Chaos Magic


CHAOS MAGIC Featuring Caterina Nix & Timo Tolkki (Review)

information persons: 
section name: 
One Drop Of Blood
A Little Too Late
Point Of No Return
Produced By: 
Timo Tolkki
Release Date: 
July 3
Musical Style: 
Symphonic Hard Rock
Release Year: 
This new project titled Chaos Magic is Timo Tolki’s attempt to create a musical project in the vein of Within Temptation or Nightwish.
Vocalist for this occasion is newcomer Caterina Nix, a lady with a very fine voice indeed. I’m sure we will hear a lot more from her over time. The range is there and the high notes are also there (maybe too many), but not quite carrying the power of her contemporaries.
In control is Timo Tolkki, who has written all songs, performs guitar, keyboards, bass and also takes control of recording, producing, mixing and mastering.
A set of outside ears might be helpful for Timo. This is a better production than his Avalon releases, but not to the standard as the recent Allen/Lande or what is needed to break a new act.
Musically there are still some good songs to enjoy – One Drop Of Blood is an obvious stand out; A Little Too Late is instantly catchy; Passionflow is suitably dramatic and the fast paced Point Of No Return is a good conclusion to the debut.

An interesting album. Caterina is a great discovery, but having publicly declared that this project was attempting to sound like Within Temptation, the natural reaction is to immediately compare the two. If you do that, Chaos Magic is going to come up short. But, enjoy it for what it is and fans of female fronted symphonic hard rock should find enough to latch on to.



Friday, July 3, 2015
Finnish Metal Icon TIMO TOLKKI creates CHAOS MAGIC
with Chilean Singer CATERINA NIX and a new Metal star is born!
Debut album out on Frontiers in July.
Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the impending release of CHAOS MAGIC's self-titled debut album on July 3rd in Europe and July 10th in North America.
The name CHAOS MAGIC encompasses the new alliance between Finnish songwriter/producer Timo Tolkki (former STRATOVARIUS) with Chilean-born singer Caterina Nix. The beautiful singer has already collaborated with Timo on the second chapter of the AVALON Rock Opera “Angels of the Apocalypse”, where she shared lead  vocals on songs with such heavyweight singers as Simone Simons (Epica), Elize Ryd (Amaranthe), and Floor Jansen (Nightwish).
Caterina's career started by singing lead vocals for the Chilean metal band  Aghonya with whom she opened shows for such bands as After Forever, Edguy and Within Temptation.
I met Timo in Chile some years ago, during one of his visits to the country with Stratovarius,” tells Caterina. “I remember going to a meet-and-greet with the band, and Timo and I just started talking like we had known each other for ages. We developed a very nice sort of father to daughter friendship and we have been in contact ever since. One day I decided to send him my music, just to know his opinion about it, and thankfully, he was pleasantly surprised. That's how it all started really.
The CHAOS MAGIC album was written, performed and produced by Tolkki to develop the vocal talent of Caterina and shows a diverse side of Timo's musical talents. Musically, we are in a territory not too far away from the recent WITHIN TEMPTATION releases, melting beautiful and sweeping melodies with symphonic and grandiose musical landscapes. “I feel the music Timo created for this project is very current, it's strong and also shows some more delicate moments, without losing its edge,” continues Caterina. “It was a joy for me to sing these beautifully contagious songs. I did my best to bring emotion and passion into the songs, which I guess wasn't so hard, since I was truly so excited.”
I hope this album reaches several layers of music listeners, it's quite captivating and nothing would make me happier than singing these songs live... giving myself to the audience and feeling that connection, which is truly priceless to me,” concludes Caterina.
It is possible to sample CHAOS MAGIC via the EPK available here:

CHAOS MAGIC tracklisting includes: I’m Alive; Dangerous Game; One Drop Of Blood; Seraphim; From The Stars; A Little Too Late; Passionflow; Dead Memories; Please Don't Tell Me; Right Now; The Point Of No Return.
Caterina Nix – Lead Vocals
Timo Tolkki – Guitars, Bass, Keyboards - Production
Jami Huovinen – Drums
Subscribe to Chaos Magic