SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
EDDIE MONEY / READY EDDIE
LABEL: CMC INTERNATIONAL
OVERALL: 95%
Produced by: Curt Cuomo, Frankie Sullivan and Eddie Money
  1. Ready To Rock
  2. Don't Say No Tonight
  3. So Cold Tonight
  4. Let It Go
  5. Turn The Light Off
  6. It's Gotta Be Love
  7. Can't Go On
  8. Nobody Knows
  9. When You Gonna Satisfy Me
  10. Need A Little Rock
  11. Broken Down Chevy (God Only Knows)
In 1995 Eddie had it all. A new outlook, a new label and a new album Love And Money. The only thing was that Eddie was hurting from the death of long time friend and mentor Bill Graham.
And the mood of that album reflected that. It was a mellow and R&B tinged album. Following the awesome 1992 high energy rock album Right Here with this album left a few fans disappointed. Me included.
Eight years on from the album Right Here Eddie has decided it's time to revisit the feel of that recording and Ready Eddie is the result of that.
It is a rock album through and through and sees Eddie teaming up once again with long time bud Curt Cuomo and enlists one of Curt's former collaborators - Survivor guitarist Frankie Sullivan.
Frankie plays guitar all over this record and produced it with Curt and Eddie. And produced the shit out of it they have. Tight, mixed perfectly, harmony vocals to die for and layers and layers of melodies.
While the album is not all hard rock - it mixes that with AOR numbers, smooth ballads and some blues based tunes. But the feel and theme is consistent and this is clearly a guitar driven record from start to finish.
Intentions are clearly stated in the first few seconds of Ready Eddie.
A crunching guitar riff leads into that familiar vocal we have all come to love.
Ready To Rock is probably the most predictable song of the album. You have heard it all before - a standard hard rocker with lyrics to match. But this serves a useful purpose. After Love & Money, some fans may be cautious. Anyone picking this album up for a listen will be left with no doubts the man is in form and even in reading the song titles on the back of a cover, a song like Ready To Rock is a good sign. so we will forgive Eddie the lyrical content and just get right into that fabulously heavy sound. One of the heaviest rockers I have heard Eddie sing. Check out the last 20 seconds - great sound. And boy does his voice sound awesome.
Now that the rock vibe has been established Don't Say No Tonight establishes the classy melodic power AOR sound of Right Here and Can't Hold Back. A wonderful ballady intro and verse that gives way to a rocking guitar riff and pure AOR anthem chorus. Anthems, multi layers, hooks and bridges. Eddie and the band sound a million bucks. Check out the last 20 seconds of this track!
This is the first single and if radio doesn't jump all over this, I will quit this site. There would just be no point. A restrained but extended solo from Frankie rounds it out nicely.
So Cold Tonight takes the album in another direction. This is a mid tempo track that smolders along without ever catching fire. But that is the beauty of it. It is rich in guitar textures and organ in the background, with Eddie's raspy vocals providing the entire tempo and melody changes. Huge.
Let It Go kicks in with a pop rock guitar riff and heads into a feel good pop rocker feel, reminding me of Another Nice Day In LA from Right Here. A good fun mid tempo rocker with a sing a long chorus.
Turn The Light Off is the first ballad of the album. It mixes a grand piano sound with an orchestra. A typical big Eddie Money rock ballad. Very heartfelt.
It's Gotta Be Love opens with another big crunching guitar riff. Eddie's vocal is there and then the full band. Then a bridge and harmony vocals - then that chorus. Harmony vocals, guitars and Eddie. A huge anthem. One of the album's best tracks.
Can't Go On is another great anthem track in disguise. It opens with a ballady soft guitar feel and some smooth vocals, but gives way to a uptempo pure AOR power ballad anthem. Another pick for best track of the album.
Nobody Knows is another track that reminds me of the Eddie of the past. A moody Can't Hold Back feel to it. Rich guitar and drums textures and a hugely melodic mid paced chorus with plenty of harmony vocals again.
When You Gonna Satisfy Me is a great track. This one is going to slay them live. A moody hard blues rocker that opens with a slow bluesy solo that is over taken by a totally heavy rhythm section and hard blues riff. Mid paced and another track that truly smolders. A small more melodic bridge breaks the song in half and heads straight back into blues heaven. Nice solo.
Need A Little Rock is one of those hard rocking party tunes again, not unsimilar to the opener. Good fun vibe and another great tune live I would think.
Broken Down Chevy (God Only Knows) ends the album in fine hard rocking Eddie Money style. This reminds me of Eddie's early hard rock days like Shakin' or No Control. Hard and heavy, killer guitar and a big vocal from Ed. An extended instrumental section and some cool harmonica finishes the track off.
Well what more can I add to that summary?
Any person that has ever bought a Eddie Money album for any reason needs to get a hold of this record. This is a monster that will rank along side Can't Hold Back and Right Here as Eddie's best work ever.
I wasn't sure the guys till had it in him, but I am more than happily proved wrong. On Ready Eddie, there is enough energy and great music to suggest Eddie has another 20 years left in him.
Get this album!
PRODUCTION: 95%SONGS: 93%VIBE: 95%ATTITUDE: 97%
ESSENTIAL FOR: Every Eddie money fan and fans of great guitar driven melodic hard rock.
DISCOGRAPHY: Eddie Money . Life For The Taking . Where's The Party . No Control . Can't Hold Back . Nothing To Lose . Greatest Hits - The Sound Of Money . Right Here . Unplug It In - Acoustic EP . Love And Money . Shakin' With The Money Man . Ready Eddie


