SEE BELOW TO ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW!
BON JOVI
ONE WILD NIGHT

Island Records 548 909-2
Produced by: Obie O'Brien

Released: OUT / Website
Closest Relative: Themselves
GENRE: Hard Rock
OVERALL: 55%

  1. It's My Life
  2. Livin' On A Prayer
  3. You Give Love A Bad Name
  4. Keep The Faith
  5. Someday I'll Be Saturday Night
  6. Rocking In The Free World
  7. Something To Believe In
  8. Wanted Dead Or Alive
  9. Runaway
  10. Just Older
  11. Something For The Pain
  12. Bad Medicine
  13. One Wild Night
    Ltd. Bonus CD (Oz only)
  14. One Wild Night
  15. It's My Life
  16. Livin' On A Prayer
  17. Just Older
  18. Sleep When I'm Dead

This is by definition a lazy record.
I had some problems with this release before I even heard it. Now I have those problems are only exasperated.
A Bon Jovi live album has been promised on and off for the best part of ten years. For traders and bootleg fans, there are a ton of great show recordings out there and for general collectors - if you compile the B-Sides of the band's many CD Single releases, there is at least 2 or 3 CDRs worth of live tracks available.
That is why this release is so disappointing and as I put it - lazy on effort.
Years after the promised release we finally get a compilation of just 15 tracks - two of which are covers - already widely distributed as B-Sides.
In fact, much of the album has already appeared in one territory or another.
There is a little talk that this album is more for the US domestic market. Rubbish I am afraid. This release has been vigorously marketed worldwide and was also released worldwide on the same day.
Just how many shows would the band have recorded in their 17 year plus career? Why not a double album?
At the very least this should have been a double CD of all original Jovi tunes.
Have I mentioned the number of songs they have missed off? Another reason to justify a double release.
It gets worse.
My pet hate of live albums. Fading out the audience between tracks. Damn, I hate that so much and it really has a profound effect of stamping out any of the atmosphere that the songs might be building. It almost strips the album back to a simple Greatest Hits status. There is a risk when compiling live albums with tracks from various era's. It can give the appearance of not maintaining consistency. It's only made worse here with the fade in and out's. How fake...
Bu then there is the songs themselves. Now why would a band largely ignore it's most classic and energetic live era, when the band were in their prime, and instead concentrate on culling selections mostly from the last 18 months?
If that was their intention, why not call it Crush Live and do a separate Greatest Hits Live release?
At their stadium rocking best between 1987 and 1993, Bon Jovi were arguably the best live band on earth.
Take a look at their sadly lackluster performance on the Crush Live DVD and Video from August 2000 and can easily see the difference.
There is not one single track on this album culled from 1987 - 1994!! I can't believe that.
Take a listen to the half assed version of It's My Life on this album and it doesn't get much better.
Like many other tracks, the atmosphere is stifled, the vibe close to zero.
There is no denying the pedigree and class of just about every track here - they're all classics. It is that fact that makes it so much more a let down.
The album was said to be a 'rockers only' release. That wasn't necessary, as the band have some classic ballads that go down a storm live. But with the inclusion of one the band's least known ballads - Something To Believe In, they forgo that previous statement anyway.
The production is one area where I can compliment. There is no obvious signs of over-dubbing or sound alterations - aside from the annoying fade ins and outs.
The songs are at least nice and live sounding and evenly mixed, even if there are far better versions of these classics out there.
Sorry to say so, but rather than invest in this - go buy yourself a few CDRs and trade the bootlegs and CD Singles that give far superior examples of the band at their live best. It is said that there will be a 20th Anniversary box set in 2003. Take note now guys - there will need to be substantial more effort put into that than what has been put into One Wild Night in order to satisfy the fans.
The exclusive Aussie version is a little better.
The one and only gig of the band's recent 'huge' tour of Australia was recorded for a live TV broadcast that has never happened. But 5 of those recorded tracks have found their way onto a limited edition bonus CD for Australian fans. The tracks are: One Wild Night, It's My Life, Living On A Prayer, Just Older, Sleep When I'm Dead.
Of course (sadly) 4 of these live bonus tracks are already on the first CD, but at least these versions have a little more life in them. The band clearly lifted a little for their one Australian audience and the recording shows. One other added bonus - you can even hear the audience... It's My Life and Living On A Prayer are easily superior to the versions on the regular release.
BOTTOM LINE: What could have been an instant masterpiece is instead an example of what could have been.
A poor selection of performances and the 'cash-in' factor of only being a single CD and the fact several great songs are missing will leave most fans disappointed. A classic live band have been portrayed as a band aging before their time is done. A double CD, more exclusive tracks and more selections from 1987-1992 period would have seen this a much tastier proposition.
PRODUCTION: 75% SONGS: 90% VIBE: 10%ATTITUDE: 20%
ESSENTIAL FOR: Ideal for only casual Bon Jovi fans, as others are likely to be disappointed.
RECENT DISCOGRAPHY:Crush . One Wild Night


01/04/06: marcky - marcloues@yahoo.com.sg
Rating: 3
this cd is crappy mainly becoz the band left out many great live performances from 1980's to 1993.the live versions of classics like livin on a prayer and bad medicine are weak compared to many live unreleased tracks i heard from the 1980's.If u hear the bootleg versions of 1980's or the live performance of livin on a prayer in mtv awards 1987,it's freaking awesome! Jon bonjovi sings all the high notes of the song.i'm puzzled why the band didn't put old live performances which sound amazing.i just hope they come up with "real" live greatest hits where we could hear them in their best.this cd is such a dissappointment.

04/10/04: Beacon - mike_beacon@hotmail.com
Rating: 70
I dont like to agree with u guys but this cd is lacking some of the great songs Bon Jovi plays. It would have been much better with 2 cd's one of a greatest hits live then one with rarely played classics e.g. Wild is the Wind, Dry County, These Days,and earlier stuff. But in my opinion it is not a bad effort and Bon Jovi are the best band in the world.

04/10/04: a fans here - kwok_hon@yahoo.com.hk
Rating: 0
i think the setlist is the main problem

Example:
Wanted Dead Or Alive
In and Out of Love
Just Older
I Don't Like Mondays

first two song i think they should bring the guitar solo part on it

whay need to choose that version of wdoa????
no reason for that

In and Out of Love had the solo before it
why go to cut it off????
no reason for that

what happened to Just Older????
it's not special

I Don't Like Mondays????
what happened to put this song on????
hear the voice of TELL ME WHY and OOOOO HOOO at this live album?
it's crazy!

put the live album out is not a bad idea
but why are they put out a shit for fans?
i think they are just put some song together and get money back

there are so MANY MANY MANY...........choice of great BJ live stuff

Livin' On A Prayer and You Give Love A Bad Name are the big joke!!!
take the live track from crush dvd????
it's just like use the ass instead of brain to think
IT'S MEANINGLESS

the 80's performance is the good choice
or richie version Livin' On A Prayer or band acoustic version on it

they should put something rare and really good stuff on the album
people don't want to buy a live album which is no surprise out there

i think put the song Hey God or Lie to Me instead of something for the pain is not a bad choice
even they should put live version of These Days on it
do they remember the song got the jon solo on it
also Born to Be My Baby

how about Dry County?If I Was Your Mother?Love For Sale?Livin' In Sin?Never Say Goodbye?Let It Rock?Slient Night?Hardest Part In The Night?Tokyo Road?Roulette?She Don't Know Me(inculde drum solo)?Stranger In This Town?
acoustic version of In These Arms,I'de Die For You?

countless good stuff rare live stuff out there but just put out something meaningless even crap and FXCKING SHIT!?

don't want to writing anymore about it
totally is a insincere and shit album BON JOVI EVER DID

15/04/04: Gerard Young - ultraelectromagneticpop2001@yahoo.com
Rating: 98
Here's my comments song by song:

It's My Life- A good one...
Livin' On A Prayer- just like the live video "live from london" this is the 1st track
You Give Love A Bad Name- GO RICHIE GO!!!
Keep The Faith
Someday I'll Be Saturday Night
Rocking In The Free World- A cover of a Neil Young song...
Something To Believe In
Wanted Dead Or Alive
Runaway
Just Older
Something For The Pain
Bad Medicine
One Wild Night2001- a remix of one wild night

Ltd. Bonus CD (Oz only)
One Wild Night
It's My Life
Livin' On A Prayer
Just Older
Sleep When I'm Dea

29/03/04: Taylor - sweet_confessions13@hotmail.com
Rating: 100
These guys rock!! How could anybody think they sux! If you do you seriously need your head checked! Bon Jovi isn't only the best band in the world but there hot too!!

31/07/03: Boz - gfurr1@hotmail.com
Rating: 68
OK. So the Bon Jovi camp has finally put out a live CD. Not the 2 disc collection many long time fans were hoping for, but it does cover the classics.......or does it? The problem with this CD is the set list. Too many classics have been left behind, such as "Born To Be My Baby", "I'll Be There For You", and "Lay Your Hands On Me" from the popular New Jersey album. Perhaps Jon and company wanted to give the fans something new, with tracks like "I Don't Like Mondays," or their version of "Rockin' In The Free World." This would have been fine, had it been a double CD, covering the essentials as well. The vocals on these CD are outstanding for a live album, but some of the tracks lack the energy they once had. In some cases, like "You Give Love A Bad Name", the vocals are great but the tempo seems to drag. This is a re-occuring theme on this one, as most of the tracks are not taken from the Bon Jovi hey-day. Perhaps a future "Bon Jovi: LIVE!" compilation is in the future. We hope!

22/06/02: Chris - happymuts@hotmail.com
Rating: 10
As a huge Bon Jovi fan, this is just a let down. Bon Jovi have become a 'pop band', lacking guitar solos, riffs etc that were present in the 'New Jersey' and 'Slippery When Wet' albums.
I can't see myself listening to this album often.

22/06/02: Mike - mikeybear68@hotmail.com
Rating: 50
As a huge Bon Jovi fan, this release is a great disappointment. Even as far as live albums go, this one is subpar. I've never been a fan of the so-called slice and dice live album, which pieces from different albums have been spliced together. The album lacks the energy of the band's live shows & even compared to the studio tracks. Bon Jovi has enough good material that they don't need to include a cover of "Living In the Free World" on this album. I'm hoping for bigger and better things on the band's next studio release.

01/03/02: Richard Hall - drhall01@hotmail.com
Rating: 0
This is really awful stuff.After"7800 degrees farenheit"and "Slippery When Wet", this band just got from bad to worse.Actually they're one of the bands from the 80's that got more attention than they actually deserved (just like Poison,Britny Fox,etc.)The bands that should have had their major success should have been bands such as Dokken,Savatage,Signal,Aviator,Giant,Tyketto you catch my drift

21/12/01: Mike Clifford - MCliff128@cs.com
Rating: 40
There's not much to say about this one, except it SUCKED. This is nothing more than Bon Jovi squeezing money out of it's fans for a piece of crap they don't need.

17/07/01: ED - NUNO1996@AOL.COM
Rating: 50
THIS IS BY FAR THE BIGGEST MUSICAL DISIPOINTMENT OF THE YEAR!
AFTER SEEING A TRULY BRILLIANT PERFORMANCE IN L.A. THIS PAST WINTER, I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO A STELLER, 2 CD LIVE TOUR DE FORCE. BOY, DID I AND ALL OTHER "REAL" BON JOVI FANS GET HOSED ON THIS ONE.BAD PRODUCTION( PARTS SOUND LIKE BAD DEMOS), POOR SONG SECTIONS( I LIKE THE "THESE DAYS"CD, BUT THEY ARE NOT GOOD LIVE SONGS), AND A BAD STUDIO REMIX MAKE THIS AN OBVIOUS ATTEMPT TO CASH IN ON THE NEW "COMEBACK" STATUS OF THE BAND.

11/07/01: Jeff - jlemas@sequencedesign.com
Rating: 5
Where do I start on this disappointment????? The setlist sucks...the performances lack the energy of their heyday...the spaces....come on guys!! I have all of the Japanese remasters with the bonus discs, and each of the bonus discs has AT LEAST 45 minutes of live/b-sides. There is at least 3 cd's worth of live material on those bonus discs alone. Yet, the laxy boys of Rock 'n Roll deliver this un-inspired garbage. I really hope the box set has more to offer, or this is definately the last cd I purchase by them.

Jeff

11/07/01: Beth - Bethjovi@yahoo.com
Rating: 100
Sorry All!!! The guys always rock the pants off of anybody. They rule live and though they could have included more tracks this album lets people in who have never been touched by their ability to wip an audience into a frenzy everytime. Although its only 15 tracks it sure beats many other live albums I've ever heard.

KTF,
Beth

26/06/01: FABIANO RUTIGLIANO - rutigliano@goldtec.com.br
Rating: 30
Pois é... aqui estou eu para, mais uma vez, descer a lenha (pasmem!!!) na minha banda favorita: BON JOVI.

Depois do "açucarado" CRUSH (cujas canções nada condizem com o nome do album) e após uma infeliz comparação deste aos INIGUALÁVEIS "Slippery When Wet" e "New Jersey", Mr. Bongiovi e CIA lançam o tão aguardado CD ao vivo da banda: "One Wild Night".

Para comentar esse lançamento é preciso, além de ser "FÃ" (atenção "teenagers" de plantão...) de sua música, um verdadeiro colecionador! Então, como diria "Jack, The Ripper", vamos por partes...

1 - IT'S MY LIFE: uma das poucas boas canções de CRUSH. O audio está péssimo, mas totalmente necessária no set;

2 - LIVIN' ON A PRAYER: um dos maiores hits da banda e indispensável nessa compilação, porém seu audio foi "extraído" do novo home video (VHS/DVD) "The Crush Tour", ou seja, nada "novo"! Aliás, por que não foi utilizado um registro desta mesma canção da tour do "Slippery When Wet" ou "New Jersey" (já que contamos com seu registro "ao vivo" no home video (VHS/DVD) "Live From London", da tour do "These Days")???

3 - YOU GIVE LOVE A BAD NAME: Idem a "Livin' On A Prayer" (2);

4 - KEEP THE FAITH: Essa música foi feita para os fãs antigos que ainda têm "fé" que tudo voltará a ser como era antes!!! Saudades...

5 - SOMEDAY I'LL BE SATURDAY NIGHT: Boa, mas não necessária. Por que não "Born To Be My Baby"???

6 - ROCKIN' IN THE FREE WORLD: "Desprezível", uma vez que este é o primeiro registro oficial da banda! Aliás, essa mesma música já havia sido lançada no single inglês da canção "These Days". Por que um "cover" ao invés dos milhares hits cantados em uníssono pelos milhões de fãs espalhados pelo mundo??? Nota: 0;

7 - SOMETHING TO BELIEVE IN: Quem é colecionador pode conferí-la no pirata duplo "Yokohama". Chata e muito lenta. Hit???

8 - WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE: Perfeita, mas por que não um registro da tour de "SWW"???

9 - RUNAWAY: Simplesmente, "MARAVILHOSA"!!! Mas, para os colecionadores, trata-se de "figurinha repetida" mais uma vez... (Seu registro está no single japonês de "Burning For Love");

10 - IN AND OUT OF LOVE: Idem a "Wanted..." (9). Porém, de outro single. Mais uma figurinha para trocar ou arriscar no "bafo";

11 - I DON'T LIKE MONDAYS: Pelo amor de Deus!!! Que falta de respeito com o fã, Sr. JB!!! Música "medíocre", chata, vazia... Além disso, trata-se de outra figurinha repetida!!! Essa música foi registrada no CD single australiano de "Something For The Pain", além do CD pirata "Happy Hour".

12 - JUST OLDER: A nota 10 do CRUSH! A única nota 10 de "One Wild Night"! Inédita!

13 - SOMETHING FOR THE PAIN: Apesar de haver registro desta canção no single inglês (versão "digipack") de "Lie To Me", valeu a intenção, pois trata-se de outro registro ao vivo. Contudo, não faz parte das minhas prediletas!

14 - BAD MEDICINE: Argh!!! Eles não desistem dessa música!!! Extremamente repetitiva, a mesma encontra-se registrada no home video (VHS/DVD) "The Crush Tour". Mesma música, mesmo local, mesma data... mais uma vez!!!

15 - ONE WILD NIGHT 2001: Só não levou um 10 porque mentiram ao afirmar que a música foi gravada "ao vivo". Que mancada!!!

Em síntese, faltaram os "chavões" (lembrem-se que este é o PRIMEIRO CD "ao vivo"!!!), como: "Tokyo Road", "Never Say Goodbye", "Wild In The Streets", "Lay Your Hands On Me", "Born To Be My Baby" (já mencionada), a MELHOR DE TODOS OS TEMPOS: "Blood On Blood", "Wild Is The Wind", "I'll Be There For You", "99 In The Shade", "I Believe", "In These Arms", "Bed Of Roses", "Always", "These Days", "This Ain't A Love Song", entre outras. Porém, cada uma delas registrada na tour de seus respectivos álbuns, assim como fez o Mötley Crüe!

Certamente, o BON JOVI tem dezenas de hits e todos eles não caberiam nem em um CD triplo ao vivo!!! Mas faltou bom-senso na escolha do repertório e na escolha dos shows!

Por final, nossos heróis de New Jersey deveriam ter consultado melhor sua discografia e acervos pessoais e, sobretudo, não esquecer o "passado", pois foram aquelas canções (sem contar os cabelos... Risos!!!) que tornaram o BON JOVI a maior banda de rock da atualidade!!!

Valeu a intenção!!! Ou não???

Fica pra próxima...

Nota: 3.

20/06/01: Elec - elecgypsy@filetopia.com
Rating: 10
I agree this cd basically sucked . JBJ seems to have put it together for the new fans to sell more units.
And forgot about the diehards if this is a indication of what future releases and the box set is like Jon might as well pack it in and stick with lame roles in low budget films

14/06/01: Patrick - b.cool@free.fr
Rating: 51
Disappointed is the right word, and for so many reasons...
No songs from the 1986-1993 era, from which are awesome version of "Lay Your Hands On Me" for example who SHOULD have been included here !
If they really wanted to have a cover song on this live CD, instead of these lame songs from Boomtown Rats or N. Young, they should have put the Thin Lizzy song "Boys Are Back In Town" !
The opening "It's My Life" version is awful...
At last some other songs are way better like "Prayer" or "Just Older".
At the end of the day it's a very under average release for a so long waited live album... Is this really the same band that I saw kickin' ass on stage in London last summer ?
Strange indeed...

14/06/01: JEFF - JAB@YAHOO.COM
Rating: 45
THESE GUYS HAVE REALLY GOTTEN TO BE A LAZY "ROCK BAND". I GUESS MOVIES ARE MORE IMPORTANT. "I'D DIE FOR YOU", BORN TO BE MY BABY,ETC... WOULD HAVE BEEN GOOD CHOICES INSTEAD OF A LOT OF THE OTHER CRAP ON HERE. ROCKIN' IN THE FREE WORLD IS PRETTY GOOD THOUGH.
I WAS HOPING FOR A SCORPIONS WORLD WIDE LIVE TYPE OF DEAL. NO SUCH LUCK. ONE COMPLETE CONCERT WOULD HAVE BEEN A LOT SMARTER TO BUILD SOME CONTINUITY.
AS SAD IS ROCK IS NOWADAYS, THESE ARE ONE OF THE FEW BANDS THAT COULD HELP CHANGE THAT. TOO LAZY I GUESS.

09/06/01: Sime - simon.james6@ntlworld.com
Rating: 60
Yeah, pretty much agreed with the review. Being a big BJ fan, I really wanted to like this album, but it seems to get lost in the CD rack after a few plays. No tracks recorded on the New jersey/keep the kaith tours is a missed opportunity, and I fail to see why "I don't like Mondays" should surface again, having already been of a CD single & the "special" edition of These Days. Still, Runaway and In & Out of love sound refreshing & spirited, especially when sat next to poor versions of Its my life & bad medicine.

better to release a complete concert - they must have a few on tape. hope the box set is better

08/06/01: Jon - jonjuan@iname.com
Rating: 15
What an un-energetic piece of crap. You can get better at a karioke bar.

06/06/01: Tavas - savatage@advalvas.be
Rating: 80
OK

To sum things up: Bon Jovi is like sex...even when it's bad, it's still pretty damn good...

When I first heard this one on my portable system I was dissapointed by the small "audience participation" but later I listened to it on a decent sound system with the volume turned up and I can tell you, it sounded good !!!!

The thing is that these guys never could have fulfilled the extremely high expectations...they probably are the best live band in the world and everybody was expecting the best live album in the world...which it isn't...but we have to be honest...there are millions of live albums arround that sound worse...

As far as the setlist:
impossible to satisfy everybody, they have so many great songs and everybody has his personal faves...maybe if they release a 5-CD live box....

As far as the silence between the tracks:
If you take songs from different gigs and don't fade the tracks it sounds very strange...so I can understand this decision

Greetings

Tavas

PS this album is number one in our Belgian charts !!!

06/06/01: Frode - frodez@halden.net
Rating: 50
I totally agree with the review of this CD. The whole concept of the album is a big dissapointment for the hardcore fans. The biggest dissapointment is the ignoring of the years when they were on top (1986-1993).
I agree with Tim and hope they do a lot better on the promised 20th anniversery box set.
I have to add that this is the first time in my 17 years as a Bon Jovi fan that I get dissapointed with a release. They are still the greatest rock-band on earth.

06/06/01: Glenn Odin - gmcmillan@vtown.com.au
Rating: 85
Should have been a double cd. Shouldn't have included "I don't like Mondays". Should've been no fade outs between songs. Should have been released about 10 years ago!!!

06/06/01: Carl - kidego71@home.com
Rating: 1
I for once, agree with Andrew on this one. This was SUCH a HUGE dissapointment!! Horrible song choice, and NO energy what so ever! Save your money...this disc SUCKS...and comming from me...thats sad.

05/06/01: Tim - detlionrw@aol.com
Rating: 50
I must agree with the initial review of this one. I have the US version, so don't even have the luxury of the extra tracks. I was appalled when I saw the "I don't like Monday's" track on there, considering Sir Bob does more singing than Jon, but that was symbolic of the whole CD. The exclusion of songs like Never Say Goodbye, the slow/live Runaway, Bed of Roses, In These Arms, and Silent Night just show how little thought was put into the album. As a hardcore fan, I can only hope they do a whole lot better on the 20th anniversary boxed set in two years...and if anyone has more live tracks in mp3 format...please email me...i have a bunch but can always use more!

Tim


ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100 please)

Name:

E-mail:

Rating:

Comment: