Vinny Records
Produced by: Not Listed

Released: June 1 / Website
Relatives: Harem Scarem

  1. Brief Love
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. The Truth
  4. Holding On
  5. Until The Sunrise
  6. Without You
  7. The Answer
  8. Lost
  9. Crossroad
  10. When I Look Into Your Eyes
  11. Memories (European bonus track)

Airless are another young Spanish band, who are making their debut through Vinny Records.
Again, their sound is very European and distinctly accented in the vocal delivery.
Sound wise, skip the first track and head to track two, where guitarist Robert Rodrigo is performing some inspired Pete Lesperance/Harem Scarem riffs and solos.
Keep listening and more comparisons to Harem Scarem can be heard. In fact, lets call them Spain's answer to the Canadian geniuses. Add in a little Fate and Europe and the sound is made.
The song quality is again strong and consistent, nice melodic rock with pleasant harmonies, but nothing that quite delivers a knockout punch.
Great vocals and backing vocals and a some seriously good guitar work are the highlights of this album, with the only but involving the delivery. Again, nothing that more experience will deliver.
Guitarist Rodrigo has previously played in the USA with Jason Becker, Joey Taffola and John Fogerty.
He shreds, he solos and he provides a very solid backbone of riffs throughout the album.
Check out The Truth and the acoustic Holding On for some fine melodic rock.
The vocalist occasionally sounds like Joey Tempest, just more heavily accented - and that is probably the only weakness of the album - the vocal delivery.
BOTTOM LINE: Musically, this is a very strong album indeed. Especially the guitar sounds - some fine moments. I found the vocalist a little off putting, but I am sure that could be improved by an experienced producer.
Some fine guitar moments, especially for Harem Scarem fans make this a solid debut and a band to watch for.
ESSENTIAL FOR: Fans of European style melodic hard rock, some Harem Scarem fans.

Back To Site Frontpage