Track Listing
· Human Zoo (3)
· What I Like (1)
· Have A Little Faith
· Top Of The World (2)
· James' Not Alone
· Still I Belong To You
· One In A Million
· No Tomorrow
· First Time In A Long Time
· Where I Belong
· Long Way Down
· What Can I Do

(*) Best Tracks

Discography
· Gotthard
· Dial Hard
· G
· Defrosted
· Open
· Homerun
· Human Zoo

Buy it if you liked:
Gotthard - Homerun
Bon Jovi - Bounce
GOTTHARD
Human Zoo
BMG Switzerland
· Produced By: Not Listed
· Running Time: · Genre: Melodic Rock
· Release Date: Out Now · Released: EU
· WebLink: Gotthard · LabelLink: BMG
89%

The key to any good album is good songwriting. regardless of style or delivery, if the album contains good songs, then it should succeed. Over the years Gotthard have transformed themselves from a straight up hard rock act, into a more refined melodic rock act, with an ever maturing sound and continued success in their native Switzerland.
This album is interesting for a couple of reasons. It's the first without long time collaborator Chris Von Rohr, and it comes after a mellower previous studio album and a ballads compilation.
It would seem the band are more comfortable in this more mature setting they find themselves in.
So what does Human Zoo offer? Above everything else, good songwriting. Great songs in fact. And while the debate will continue between fans over what era they prefer and why aren't this hard rock band heavier, (ask Bon Jovi the same thing), the fact remains that the guys know a good melody and combined with excellent production and a strong lead vocalist, this album delivers the melodic rock goods.
As long as you don't mind your melodic rock on the softer side. The rockers are guitar driven, but they aren't what you call heavy, and yes, there is a fair proportion of slower numbers. But they are all good songs.
Human Zoo opens the album in expected rocking mode - a pretty smooth Bon Jovi-ish mid to up-tempo track that should please most fans.
What I Like is a slow to mid-tempo track and the first single. It kicks off acoustically, but does build in intensity. The lead vocals of Steve Lee are sensational. A cool, raspy, moody melodic vocal that comes tolife once the chorus hits - a strong, memorable chorus.
It doesn't take long for the first power ballad to arrive. Have A Little Faith is a strong ballad, with a nice sentimental feel and some more strong vocals.
Time for another rocker with Top Of The World. A strong lead guitar riff and a great uptempo chorus help make this song one of the album's best and is well placed to keep the album flowing well.
James' Not Alone is a mid-tempo acoustic driven tune that sees a new dimension added to the band's songwriting. It's pure American heartland, despite the band being Swiss! Reminds me also of some Tony Carey solo material. Another strong song, but one that may not appeal to all fans.
Still I Belong To You is another power ballad, this time a little more rock than the first ballad and a song with a moody edge.
One In A Million is another guitar driven track. It's uptempo without being a rocker and features a anthemic chorus, while never really going over the top. It's pretty restrained, but another good melodic track.
No Tomorrow is a slow, moody rock track. No major hooks, but a song that fits the flow of the album well and changes the mood a little.
First Time In A Long Time is another big ballad. If you liked the 2 previous, you'll like this also. Nothing out of formula for the guys.
Where I Belong is a mid tempo, feel good pop rocker that lifts the tempo a little and again fits in well.
Long Way Down is a good electric guitar based rocker. A darker and slightly more aggressive sound than the rest of the album, the song features some good melodic moments, but could have done with a bigger chorus.
Closing the album is power ballad number four, the slow starting What Can I Do, which builds through the song into a nice little power ballad.

The Bottom Line
Maybe even smoother than the last album - more so because of an excellent production and generally more mature sound. Above all style and heaviness issues, the main aspect of the album's strength's are it's songs. While they are fairly restrained as far as rockers go, the quality shines through and should see most fans of the band pleased.
This album also has a chance to pick up new fans, as I believe their sound is less European then ever and will appeal to a broad spectrum of melodic rock fans.

Line Up
· Steve Lee: Vocals
· Leo Leoni: Guitar
· Mandy Meyer: Guitar
· Hena Habegger: Drums
· Marc Lynn: Bass

Additional Ratings
Songwriting
90%
Attitude
85%
Production
93%


13/01/05: Mark Kennedy - Clareandmark@freenetname.co.uk
Rating: 65
'Homerun' was a classic with lots of memorable songs.I find this album a bit boring and very rarely play it.'What I Like' is great and the only different sounding song,but that's it.

26/12/04: ROBERT - vanjovi1@hotmail.com
Rating: 89
Absolutamente Geniales!!
Mi grupo actual favorito, sin ninguna clase de duda!!

los conoci en 1991, y dp d tantos aņos, me siguen echizando y maravillando...
recomendadisima toda su discografia.
Haber si veniis a Spain!!
Saludos Aoeros desde Barcelona!!

