SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Deep Purple Rapture Of The Deep Edel
Produced By: Michael Bradford

Running Time: 51.12

Release Date: October 21

Released:

Musical Style:

Links: Deep Purple
86%
Songs: 84%
Sound: 88%
Purple without Blackmore really are chugging along aren't they? This is their 4th album with Steve Morse at the helm and second in relatively quick time, following 2003's Bananas. The band has also constantly toured, keeping the legacy alive, even without a couple of original members.
I loved their first album with Morse Perpendicular it was a unique album and a slight change in sound. The following two left me disappointed or somewhat nonchalant. I'm not sure I can pinpoint the reason it has to be the songs I guess but Rapture Of The Deep has me excited again.
This album follows the sound established by this line up and does require several listens to really get into the groove, but it does reward listeners. I found that Bananas didn't.
This is a really loose and groovy record! It has a little attitude and as stated, takes some time to get to know.
But I think the songs gathered make for a great listen. Money Talks and Girls Like That form a great one-two punch to get the album rolling along and for the most part are classic Purple rockers.
This is a long record for 10 tracks at least. A true groove filled record. There is a lot of music going on here and a lot of different musical parts to get to know.
Take the title track Rapture Of The Deep drenched in Hammond, with Gillan's authorative vocals guiding it, while Morse adds a quirky guitar riff to hook the listener. Through the song is at least 3 different changes in flow. It makes for an interesting song.
A personal favourite is the subtle mood of the ballad Clearly Quite Absurd. I love the lead vocal here and this was the first track I went back to after playing the album for the first time.
Other highlights are the swagger and boogie of Don't Let Go, the uptempo rocker Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye and the 6 minute plus closer Before Time Began.
The Bottom Line
On Rapture Of The Deep, Deep Purple recapture some of the essence that made Perpendicular a very cool record. While the album may not convince all, those that have continued to follow the band in the post-Morse era will surely find some new gems here.
Recent Discography / Previously Reviewed
Perpendicular
Abandon
Bananas
Rapture Of The Deep

Line Up:
Ian Gillan: Vocals
Steve Morse: Guitar
Ian Paice: Drums
Roger Glover: Bass
Don Airey: Keyboards

Essential For Fans Of:
Morse era Deep Purple
Ian Gillan
If you enjoyed this release - also check out:
Deep Purple - Perpendicular
Track Listing
Money Talks*
Girls Like That*
Wrong Man
Rapture Of The Deep*
Clearly Quite Absurd*
Don't Let Go
Back To Back
Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye*
Junkyard Blues
Before Time Began
--*Best Tracks


17/02/06: John Elway - megjimp@cableone.net
Rating: 40
I am truely a fan of classic rock, and have been a fan of numerous releases by these guys; but this is just dinosaur rock. I can't find a memorable song in the bunch and that overbearing keyboarding is just too much. Extremely boring and nonrocking.

16/02/06: Lou - lou@notasheep.com
Rating: 99
99.9% , Hey , nobodys perfect but Deep Purple comes
close . Bands of today could only wish in their
wildest dreams of pocessing even a 1/4 of the talent
of Deep Purple ....UFO , Blue Oyster Cult , Kansas...ect
and other classic bands still making music today . Anyway
back to "Rapture... Album has all those Purpendicularesque
qualities . Great CD , period ! Enjoy it !

04/01/06: Sava - svemirski_modulator@yahoo.com
Rating: 43
This release from legendary Deep Purple was big disappointment for me after very good "Bananas" cd. "Rapture Of The Deep" doesn't have one single song that will stay in your mind.it's just collection of well played pieces with almost nothing for listeners... One more thing-Ian Gillan is lost his voice!Shame...

03/01/06: Julian - notlob41@jahoo.com
Rating: 90
A real return to Purpenndicular-era form -- riffs, solos, melody and an organic production that makes the band feel live. I did not care for Bananas (previous album) which I found slick and lacking in the songwriting dept (Haunted was a great original however) and did not care for Abandon either, just too flat and lumbering -- Purps are best as a lively, jam-oriented event, with the recording sounding like a live band, not a studio production of multi-layered sounds. This album hits that space and rocks on.

Downsides are oddly, Gillan's determination to fill every space with hums and singalongs, I wish he would just let the band breathe in places, and the insistence on having a 'scream' on each album is really beyond a joke -- what once was improvisational has now become cliched. Lyrically, I also think he should try a bit harder sometimes and not just take the easy rhyme. Also, there is just not enough of Paicey here, his drumming is one of the essences of the band's sound and I think he is too low key for most of this (unlike Purpendicular where one could listen to him driving the band along with gusto). That said, the sound is far more DP than the last album, even with the same producer so maybe they are finding each other's buttons.


Note, this albue took several listens for me to really appreciate it -- at first listen I thought there was little new here, but I now see it as the quality effort it is. There are several excellent tracks, none better than the title track which belongs up there with the best in the DP canon. Clarly quite Absurd is also very good, as is Wrong Man and JunkYard Blues (lyrical laziness aside). Don Airey is simply doing Jon Lord as well as Lord ever did, and I mean that as a compliment - he just fits in and respects the traditions while adding some compelling and complementary sounds to the mix. He and Morse may actually be a great team.

So, if you are a Ritchie fan (and who would not be) then you can listen to this and not feel the legends have been pastiched and diss'ed -- this is a Purple album, and it is an album that returns more to Purpendicular than either of the previous two. There is life here yet - and for that I say well done!

02/12/05: wathewcdc - canoe7879@yahoo.com
Rating: 70
Well, they've kinda dropped the sparkling melodies and gone for groove again. Clearly Quite Absurd, Money Talks, Don't Let Go and Before Time Began are the highlights. MTV is fun but the novelty of hearing "No One Came" style of "SPoken Singing" will probably wear thin. They also did this on 1998's Abandon (exception: Fingers to the Bone). Which is why I was pleasantly surprised with 2003's Bananas opus. That album had the melodies (Haunted, Walk On) as well as the groove (I Got Your Number). Like most of their catalogue a reinvention has occurred. Only time will tell if it will be a worthwhile one.

30/11/05: Jayson Wyatt - jayrw69@netscape.net
Rating: 81
This album is very good, but not great. It's more consistent song-wise than their previous album, Bananas was, but I don't think the high points are as high as the ones on that album. Ian's mostly singing in a lower register and the melodic structures on a few songs remind me of No One Came from the Fireball album. There are less screams and it's a little more laid-back vocally. It takes a few listens to really get into it, but once you do it's quite enjoyable. I really dig the song Clearly Quite Absurd. Overall, I would say if someone is a fan of Steve Morse era Deep Purple, they would be into this.

10/11/05: Andy - acritchlow@binney-smith.com
Rating: 75
Whilst I love any Purple featuring Blackmore & Lord, I'm struggling with recent line-ups. Purple these days has the distinct feeling of an Ian Gillan solo project, and whilst I have nothing against Ian, the sheer power of Blackmore's riffs are sorely missed.

This is not a bad album - for me, probably the best with Morse (and I can't criticise him as a guitarist), but it lacks the bite and the hooks of the older stuff (Ok I admit it - even then not everything was great). Bananas was quite good too, this is probably slightly better and slightly more consistent.

Ian's lyrics are quite amusing in places - but then Einstein he ain't...Morse's playing is in his style/character which is fine, Airey's keyboards for the most part imitate what Lord would have done, RG is there in the background as always and without Paicey you really haven't got Deep Purple with Lord & Blackers gone.

Perhaps Blackmore was right to accuse them of living just on past glories?

01/11/05: Freddy De Keyzer - freddk100@hotmail.com
Rating: 83
With bands as Deep Purple you really can't go wrong at all.
As always, simply put, class hardrock !
Typical Purple sound, whoever is in the band.
It's also a bit of a grower. It needs some spins ! So give it a chance.
Not the best in their impressive career, but still better than a lot of the younger acts !

01/11/05: Sascha Meile - sameile000@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
Yes! They are back and still kickin' ass! Deep Purple recorded almost the whole album live (only a few overdubs were done afterwards) and this gives the album a fresh feeling! Best Songs are Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye, Money Talks, Before Time Began, Clearly Quite Absurd and of course the title track, which is bloody fuckin' great! Well done, guys!

01/11/05: tcman41 - undertheporch@yahoo.com
Rating: 87
This album certainly grows on one, there aren't a lot of instant classics on this disc but the band sure seems like it is trying hard and that is much appreciated. This is Deep Purple with a bit of a updated sound but one can still hear all the trademark sounds of Deep Purple scattered throughout the songs on this disc. This is a very cohesive record with a lot of things going on, i have only listened to it once after donwloading it but it is calling me to be played again, lol.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: