a l b u m r e v i e w s


Z Records ZR1997022
Produced by: Mladen

Released: OUT NOW / Website
Closest Relative: Von Groove
GENRE: Hard Rock

  1. Black Sheep
  2. Standing In The Middle
  3. Meeting This Way
  4. After The Show
  5. Gypsy In Me
  6. Broken Promises
  7. Surrender In The Name Of Love
  8. Call Out My Name
  9. Masquerade
  10. Now's The Time
  11. Green Motivator (Europe Only)

24K is a joint project between Canadian's Mladen (Von Groove) and well known singer song writer Phil Naro.
Their sound varies between different tracks, but is basically hard rock with some funky rhythms and more melodic AOR tones for good measure.
Billy Sheehan of Mr. Big guests on bass on the opening track, which is full paced hard rocking assault.
Standing In The Middle is the most Von Groove like rocker of the album, cool for fans of the band.
Meeting This Way is the more AOR side of the record. A great melodic ballad with a cool hook.
Like Firefly there is a small problem and by track 4 it has become all too evident. This will of course be dependant on the listener, but I find the vocals of Phil Naro just a little to grinding after a while. It's not the fact he sings high - I love that with artists like Tony Harnell - it's just the method of delivery or pitch of the vocals that can override the good music.
Gypsy In Me is a prime example, an OK funk rocker, but I just can't get past the vocals.
The moodier Broken Promises is better.
As is Surrender In The Name Of Love, a track featuring Peter Criss of Kiss.
BOTTOM LINE: A pretty good album, with songs that certainly make the grade, but there are a few times where it sounds a little same-ish and where Naro's vocals become a little overwhelming.
Not bad, but plenty of other great Z Record releases available.
ESSENTIAL FOR: Fans of Phil Naro, fans of the harder and funkier side of hard rock.

b a c k t o i n d e x