RE: My thoughts on Napster...
Posted by: Danny Danzi ()
Date: June 07, 2000 07:13PM

Jack!

Awesome post man! I won't ramble here (yeah right...I just read what I wrote, so pull up a chair and a six-pack!) because you and the others covered this quite well. But I figured I'd give you my outlook, and this isn't just directed at you....no it ain't harsh either....you know me better than that. ;-)

Being a rather slightly satisfied newcomer to the scene here as an artist, I see Napster in it's current state like a gun. Illegal if used improperly. A gun will kill if you make it kill, but there are laws and safety issues. The same should be done with Napster I think. Rules and regualtions that protect a current full album from being posted. I for one would even make a deal that I would submit 2 songs to Napster with my consent. One that would not be on any album I put out (just for possible new fans and Napster users) and one from a forthcoming album to give a sample of my work. I have no problems with that whatsoever, it's the full album thing I disagree with.