24/11/03: Terry K. - terrygk2@juno.com
Rating: 95
First off...Sorry,Andrew! I missed your review of this great cd!! Gotthard are on par with Thunder as being on top as fantastic songwriters AND consistantly great releases! One really has o wonder how bands THIS GOOD don't become monsters in the international scene...very sad state of affairs,indeed! Bottom line..get this,and you'll be searching out their other releases,too.They were a bit 'harder edged' on the early ones,but have emerged as a solid band with sure-fire great c.d.'s.

11/11/03: scott dixon - scooterd00@sbcglobal.net
Rating: 99
once again gotthard release an outstanding cd they show why they are one of the best band period.top of the world is a classic. would love to see them come to the usa and show all theese new modern bands how a greatband sounds like.

24/09/03: Geoff - g.a.wols@ponl.com
Rating: 92
Always out ot impress, the Gotthard boys once again come equipped with a bunch of commercially hard rocking gems. I think they've found a groove that would see them struggle to distribute a poor album. All they need now is for someone 'important' in the industry to take note and everyone will know who Gotthard are, as they should have after 'Homerun'

'Human Zoo' and 'What I Like' are both superb slabs of commercial hard rock and see Gotthard at their hard rocking best, with big riffs for all.
'Still I Belong To You' is beautiful, 'One In A Million' is once again commercial hard rock at it's finest an one of my faves on the album. Killer tune.
'No Tomorrow' is big, heavy and one again a top notch song. Another album fave. And the album closer 'What Can I Do' is a touching, emotional balladic ride on which I like to board. Excellent rock ballad if ever I knew one.

An extremely impressive album, but then again that's no surprise. Gotthard are without doubt on of the finest bands out there today and deserve the recognition.

20/07/03: Nicodim - nicodim-r@mail.ru
Rating: 100
Best 2003 release up to date in my opinion. I like it much, very much! Incredible songs, great vocals. My personal favourites are Have A Little Faith, What I Like, Top Of The World, One In A Million and First Time In A Long Time. Though, actually there's no weak tracks at all! Steve Lee sounds GREAT, GOOD or may be even as a GOD! Killer album! Wanna little more of that kind!

15/04/03: patiscat - melodicrock.ch@gmx.net
Rating: 100
Great songs, super singer - There is no filler on the album und sometimes it rocks too. If you like good songs this one is for you.

10/04/03: meisterchaos - meisterchaos@excite.de
Rating: 60
sorry, but this is another new boring CD! Its a little step to their stuff of the first cds but nothing more, again to many ballads!
Live it is still a good band but the CDs are boring! I prefer the band Shakra, much more power, similar to Gottards first cd!

25/03/03: Freddy De Keyzer - freddydekeyzer@hotmail.com
Rating: 72
Human Zoo is a right step again to the more hardrock orientated stuff from the early days. But it is still not enough, too many acoustic stuff are the minor points on this CD ! Strongest point is the great voice of Steve, but the material is still not strong enough. Better next time, and who knows that Gothard will be back as a great hardrock band,as they should be.

20/03/03: alejandro - acontrec@gmx.net
Rating: 90
Great album, top notch production and above all, great songs! This is a total winner. Nothing really new in terms of style: always great composition skills and awesome songs. "What I like" is a very good single, hope it gets some radio airplay. Bottom line: Get it!

13/03/03: Scot Gohring - Scott.Gohring@unilever.com
Rating: 85
Gotthard are one of the best hard rock/melodic rock groups of all time! It's a shame they never caught on in the states during the 90's. That said, I think this is a stong cd for what it is a mature melodic release. I like Gotthard best when they rock out and a times you get a hint of the past in songs like Human Zoo and Top of the world. I like this cd but I just don't love it and that's due to my musical taste. Buy it if you like new Bon Jovi or your rock on the lighter side. Oh yea, Steve Lee's voice kicks butt but I do miss the guitars!

13/03/03: Figge - anderssonfigge@hotmail.com
Rating: 83
I think this is a very good album! When I first heard the soundbytes I thought this album would be a little rougher/harder, but it turned out to be a false prediction. The album could have contained a few more uptempo songs, even though the ballads are pretty good. There are some average songs and some highlights as usual...."What I Like" and "Top Of The World" being the highlights, awesome songs actually! More of that and this would have been hard to top. The production-quality on Human Zoo is also absolutely brilliant...love the sound and mixing.

12/03/03: Gonzalo del Valle - gonzogonzo@guay.com
Rating: 75
Gotthard is one of the best groups in melodic rock world, they are one step in front of the other bands. This album is brilliant, mature with fantastic melodic tunes but I miss tracks like Heaven, Eagle, Love Soul Matter, Little Rock īnī roller...is that to say the fact of super-songs. In any case good work guys!!!
From Spain, peace around the world.

12/03/03: hafanana - hafanana@mailru.com
Rating: 90
Good album, but Human Zoo song like Nickelback!


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: