RE: Dennis DeYoung live (& "Hi" to P
Posted by: Rocker Chic ()
Date: November 04, 2000 01:48AM

Peter wrote:

>Did you make it back home okay?

Yes, however, I didn't know that Germany also follows day-light savings time, so I ended up at the airport an hour earlier than I needed to be... 4:30am for a 7:30am flight. Ouch!

>Well, I had a really great time and Styx were awesome! Being a huge Tommy Shaw fan, it was a real treat to finally see him live. <

Just remember what we told you... Stand right near the women, and you get a great show from the guys. ;-)

>Now as far as this whole John Young vs. Dennis DeYoung subject goes: I'm not really an expert on the subject. I didn't really get into Styx until a couple of years ago. Back in the day, they were too POPpular over here for my taste ("Boat On The River") and I was more into the heavier bands. <

Yeah, me, too. I never really appreciated BotR until I heard it live. I prefer the heavier, more guitar-oriented stuff myself. Guess that's why Cornerstone didn't do much for me -- however, I *love* "Lights."

I think the Young-DeYoung comparison is really irrelevant myself. To me, Styx has always been the *sum of its parts* not one individual's contribution -- they all have something different and special that they add to the mix. People may argue that Dennis *is* Styx, but I disagree. Of course, he contributed a great deal, but after seeing his solo show this past Wednesday, there seemed to be a great deal missing in the Styx songs for me.