RE: King Diamond
Posted by: Don ()
Date: May 25, 2000 03:21PM

Okay, at the risk of pissing someone off (and I'm honestly not trying to), I have just gotta speak up here...

I have never understood how this clown was ever allowed to sing in a band or set foot in a recording studio. I will admit up front that I am no KD expert. But I have heard smatterings of his stuff from numerous KD and Merciful Fate albums. Unless I'm wrong, he seems to pretty much have two distinctly different voices: a fairly low register one, and a ridiculously high register one. There simply doesn't seem to be anything in between. When he's singing in the lower register, to me, it sounds like he's moaning. And I can say in full confidence that I personally find his higher register voice to be the most utterly ludicrous sounding singing that I have ever heard. To me, it straddles the line between laughable and annoying. I have seen Alvin and the Chipmunks mentioned numerous times when reading reviews and articles on KD. And, IMO, the two "singers" (and I use that term lightly) aren't that far apart.