John Norum fans, fans of European hard rock & melodic metal
DISCOGRAPHY:Total Control . Face The Truth . Another Destination . Worlds Away . Live . Slipped Into Tomorrow


13/11/02: Johnny Crossland - jon.crossland@advanceddoors.demon.co.uk
Rating: 8
Liked the album, but for my money you can't beat "Another Destination". John Norum is one of the best rock guitarists out there, and the album just seems a little rushed (song writing etc)

05/08/02: DAVID - DAVID.GARCIAZ@GRUPOBBVA.COM
Rating: 90
PERO QUE DICES ROCKYSTAR. JOHN NORUM ES EL MEJOR GUITARRISTA DESPUES DE RONNIE LE TEKRO. EN ESTE DISCO SE SALE TOCANDO LA GUITARRA, LOS TEMAS SON MUY BUENOS... PERO QUIZÁ LA PRODUCCIÓN NO ES MUY BUENA Y HACE QUE SUENE UN POCO OSCURO. LAS VOCES NO SUENAN BIEN O JOHN NO CANTA MUY ALLÁ. ES QUIZÁ EL ÚNICO FALLO DEL DISCO. SI HUBIERA CONTADO CON UN BUEN CANTANTE, QUE YO TODAVÍA ESTOY EN QUE ÉL LO ES, O HUBIERA UNA MEJOR PRODUCCIÓN EN LAS VOCES, EL DISCO SE MERECERÍA UN 100.

09/03/02: Robert - robert_jason@hotmail.com
Rating: 10
This album rocks if you don`t like then your not a true rocker go back to your wimp bands when your ready for some more heavy guitar give this disc a spinit is definetly not melodic and it is a different direction for John but that does not mean it is bad like some of these reviews saydiffernt times differnt songs a must have for true hard rockers.

24/01/01: Rockystar - rockystar@hastajuego.com
Rating: 20
mal, muy mal john, es casi peor que el worlds away..creo que estas un poco perdido, no merece la pena tansiquiera comprarse este disco por ningun tema, centrate jhon seguro que nos puedes ofrecer algo bueno, tu puedes darnos todo lo bueno que llebas dentro, seguire comprando tus discos solo para ver si sme sorprendes

21/01/01: John H - jsformula1fan@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
I got this a month ago. The biggest problem is that most of the songs seem to come and go without staying in my brain, with the exception of tracks one two and three. And the most annoying thing is the sound of John's vocals. They sound like they are being sent through a tape machine at slow speed. However I love the guitar sound and the guitar playing is top notch as always...

31/12/00: Kenny D - norumrules@yahoo.com
Rating: 11
Slipped Into Tomorrow rocks hard. Solid performance from start to finsh. Great solos, great vocals, great songs. Kee Marcello? Those words are not worthy of being spoken in the same breath as John Norum. It's nice to see someone with the balls to put out something totally original. All the other 80's rockers trying to recapture their glory should listen to Slipped Into Tomorrow. Norum has proven that he is the master. His first 2 albums are awesome and his 3rd & 4th are respectable efforts. This one shows amazing artistic progression and what a talent Norum truly is. As a former die hard Yngwie fan I must admit, Norum has taken his place with ease. Yngwie should listen to Slipped Into Tomorrow more than anyone.

23/11/00: Marc livein - lifeon@hotmail.com
Rating: 2
John Norum is absolutely lack of ideas nowadays. He did his worst mistake the day he left europe, and never has been recovered. I hope that if europe reunites he is not gonna be the guitarrist. I hope is gonna be Kee Marcello

21/08/00: LANNY SMITH - sjs102460@aol.com
Rating: 11
JOHN NORUM RULES

11/05/00: Roel de Jong - rm.dejong@chello.nl
Rating: 10
Dave (Orangehole) must be a loverboy with bananes in his ears. Unbelievable, John Norum is tearing down the walls with fantastic heavy rythmsections, powerfull guitarsolo's and last but not least driving vocals. Speaking about no direction Dave, (nickname "hole" says enough): just walk into the "Cul de Sac" if you no what I mean. John, you've set the standard for a new wave of metal (can't get it out of my head)!!! Whe love tot slip into tomorrow, and Dave remember: it's not a shame to be a fan of Ratt/Poison or any other fake band, but don't bother the serious stuff. You ain't ready for it.

20/04/00: Dave - Orangehole@aol.com
Rating: 5
Man what a crappy cd. What happened to the melodic vertures as senn in John's first 2 cds. This is a mish mosh of rock with no hooks or melodies. Just seemed like the guy just jammed and never did any thought on his songs. Avoid this cd if possible. I traded my copy as soon as i rec'd it. Pure garbage. This not like Face the Truth or Total Control. This is heavier styled music which has no direction. Just my 2 cents.

08/03/00: Benjamin Niebla II - bniebla@worldspy.net
Rating: 10
Calexico, California 3-7-00
You hit it right on the money. John Norum is one hell of a guitar slinger and his own voice propelling his sure fire songs is a winner. Again, the only one that beats him out is John Sykes. Thanks John Norum for putting yourself on the forefront of the 2000 metal scene.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: