Escape Music ESM 071
Produced by: Marc LaFrance + Various

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Relatives: Loverboy, Chicago, Survivor

  1. The First Shot
  2. Love Is On It's Way
  3. Lost Without Your Love
  4. Caught In A Hurricane
  5. No Fun Anymore
  6. Turn To Me
  7. I Can Never Stop The Rain
  8. Take A Chance On Love
  9. Heartbreak Avenue
  10. What's So Good About Him
  11. Action Reaction
  12. Being With The Ones You Love

Marc LaFrance is one of Canada's unheralded cult AOR figures. His solo album From Out Of Nowhere has it's place in the pages of AOR history and now he adds First Shot. This release is another lost from the vaults release, made available for the first time now.
This is a major step back into 80's pop rock. It's another example of the man's fine songwriting abilities and melodic stylings.
The album has been mixed by Paul Dean, making it sound as sharp as possible and despite it's obvious 80's sound, stands up well alongside releases recorded today.
The opening title track is 80's high-tech keyboard pop at it's best, which leads straight into the soft melodic gem Love Is On It's Way. This is a sweet uptempo pure AOR ballad. Very smooth. Very catchy.
Lost Without Your Love is totally and utterly in the same league as Survivor / Loverboy / Chicago power ballad territory. It seems impossible that this song hasn't already been featured on a David Foster penned movie soundtrack.
Caught In A Hurricane shows a heavier, more guitar dominated side to the band, while Take A Chance On Love is so pure 80's pop it isn't funny.
BOTTOM LINE: It may be a throw back to 20 years ago, but the class of the songs and principle songwriter Marc LaFrance is undeniable. I recommend it to those that wish they were still 19, Chicago were stil the first pick of movie soundtrack producers and those that really dig drive ins. Keyboards, lighters in the air and Marc La France - what more could you ask for?
ESSENTIAL FOR: All fans of Canadian rock and 80's AOR and some Loverboy/Chicago fans.

Back To site Frontpage