MORITZ - About Time Too (Review)

information persons: 
Produced By: 
Release Date: 
Musical Style: 
Melodic Rock
Monday, July 31, 2017
On songs and performance alone, you’ve definitely got a contender for one of the best classic British melodic rock albums of 2017. There’s a lot to like with the keyboard/guitar driven old school 80s AOR and the vocals of Peter Scallan. Some of the songs such as blissful Chance Of A Lifetime are just perfect.
But the production is a huge problem. The rhythm section is the biggest culprit, with mega-bass, but virtually no drums and the overall mix is a problem when trying to enjoy this at a decent volume.
I like these guys, I like these songs, but it’s 2017 now guys – there can’t be any excuses for bad production and it’s something I always point out here and will continue to do so.

The market is flooded with releases, so if you aren’t delivering the best on all fronts, sales will suffer.

Moritz - "To The Moon And Back" (Video)

UK AOR/Classic Rock band, MORITZ, have released a music video for the song 'To The Moon And Back', the track is taken from their long-awaited follow-up ‘About Time Too‘, which was released on 25 August, 2017 via  Shadows of a Dream/Cargo Records.

MORITZ Ready Say 'About Time Too' For New Album

Monday, July 31, 2017
AOR/classic melodic rock from the UK – blending the best of both British and US melodic rock delivering a ‘transatlantic’ sound!
Band: Peter Scallan – Lead/backing vocals (Chris Glen and the Outfit, Samson, If Only) Mike Nolan – Electric and acoustic guitars, vocals Kenny Evans – Electric and acoustic 6 and 12 string guitars, vocals Ian Edwards – Bass, synthesizers, Hammond organ, vocals (If Only) John Tonks – Drums
MORITZ are playing on a number of dates as part of the 30 year celebration. They will be joined by new members Chris Teeder (Gary Moore, Dave Gilmour, Ted McKenna, Frank Gambale, Geoff Whitehorn, The Vibrations) on keyboards and Russ Wilson on drums on these dates: 03/08/2017 Cambridge Rock Festival, Cambridge 22/10/2017 Rockingham, Trent University, Nottingham
Moritz was formed in early 1986 in London. The simple aim was crafting quality AOR rock. A fantastic set of songs was quickly worked up. By late ‘86 they were playing the first of two now legendary Marquee shows in London's West End. The line-up comprising of Mike Nolan and Greg Hart on guitars, Ian Edwards on bass, Andy Stewart on Keyboards, John Metcalfe on drums was augmented by vocalist Steve Annetts who departed from the ranks in early 1987.
The band was joined by vocalist Peter Scallan (ex-Laurence Archer’s Secrets), who had originally auditioned for Moritz before Steve Annetts but opted to join LA Secrets. A second sold out Marquee show quickly followed in July 1987. The band also recorded the now highly collectable 12” vinyl Shadows of a Dream EP. A video was shot for the lead song Can’t Stop Loving You in autumn ‘87.
Unfortunately, the band did not secure a major record deal and after a few line-up changes the band reluctantly folded in 1988. Peter joined Samson and recorded the album Refugee. Hart, Edwards and Stewart formed the AOR outfit If Only. Ironically, If Only and Samson played together at the London Astoria in the summer of 1989.
Fast forward to 2007, and a chance conversation with Rob Evans from Powerplay magazine and Greg Hart led to the release of City Streets on CD. This included he EP songs and some unreleased demos. By pure coincidence.
The album was recorded over the last four years at a number of studios. It was produced by MORITZ and mixed and mastered by MORITZ bass/keyboard player Ian Edwards. It is now 30 years since the band’s first release, the now highly collectable 12” vinyl Shadows of a Dream EP. To celebrate this MORITZ have resurrected the Shadows of a Dream label for the new album.
Peter got back in touch with Greg. They started tentatively writing some material with a view to doing a possible album. That album turned into Undivided. Released in 2010, it received incredible reviews, and even prompted Rob Evans to call it “the greatest UK AOR album of the last 20 years”. Moritz were back and in spectacular fashion.
Track listing:
1. About Time Too (Intro)
2. One More Beautiful Day
3. To The Moon and Back
4. Chance Of A Lifetime
5. Dreamland
6. Forever Is
7. Take It On The Chin
8. Run
9. Love Long Gone
10. Own Little World
11. You Don’t Know What Love Is
12. There’s Something About (Intro)
13. Unwanted Man
Subscribe to Moritz