Now & Then / Frontiers FRCD 089
Produced by: Haven

Released: August 20 / Website
Relatives: Fiona, T'pau, Robin Beck

  1. The Curtain
  2. Can You Hear Us
  3. All I Ever Need
  4. Halfway Home
  5. Strange Premonition
  6. Face The Day
  7. Show Them
  8. The Road
  9. Hold On
  10. Someday Soon
  11. The One
  12. Forgiveness

Haven is fronted by lead vocalist Pamme - quite a revelation indeed!
She has quite a presence on this material and as a vocalist in general is one of the best female leads I have heard in a long time.
She has that touch that turns a straight ahead rock song into a more gut wrenching emotional experience and I shudder to think how much better she will become!
Haven recorded and released this album independently and a copy made it to the desk of Now & Then Productions chief Mark Ashton.
He also saw the potential in these guys and signed them up, with this debut release now featuring new artwork and packaging, but the same song line up as the indie release.
What I expect Mark will do gives me great cause for excitement.
This is one of the best female fronted AOR albums in a very long time.
As good as this album is for fans of sultry female vocal lead soft melodic rock, under the guidance of Now &Then they are bound to get even better. Scary fact that!
Haven is Pamme, Michael Brody (Bass, Guitars) and John Vanselow (Guitars).
Joining them on the album is melodic rock heavy weights Matt Sorum (drums) and Robin McAuley (backing vocals).
The band play a mix of mid tempo rockers with sultry heartbreaking ballads.
The vocal power of Pamme is something to get AOR fans excited.
The sound of the band and of Pamme herself most closely resembles fellow melodic AOR rockers Fiona and Robin Beck - with even more guts and raw emotion!
Comparisons can also be made to Heart - especially with the musical direction and vocally also to the very cool Carol Decker of T'Pau.
Any music fan with albums from these ladies in their collection needs to add Haven. I doubt you will be disappointed.
The harmonies and backing vocals and song arrangements keep the listener interested and entertained throughout.
I rate these guys above Dante Fox and Robin Beck.
There is a little room for further improvement in the production quality, but that will come with an expanded production budget. The delivery and passion of the songs far out weights any minor point there.
BOTTOM LINE: This is a great album of emotion filled rock, with a great new discovery leading the way on vocals.
The album has a varied pace - from melodic rockers to sultry pop to powerful emotion filled power ballads - all with a very AOR twist.
For fans of female fronted melodic rock, there is a new Queen in town.
ESSENTIAL FOR: All fans of powerful, female fronted AOR tinged melodic rock. Fans of Fiona, T'Pau & Robin Beck.

Back To site Frontpage