04/01/05: BOB - 2TIXS@OPTIONLINE.NET
Rating: 100
IT IS EM's BEST WORK SINCE "LIFE FOR THE TAKING" STUFF....TURN THE LIGHT OFF......ED'S BEST BALLARD!!!!!!!!!! I WISH THIS CD HAD MORE AIR PLAY!!!!!!!!!!!

BOB

09/07/04: Dave - @
Rating: 95
This is a great rock album, Frankie Sullivan has once again proven that he is one of the greatest guitarists ever! It is nice to see Eddie rocking hard and heavy again, this is a must get CD for fans of Eddie, Frankie, and all guitar fans!

17/06/04: kevin - kevinattitude@aol.com
Rating: 90
Eddie has a lot left in him and it is time to release a follow up to this great disc. Although most classic rock artist probably will never get new stuff on the air . Eddie performs 100 plus concerts a year and still has a great fan base.
I loved It's Gotta Be Love & Don't Say No Tonight.

15/05/01: kevin - kevinattitude@aol.com
Rating: 9
eddie money rocks on ready eddie! don't say no tonight is awesome! it should have been a top 10 single however radio neglected it. it's gotta be love and can't go on are awesome. also, ready to rock and broken down chevey are real cool hard rock tunes! if this cd had a better 3-4-5 songs it might have been eddie's best cd ever! there are other awesome songs like i put my life in your hands he should have put on this cd as well as mercy drive and dancing in the moonlight! hopefully his next cd will even be better. frankie sullivan ( survivor) and kenny aronoff with curt cuomo make this cd incredible.

14/01/01: Scott Watson - scottw@mfx.net
Rating: 100
This is the best Eddie Money since No Control. It's a crime that radio hasn't played this cd to death. If you like Eddie Money when he's in the mood to rock. Shut off your pc and go buy this cd!!!!!!

24/09/00: Scott - scottw@mfx.net
Rating: 9
One of my favorite Eddie Money releases. Lots of very good rock songs, (which is what Eddie does best). This cd should have gotten lots of radio play.

14/08/99: Chad - lambert@open-line.com
Rating: 40
I really wanted to like this album. It had everything you could hope for. Frankie Sullivan is one of the most under-rated producers in the business. His production and guitar work on this album are perfect. I just don't think the songs are that good. I found myself correctly predicting lyrics before they were sang. The album does gel together very well, which is the problem. I listened to it 3 times and can't remember any of the songs, except "Don't Say No Tonight". If the entire record was as good as that track, I would give it a 100. I love Eddie Money and have his entire catalog, but was seriously let down by "Ready Eddie". Geez, I feel really bad for not liking it! It should have had stronger tras.

30/05/99: Brad - vandelay5150@hotmail.com
Rating: 90
I've never been a big Eddie Money fan, and I still say at times that his vocals are a bit lacking. But this CD is cool for some many reasons...tasteful guitar playing (from the real Survivor, not Jamison's band) from Frankie Sullivan, plus a great mix of ballads and tracks that rock. My three favs : Don't Say No Tonight (an excellent choice as first single), It's Gotta Be LOve and Can't Go On (notice that two of my favs are tracks 6 and 7...the only negative review so far has only heard sound bites of the first 5 tracks). A must for EM fans, and if you can get past his vocals, a must for all AOR fans in genera

28/05/99: Brian Severa - bsevera@execpc.com
Rating: 98
This is perhaps the BEST album I've heard from Eddie Money (aside from his greatest hits release). This is 100% pure rock
and roll mixed with heart-felt ballads that should have little problem making it onto the charts. After a let-down with his last
album, I was hestitant to pick up another Eddie Money album, but after listening to it, I must say, this purchase was WELL
worth it. I think collaborating with Frankie Sullivan on some of the tracks and having Frankie producing gave this album the
boost it needed to get lost Eddie fans back on the rock-n-roll band wagon. It would be a shame if some of these tracks
don't get airplay on the radio. My rating is 98% - rock and roll doesn't get much better than ts.

28/05/99: robin - roblove11@aol.com
Rating: 10
i'm the only guy in the column so far to say this cd doesn't impress. 'right now' is one of my top 5 fav. aor cd's from the early 90's-that gets 100 from me. i only heard clips from the first 5 trx but it gives me a feel of the cd-a party r&r cd where every song sounds like the last-i heard the same review from another eddy money fan. i'm sure there's ok trx on it, but in comparison to 'right now' it gets 10. too much forgettable party r&r, none of which compare to 'heaven in the backseat' and not too much aor. at least there's still hope for eddy, becau e

24/05/99: Janet - spotgrfx@net66.com
Rating: 99
This is Eddie's best album ever! IMO. I l-O-V-E this cd. "Need alittle Rock" and "Broken Down Chevy" are my least favorite, but they aren't bad songs. Being a huge fan of Survivor I feel Frankie S. was the SPICE that made this album special. It's Rich and it Rocks! I highly recommend. It hasn't left my player. Good to the last drop. It's the best album I've bought in the 90's! Thanks for a great one di

24/05/99: Dave O\'Leary - hgwy407@surfree.com
Rating: 90
I have been a huge Eddie fan since his first album. The last disc fell short for me. Ready Eddie finds Eddie returning somewhat to his roots. The album is a killer, and a classic among his entire catolog. This album is right up there with his first, No Control, Right Here and Can't Hold Back. Most of the material is awesome. Ready To Rock, Don't Say No Tonight, Broken Down Chevy, It' Gotta Be Love and Can't Go On are worth the price of admission. I'm glad to see Eddie put forth such a great effort. However a couple of the songs seem like filler to me. So Cold Tonight, Let It Go and Nobody Knows are weak, to say the least. But only three less than strong songs out of eleven is a huge achievement by any artists standards. Good job Ede!

23/05/99: Barry Gault - BarryGLee@aol.com
Rating: 95
I must admit I am a die hard Eddie Money fan but even if I wasn't Iwould still give it a great rating! I think it is Eddie's best album yet,from the catchy tune of "Don't say no tonight" to the hard rocking "It's gotta be love". The album brings out the best in Eddie's trademark style,the way he mixes hard rock with soft rock to great ballads. The song "Turn the light" is a perfect example of Money's talents. Keep rockin Eddie, the album is a mt!

20/05/99: Jason "chach" Lurcott - chachie@erols.com
Rating: 90
<p>
After hauling down to the Mall after getting a hair cut I finally was able to pick up this Cd. The funny thing was there
was only one copy left and it was oddly located with all the older stuff??? Anyway it's a kick ass Cd overall. Sullivan
Sends chills down your spine with some of the work. The feel of this whole album is great, every song flows perfectly
together. Eddie, Frankie, and Cuomo did a great job on this album. Sounds absolutely flawless. 2 of the songs I still
have the urge to skip through, but then again this is my first Eddie Money Cd. So the sound is still pretty new to me.
<br> chach


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: