SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Gotthard Need To Believe Nuclear Blast
Produced By: Rich Chicky

Running Time: 44.34

Release Date: Out Now

Released:

Musical Style: Hard Rock

Links: Gotthard
95%
Songs: 94%
Sound: 97%
Maintaining their reputation as one of hard rock's most consistent and reliable bands, Switzerland's biggest ever rock band Gotthard return with another crowd pleasing album of anthems and emotional rockers.
When any band has been around some 17 years, each release will cause some debate amongst fans that have a particular allegiance to a particular album.
I am of the opinion that these guys can pretty much do no wrong. While their pinnacle was the amazing Lipservice album, the follow up Domino Effect was almost as infectious, if not as commercial as its predecessor.
Need To Believe fits somewhere in between. It has the song strength and anthemic qualities of Lipservice, but retains some of the darker, more contemporary slant of Domino Effect.
One thing is for certain the production is amazing, the band sounds brilliant and once again the album is chock full of songs that draw you back for repeat listens, time and time again.

Track By Track:
The heavy retro Led Zep riff of Shangri-La sets up the album in that tough and uncompromising way, but the soaring chorus was an immediate hit with me.
The faster tempo of Unspoken Words is to me classic Gotthard powerful, hard hitting and Steve Lee's raspy vocals, all building to a massive chorus. Perfect hard rock.
The slow and moody, yet hard rocking title track Need To Believe makes it 3 for 3 as far as great choruses go.
Unconditional Faith eases up on the intensity, with a mostly acoustic driven pop rocker.
I Don't Mind rocks with a heavy hand and that Gotthard intensity. A decent chorus yes, but more so in that 'album track' vein.
Break Away has a certain hard rock swagger before a big commercial chorus bursts through. Another great song.
Don't Let Me Know is the first real ballad of the album and features the emotional intensity and killer chorus that we expect from this band.
Right From Wrong is just a great hard rocker with a big riffing chorus.
I Know, You Know is another solid album track with yet another original chorus and leading guitar riff.
Rebel Soul rocks hard and fast. And another great chorus makes this a real hard rock album.
Tears To Cry is a big rock ballad to close the album. The style that starts slow and builds to a flurry at the end.
The Bottom Line
This is how Bon Jovi should be doing it. Pleasing your core fans first and then worrying about who else might listen in afterwards.
I stated this album slotted in between the last two studio albums and that's exactly where I rate this, although I will forever regret not giving Lipservice a higher score when originally reviewed. I just though the last 2 or 3 songs killed the momentum of the album as a whole. Here though the band don't out stay their welcome and 12 tracks makes for a very tidy and hard rocking release. The angst and attitude of Domino Effect, but with the choruses and melodic sensibility of Lipservice. Great stuff!
Discography / Previously Reviewed
Gotthard
Dial Hard
G
Defrosted
Open
Homerun
Human Zoo
Lip Service
Domino Effect
Need To Believe

Line Up:
Steve Lee: Vocals
Leo Leoni, Freddy Scherer: Guitars
Hena Habegger: Drums
Marc Lynn: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
Gotthard
Bon Jovi
European Hard Rock
Track Listing
Shangri-La *
Unspoken Words *
Need To Believe *
Unconditional Faith *
I Don't Mind
Break Away *
Don't Let Me Know
Right From Wrong *
I Know, You Know
Rebel Soul *
Tears To Cry

--*Best Tracks


02/01/10: Gary Holder - www.garyholder20@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
Good album not as good as Lipservice but my favourite is Domino Effect saying that Gotthard played all their new songs live brilliantly great band.

15/12/09: Paul - pgborden@hotmail.com
Rating: 84
A "Very Good" cd, though not a "Must Buy". Highlights include NEED TO BELIEVE, BREAKAWAY, & DON'T LET ME KNOW. For those that can get the version with the bonus track AIN'T ENOUGH, it's well worth it. Better than Domino Effect, but pales in comparison to Lip Service.

14/12/09: Scott Pickett - scpickett@sbcglobal.net
Rating: 85
After releasing LipService,which in my opinion,is the crowning moment for Gotthard,the latest 2 cd's have been a slight letdown. But,there are still plenty of enjoyable tunes for the Gotthard,or any melodic rock fan oout there to enjoy. I like Gotthard,but they set the bar so high with Lipwervice,it may be hard to match. Still worth the price though!

02/12/09: Hollis McCall - Hollismccall@charter.net
Rating: 99
Discovered Gottard a few years ago myself and have been fortunate to acquire most of thier albums ("g", "defrosted", and "human zoo" now available on itunes and amazon mp3) and have become convinced that these guys could sit around and just belch for 45 minutes and they would still find a way to make it sound fantastic. Other reviewers have called them Europe's version of Bon Jovi and after listening to thier latest, I have become convinced of the same. Some of the best melodic rock I have EVER heard and one of my top 5 favorite bands. And can anyone write and perform better power ballads? Probably not. If you enjoy fist pumping rockers and lush chorus', balanced with top notch production and fantastic sing-a-long vocals, this is the band for you. I dare say that this album may be even better that thier 2005 masterpeice, "Lipservice". This is a melodic rock must have.

01/12/09: Gary - kari.hautakoski@kolumbus.fi
Rating: 55
A disappointment. Lip Service was a 95, Domino Effect 75 so there is a downward trend unfortunately. Songwriting is not very strong on the new one.

01/12/09: Felipe - fpalma@cdk.cl
Rating: 70
For me this one was a let down. I love Gotthard don't get me wrong, but I find it undefined, didn't like all the songs and there are to many changes in the guitar riffs, some are really heavy and then they are very smooth...I love Steve Lee's voice...but this album is one of my least favorite, totally over rated!

03/11/09: Peter - sudfryslan@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
The power of Domino Effect combined with the melody and hooks of Lip Service. Gotthard throws in some genuine hard rock here, not being to worried whether this is going to be a big crowd pleaser or not, what gives it an extra plus.

01/11/09: ROSEVILLE - roknroseville@yahoo.com
Rating: 90
The best band of the last 7 years in my opinion! Every cd is great melodic metal... And this cd is killer1

18/10/09: Terry K. - terrygk3@juno.com
Rating: 95
This is simply just another stellar release from the band that just keeps rolling over the competition. The last two cds had a certain 'new' flair-agreed. This new cd is perhaps a more standard approach,giving little glimpses back to earlier releases. Some may be a bit jaded about that approach,but I really love the band,and it alll comes down to the songs,really. And this is another great batch of tunes by these guys!! It may take a few listens to realize just how great they are as songwriters. In the vein of most of their previous work,but still solid Gotthard music that contains a freshness w/o copying too close to older songs. Great,great stuff again,guys-keep it up!! T

17/10/09: peter - peter@aor.com
Rating: 90
Gotthard have'nt quite topped the utterly Superb 'LipService' album with this new one. All that's missing is a real killer song like 'Lift you Up' from that album. But these guys are at the top of the mountain as far as hard rock with great melody goes. And their newest release,Need To Believe,is another stellar release from Gotthard. This new release is the perfect combination of "Lipservice" and "Domino Effect", taken one extra step up in production. It's got the whistles and bells of a 2009 big budget radio ready offering, but still offers the uncompromising heavy melodic rock and great ballads that Gotthard has become huge for in Europe. These guys 'get it' and know exactly what it takes to write and perform awesome,hook-laiden gems that would fit in seamlessly on any classic rock radio station. You could place their songs anywhere between Aerosmith,Journey,Bon Jovi,AC/DC,Def Leppard,or any other huge acts that are all over US radio,and they'd blend in...NO--they'd STAND OUT and many fans of melrock would be clammering for more and run out to find their catalog of great releases. Highly Recommended!!

14/10/09: Shane - herbertshane@hotmail.com
Rating: 8
'Lip Service' is Gotthards best album to date and therefore everything they release will be compared to it. 'Need to believe lacks a killer song and has a couple of fillers.
It's still better than 99% of rock albums that are being released at the moment but they could have spent some more time on the song arrangments to make them a little more complex or interesting, there are some very basic arrangements wich after 3-4 listens are a bit boring or will we say AC/DC type songs.
If you are new to Gotthard, get 'Lip Service' so you can hear how good this band can be.

13/10/09: zok - micke_016@hotmail.comm
Rating: 85
Gotthard is still a great band. But this album is not in the same class as Lipservice and Domino Effect. The problem? Its the up and downs. Many good songs, but also some fillers.

13/10/09: simon shorten - simon.shorten1@virgin.net
Rating: 98
Only discovered Gotthard 3 years ago, and only have Lip Service and Domino Effect, am currently after their back catalogue - But this blew me away! Best album of the year so far. If you like great, loud, powerful, melodic, hair raising rock, then buy this. My taste goes from Dare to Sunstorm to Melodic metal i.e Allen/Lande(or anything by Magnus Karlsson) I just like music that is the best of the melodic genre - And this is!


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: