SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!

Cauterize So Far From Real Wind-Up
· Produced By: Murray Daigle

· Running Time: 41.11

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released: NA

· Musical Style: Modern Rock / Nu-Breed

· Links: Cauterize
94%
Songs: 90%
Sound: 96%
Canadian band Toe signed to modern rock label Wind-Up and changed their name to Cauterize for this, their debut album. But it's not you see…Toe recorded an indie album with the title The Moment I Cauterize, which many of the songs there were re-recorded for this album, with producer Murray Daigle at the helm. Murray of course is well known to us melodic heads as a member of Emerald Rain.
But to the album at hand – So Far From Real, which just happens to be one of the very best modern rock records of 2003!
This is right up there with Waltham for having a great nu-breed inspired modern rock sound, but with more than enough hooks and melodies present to impress most traditional melodic rock fans.
This is a truly high-energy release, with every one of the album's 11 tracks filled to the brim with in your face guitar riffs, massive vocals and highly memorable songs.
The key to Cauterize's songs is the layers of instrumentation and the melodies, which become more familiar with every listen, but somehow there's always something new to discover each time it's played.
With a flurry of guitars and high pitched vocal Something Beautiful opens the album. The hooks are everywhere and the guitar riffs seem to be everywhere, with new layers unfolding each listen. The chorus is a monster, with the punky attitude of the vocal delivery dropping away to a soft and sweet mid-song break before launching back into the full on assault of the chorus. More hooks and harmonies come to light right at the end of the song. It's hard to believe it's all fitted into 3 minutes 22.
If You Go is even more in your face and after running through a hook filled verse features another monster chorus and some fine guitar riffs.
My Everything has a darker tone and a guitar riff. The whole song is sonically heavier, with a sparse verse that builds as the song goes, adding layers of harmonies and then there's that chorus. Immense and driven by a wall of guitars. Johnny Lima meets SR-71 on acid. Huge!
Killing Me starts softly but soon bursts to life with an angst filled verse and bam – another monster chorus with a huge hook and sonic blast to the ears.
But that's just the opening 4 tracks – elsewhere the quality continues and the bombardment to the sense continues. Highlights include the moody Still Breathing, the anthemic hard rocker Choke, the furious Shooting Stars and the closing track Shine – a heavy, but melodic feel good rocker.
The Bottom Line
The band has the energy of old school Motley Crue, the sound of fellow modern rockers SR-71 (in the style of the Tomorrow album, but with better songs) and Waltham and vocalist Jesse Smith has the pitch and attitude of Johnny Lima.
Although it takes a few listens, the album contains great variety within the songs and the delivery of them. Additionally, the album has that 3 minute power-rock song feel of recent Harem Scarem.
The combination of all of the above makes for very appealing listening, especially if you love it loud and enjoy melodic rock with a modern edge. Highly recommended.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Toe - The Moment I Cauterize
· So Far From Real

Line Up
· Jesse Smith: Vocals, Guitars
· Josh Slater: Guitar, Vocals
· Matt Worobec: Drums
· Jason Bone: Bass, Vocals

Essential for fans of:
· SR-71 - Tomorrow
· Waltham - Permission To Build
· Johnny Lima - Shine On
Track Listing
· Something Beautiful*
· If You Go*
· My Everything*
· Killing Me*
· Taste of Tears
· Still Breathing
· I'll Cry Tomorrow
· Choke
· Promise Me
· Shooting Stars
· Shine*
--*Best Tracks


25/11/05: paulina - the@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
Cauterize is one of the best bands they released paper wings recently go to www.cauterize.com to hceck more about the band yea well i <3 them

17/10/05: Sheila - sheesh13@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
has anyone checked out Paper WIngs (Cauterize's sophomore album) Pure F-ing geniou .. buy it at www.maplemusic.com

14/06/05: °Link° - liko_tb@libero.it
Rating: 95
Very good band! I'm from Italy and I hope they'll come here soon! xD

05/06/05: guss - guscomo@hotmail.com
Rating: 99
wow amaizing album. the guitars are so good not like any other punk rock band and the bass is also a great chalenge 4 anyone really its a really good album. BUY IT U WONT REGRET IT!!!

15/05/05: Katie - onecrzysoccrchic@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
Absolutley amazing. Rock on.

06/05/05: Ryan - Ryoh12@hotmail.com
Rating: 99
CAUTERIZE are aswome this cd is worth what you pay for it. I just wish there new cd would come out.

18/01/05: Kayla - kaylafoltz@gmail.com
Rating: 100
I love this Band. they are Brilliant. The vocals are amazing and so is there sound. they are just perfect

30/08/04: Amber - Americancheddar2002@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
Heard them on Tremor and fell in love with the song "Something Beautiful." I love the band and all of their members with all my heart. I am a life long fan.

27/06/04: mike - blinkinlooserkid@netscape.net
Rating: 100
the best band i have heard in a long time i saw them in concert last august loved them went out and bought the cd the first time i found it...if anyone has any info on where i can get their t.o.e. cd - the moment i cauterize please email me thanks alot

15/05/04: MAx - Metalmastermax@hotmail.com
Rating: 95
Got it for $2.50 or so at Ebay, and a brand new copy, also, with only a small punch hole in the back insert. Listening to it right now. Awesome.

15/02/04: ken - kenmcgarry16@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
best band ever!!!!

22/01/04: Ryan Bigelow - goodoldryan@aol.com
Rating: 98
Theres a million of pop-punk bands out there, but this cd has the best vocals ive ever heard and sounds so good and perfectly mastered youd think that cauterize had been working on this cd for like 10 years. it sounds so much cleaner and smoother then any other band ive ever heard. my top 3 cds of 2003: mxpx - before something and after, cauterize - so far from real, and story of the year - page avenue.

24/09/03: Geoff - g.a.wols@ponl.com
Rating: 99
I want so bad to give this album 100% because of every album I own, this is the most flawless. Perhaps not my fave of all time, or even the best album I own, but there is NOTHING wrong with this CD. Every track is killer and I cuff myself if I were ever to skip a track.

Has there been a better start to an album than 'Something Beautifu'? I don't think so. In your face, brutal and huge chorus too. Amazing track and you know you've found something special right away.
'If You Go' continues where the first track leaves off and is every bit as good.
'My Everything' is just as relentless.
'Killing Me' could be my fave track. The second verse bleeds and is lyrically and musically perfect.
'Taste of Tears', 'Still Breathing', 'I'll Cry Tomorrow' are all perfect fast paced rockers.
'Choke' and 'Promise Me' me are both massive anthem-type songs and two more of my faves. How big are these choruses. Love thos vocals!
'Shooting Stars' is interesting because it's my least favourite track on the CD, but is better than most the best tracks I've heard on most albums for so long. The track is absolutely amazing and so good you can hardly call it a least favourite, but one has to be the least favourite . . . even of a perfect bunch.
And then the album closes with 'Shine', which has so many hooks it could cater for most albums in just this one song. Definately another fave of mine.

Overall, the album is perfect and I cannot fault it, but will refrain from giving it 100% because that score is set aside for the one day I hear that one album, hopefully with my name on it! Jokes, but this album is as close to 100% as I know and I could not recommend it more for any fan of a hundred hooks per song, catchy choruses, passion-soaked vocals and song delivery and great musicianship. Anyone who likes SR-71 'Tomorrow' will love this. Be warned - the pace is relentless and it may hurt . . . in a very good way!

17/09/03: Steve Hunt - Crazy@austarnet.com.au
Rating: 95
These guys absolutely rock. Imagine a blend of Blink 182, SR-71 and One Dollar Short with the harmony of Emerald Rain and that's what Cauterize sound like. Their songs (and I mean all of them) are as catchy as hell, and they haven't left my CD player in the two weeks that I have had the album. Each year a couple of albums come out that are MUST HAVE, this is one of them so don't wait.


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)
Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: